1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Camshaft Errors in VCDS!

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Westy, Jul 31, 2012.

  1. Westy
    Offline

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,348
    Likes Received:
    993
    [Jul 31, 2012]
    I had my ECL come on last week and assumed it was just the normal EVAP error so left it. Just checked VCDS and was greeted with the following:

    [​IMG]

    Now I hope this is just an issue with the sensor wiring as I know the clip is broken when it clips too the sensor. With the 2nd error how do I check the Intake camshaft adjuster? What am I looking for?

    Ross-tech says the following but has anyone else had these issues?

    16727/P0343/000835 - Camshaft Position Sensor (G40): Signal too High

    Possible Symptoms
    Malfunction Indicator Light (MIL) active

    Possible Causes
    Wiring from/to Camshaft Position Sensor (G40) faulty
    Camshaft Position Sensor (G40) faulty
    Timing misaligned

    Possible Solutions
    Check Wiring from/to Camshaft Position Sensor (G40)
    Check Camshaft Position Sensor (G40)
    Check Timing


    16396/P0012/000018 - Bank 1: Camshaft A (Intake): Advance Setpoint not Reached (Over-Retarded)

    Possible Symptoms
    Erratic Idle

    Possible Causes
    Intake Camshaft Adjuster tight/stuck
    Intake Camshaft Adjuster faulty

    Possible Solutions
    Check Intake Camshaft Adjuster Use Output Test, Meas. Value Blocks (MVB) & Basic Setting
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 25, 2014]

  3. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    16,482
    Likes Received:
    1,542
    [Jul 31, 2012]
    Second error is most likely a symptom of the first one... the ECU can't see where the cam is because there is a fault with the position sensor...

    I would fix the cam pos sensor issue then see if the second comes back... I suspect it won't

    <tuffty/>
    #2
  4. Westy
    Offline

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,348
    Likes Received:
    993
    [Jul 31, 2012]
    Yeah that was my thinking. I'll get more time to check it on Thursday but I suspect a loose connection at the sensor. Have you ever wired in a new clip? The little tabs seem to break off of them so easily.
    #3
  5. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    16,482
    Likes Received:
    1,542
    [Jul 31, 2012]
    Not on a cam pos sensor but I have on my MAF... but then you know that already as you have been following the updates on my build thread... haven't you lol ;P

    <tuffty/>
    #4
  6. Westy
    Offline

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,348
    Likes Received:
    993
    [Aug 1, 2012]
    Following and remembering are 2 separate things ;)

    One day I'll get round to putting an index in my thread!
    #5
  7. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,230
    Likes Received:
    1,056
    [Aug 1, 2012]
    No idea what that means but it reads like your car went full retard.

    [​IMG]

    Rewiring a plug is easy.
    A man of your proven skill should not have any issues with it.
    #6
  8. badger5
    Offline

    badger5 www.badger5.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7,554
    Likes Received:
    793
    [Aug 1, 2012]
    stick it on :)
    #7
  9. Westy
    Offline

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,348
    Likes Received:
    993
    [Aug 1, 2012]
    Got the same errors back along with a new one:

    [​IMG]

    17748/P1340/004928 - Camshaft Position Sensor (G40) / Engine Speed Sensor (G28): Incor. Correlation
    Possible Causes
    Timing Belt/Chain incorrectly installed Timing Chain probably lengthened
    Camshaft Position Sensor (G40) faulty
    Engine Speed Sensor (G28) faulty
    Possible Solutions
    Check Timing Belt/Chain installation Use Measuring Value Blocks (MVB) to Check Timing Chain

    Check/Replace Camshaft Position Sensor (G40)
    Check/Replace Engine Speed Sensor (G28)
    Special Notes
    When found in the 1.8T engine, check engine oil pressure. The oil pump pickup may be restricted.
    When found in the 1.8T engine (possibly others too), check to make sure the correct G40 is installed (single gap versus 4 gap).
    When found in VR6 4 Valve (BDF, BJS, BAA,) engines in conjunction with 17755 please see Technical Bulletin 15-07-03. The previous Technical Bulletin number was 15-04-01.
    When found in a 30-valve V6 gasoline Audi engine (such as EPB or BEL), DTC 17755 may be stored as well. If both of these codes are displayed simultaneously, and the codes only appear after the motor is revved above 1800RPM, then the issue is likely that the cam chain tensioners were installed on the incorrect heads (drivers' tensioner on passenger head, etc).
    On engines with chain driven intake camshaft(s), but belt driven exhaust camshaft(s), verify the number of chain roller links between the intake and exhaust camshafts is correct. Click on thumbnail to enlarge:



    I think the sensor may have had it!
    #8
  10. superkarl
    Online

    superkarl MAN OF STEEL

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7,873
    Likes Received:
    1,303
  11. Westy
    Offline

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,348
    Likes Received:
    993
    [Aug 1, 2012]
    Just went to put the car in the garage. It turned over 4 times and backfired without starting. Checked VCDS and the new error was there. Cleared it and then the car started fine! Going to order a new sensor tomorrow.
    #10
  12. Westy
    Offline

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,348
    Likes Received:
    993
    [Aug 2, 2012]
    #11
  13. StaceyS3
    Online

    StaceyS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,179
    Likes Received:
    226
    [Aug 2, 2012]
    Have a look what the sensor number is as pretty sure I've got some spare as I've now acquired another head.....so should have 4 sensors knocking around i think
    If I've got the correct one I can bung it in with some other goodies should be posting to you tommorrow all being well ;)
    #12
  14. Westy
    Offline

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,348
    Likes Received:
    993
    [Aug 2, 2012]
    Ahh, I might have a spare sensor but it came from a AEB head so not sure if it's any good. I'll check the number. A brand new sensor is quite expensive but I want to sort the car ASAP so might just shell out for a new one.
    #13
  15. StaceyS3
    Online

    StaceyS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,179
    Likes Received:
    226
    [Aug 2, 2012]
    Let me know this afternoon if interested and will check numbers as should have 2 AEB sensors and an AGU one that you could try to see if that's what's at fault?
    #14
  16. Jason.s
    Offline

    Jason.s Active Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,879
    Likes Received:
    348
    [Aug 2, 2012]
    Sensor number should be 058905161B and its the same as an AGU/AEB/AUM blah blah blah
    #15
  17. Westy
    Offline

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,348
    Likes Received:
    993
    [Aug 2, 2012]
    Just found my spare sensor and it's the same part number as my BAM one. Bam on the left AEB on the right:

    [​IMG]

    Slight differences with the plastic internal clip:

    [​IMG]

    BAM:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    AEB:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    The BAM one looks cleaner and fresher but I think it's done a lot more miles then the older AEB sensor. I cant really see how these sensors can fail, there's nothing to them!
    #16
  18. Jason.s
    Offline

    Jason.s Active Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,879
    Likes Received:
    348
    [Aug 2, 2012]
    Should be fine then with the same part number. AEB sensor being like 4years older they possible just redesigned the BAM sensor inside to stop rattling or something but it wasnt enough to warrant a supersession of numbers.
    #17
  19. Westy
    Offline

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,348
    Likes Received:
    993
    [Aug 2, 2012]
    Thanks mate. All I can do is fit it and test. I'll let you know :thumbsup:
    #18
  20. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,230
    Likes Received:
    1,056
    [Aug 2, 2012]
    cables break down.
    Get a bit of moister, oil or something in side and they lose connection.
    #19
  21. Westy
    Offline

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,348
    Likes Received:
    993
    [Aug 2, 2012]
    So far so good!

    Fitted the AEB sensor and car wouldn't start! Cleared the error code about the camshaft postition sensor signal too high then it fired up. Just left the car on the drive and reved to 4k. I can see the cam adjuster doing it's thin in VCDS and so far no return of errors. I need to take the car out for a proper drive a bit later :racer:
    #20
  22. Broken Byzan
    Online

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,778
    Likes Received:
    325
    [Aug 2, 2012]
    Id bet your VVT has taken a dump TBH, the cam pos sensor rarely fails
    #21
  23. Westy
    Offline

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,348
    Likes Received:
    993
    [Aug 2, 2012]
    Even though VCDS is reporting that sensor being at fault? Would it not report on the VVT?
    #22
  24. Broken Byzan
    Online

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,778
    Likes Received:
    325
    [Aug 2, 2012]
    It is, it says set point not reached, The only thing that can affect that is the VVT or cam to cam timing, I assume that;s untouched at 16 rollers cam mark to cam mark as it should be?
    #23
  25. Westy
    Offline

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,348
    Likes Received:
    993
    [Aug 2, 2012]
    The Set Point not reached error is no longer showing only the cam shaft position sensor G40 error.

    The timing is fine as It's be fine for a couple of thousand miles since I built the engine in April.

    I found the following on another Audi forum and the symptoms the guy mentions in this post are the exact same as mine:

    P0343 - Camshaft Position Sensor (G40): Signal too High
    #24
  26. Westy
    Offline

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,348
    Likes Received:
    993
    [Aug 2, 2012]
    Just been out for a 20 minute drive at various speeds and revs and it seems fine now. Started fine and ran fine with no errors.
    #25

Share This Page