1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cambelt and engine mounts!

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by AndyC, Nov 20, 2011.

  1. AndyC
    Offline

    AndyC Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Nov 20, 2011]
    My god....

    cambelt is simple......

    but the mounts... what a pain in the arse....

    its the PAS pipe in the way to get the turbo inlet hose off thats a pain... then the ARB off to get the old mount out

    as I lifted the passenger side one out all the nice purple fluid poored all over the floor.... so it was a good time to change them....

    right better get back to it and get it all back together so I can drive home!!!
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Nov 26, 2014]

  3. AndyC
    Offline

    AndyC Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Nov 21, 2011]
    [​IMG]
    #2
  4. AndyC
    Offline

    AndyC Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Nov 21, 2011]
    [​IMG]
    #3
  5. AndyC
    Offline

    AndyC Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Nov 21, 2011]
    Oooops, how I found the cam timing

    [​IMG]
    #4
  6. AndyC
    Offline

    AndyC Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Nov 21, 2011]
    [​IMG]
    #5
  7. AndyC
    Offline

    AndyC Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Nov 21, 2011]
    Reassembled with new mounts and lightweight pulley.... And correct timing

    [​IMG]
    #6
  8. SL11CKK
    Offline

    SL11CKK Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2011
    Messages:
    661
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Nov 21, 2011]
    I think its just me, but I absolutely love it when the car looks naked.!! :sex:
    #7
  9. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,795
    Likes Received:
    342
    [Nov 21, 2011]
    Looks good. I did the mounts on my 1.8T with it in situ and that was bad enough. After seeing craigs engine though, not a chance i would want to try that in situ!

    How do you find the Vibratechnics mounts?

    Why have you made that drive pulley smaller?
    #8
  10. AndyC
    Offline

    AndyC Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    Messages:
    712
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Nov 21, 2011]
    I was close to pulling the engine as I have two hybrids here..... that can wait until Xmas.....

    did you see how far the left bank timing was out!!!!

    at Idle I cant really tell its any different from the vibration side.... the sound is a little sharper and the response is much better.

    I was given the pulley as an underdrive test unit to see what its like......... (the original weight was 2.4kg, new alloy one is 0.8kg....!!!!)

    so overall a good two days work!

    Andy
    #9

Share This Page