1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cambelt snapped!!!

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Stutibs, Oct 20, 2012.

  1. Stutibs

    Stutibs Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hey people. Whilst going about my merry day my oil light came on (sludge related) and in basically no time at all the engine stopped. I have since diagnosed it as a snapped cambelt and camshaft I'm guessing the camshaft seized and forced the belt to snap, oh bugger! I have a chance of a cracking deal on an engine it's a agu engine mine is a aum. My question is can I simply use my manifolds and ancillaries from the aum and stick them on the agu without too much hassle? I don't have vagcom and will be doing the swap on my driveway so want it to be done in a day or so (I'm a mechanic but for honda and not clued up on Audi management etc.) any help or info would be very useful. Many thanks
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    19,942
    Likes Received:
    3,276
    You can use the engine no probs but you will have to swap over the VVT cam chain tensioner... the other mani difference is the AGU head is large port where the AUM is small port... you can just bolt you inlet on though...

    I would check the SAI on the side of the head as there may be differences... basically use just the basic head/engine from the AGU but bolt all the bits from your AUM on and change the VVT tensioner over... you will need to use your sensors for knock and I don't think the AGU sump has a level/temp sensor either so you will need to swap the sump over...

    Use only OEM gaskets (not expensive) and replace all the ones you remove...

    <tuffty/>
     
  4. phil miller

    phil miller Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,211
    Likes Received:
    166
    my AGU didnt have EGR so the SAI wasnt needed, althou i did both the EGR up so it didnt throw a code, as above the sump will need to be changed while its off replace the pick up and clean the sump so its spotless that will help
     
  5. Stutibs

    Stutibs Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks for the quick replies! I shall buy that and get to work. When you say SAI what is that? Also am I able to use the egr and such for mpg or is it a case of bolting it on but it won't do anything?
     
  6. voorhees

    voorhees Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator Black Edition Team Brill Red

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    16,080
    Likes Received:
    1,899
  7. Stutibs

    Stutibs Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ah ok cool. Cheers I shall get straight to work
     
  8. Stutibs

    Stutibs Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    I just looked at the
     
  9. Stutibs

    Stutibs Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    Sorry about previous post new iPhone update is doing a number on me
     
  10. Stutibs

    Stutibs Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    Engine finishes on eBay today fingers crossed
     
  11. Stutibs

    Stutibs Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    Quick update. I now have the agu engine fitted, new cambelt, dual mass flywheel and clutch, water pump and oil pump. It appears the heads are different though I'm trying to use as much of aum stuff as possible got everything bolted up but on the side of the head there is a 3 bolt fixing looks like coolant goes into the head here but on the agu head it has the 3 bolts but no hole for coolant. Any ideas? Safe to just bolt it up and leave it?
     
  12. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    19,942
    Likes Received:
    3,276
    Could have told you the heads are different... its been discussed sooooo many times... In fact I have even told you in post 2 of this very thread!!!

    The 3 bolt thing is SAI (as mentioned in post 2) as thr AGU doesn't have it so you will need to do an SAI delete...

    The coolant is the black plastic 2 bolt housing...

    <tuffty/>
     
  13. Stutibs

    Stutibs Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    That'll learn me
     
  14. Stutibs

    Stutibs Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    So is that to say I won't be able to start it until I have it remapped out of the equation? Also I now assume I should use the agu piping but with aum sensors. Toying with the idea of just finding the right engine lol.
     
  15. Yohan87

    Yohan87 Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    12
    It'll run without SAI, it will just throw a fault.

    Stick the AUM bits on the AGU lump. Keep the AUM sensors etc.
     
  16. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    19,942
    Likes Received:
    3,276
    Use the bare agu block and head and connect all the aum stuff to it... sensors etc, pipework and the vvt..

    <tuffty/>
     
  17. Stutibs

    Stutibs Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yeah I have done that it was just the egr (3 bolt) thing that has me a bit worried. I'm not fussed about codes just as long as it starts and is reliable until I can afford a remap.
     

Share This Page