1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

CAM belt change, now aircon dosen't work

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by ocalld, May 4, 2007.

  1. ocalld
    Offline

    ocalld New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 4, 2007]
    Hi,
    Just had a full service and cam belt change on my 02 A4 TDi 130 (b6).
    Since this was done my air con dosen't work, pump dosen't turn on. I know it worked before as the demister always cleared quickly.

    Are there any checks i can make myself?? garage say they don't touch aircon while carrying out this work.

    One thing i've noticed, the belts aren't very tight even though it's still only 2 weeks since the service.
    Also had aircon regassed to see if this was problem. no such luck.

    I do have a failed coolant temp sensor, guage sometimes works, most of the time it dosen't. Could this cause air con problem?
    Where is the sender on the TDi?

    Ran Vagcom, other than Temp sender error, no othr fault codes.

    help please - weather i starting to get hot!!
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Jan 30, 2015]

  3. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    32
    [May 4, 2007]
    Sounds stupid but have you checked the fuses?
    #2
  4. ocalld
    Offline

    ocalld New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 4, 2007]
    yes, i've checked all the fuses, everything there is OK.

    Cheers
    #3
  5. Cravenbantam
    Offline

    Cravenbantam Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 4, 2007]
    As you look under the bonnet, look to the front left hand bottom corner and there is a plug connector (1 wire) which i believe is green.
    Make sure this is connected together as this is the feed wire to the Air Con compressor.

    They will have probably disconnected it while moving the front end out of the way to do the belt.

    Good luck
    #4
  6. Mcgough
    Offline

    Mcgough Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    847
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 5, 2007]
    yea thats the connect i was going to mention, i pulled it off by mistake when i had my front bumper off!
    #5
  7. ocalld
    Offline

    ocalld New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 8, 2007]
    Hi ,
    Thanks for the replies.
    I can't seem to find the green lead for the compressor, could someone give me more details of where it is ( if that's possible) or a photo??

    cheers
    #6
  8. ocalld
    Offline

    ocalld New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 14, 2007]
    Finally got my aircon working.

    Couldn't find any loose connections so decided to take off bottom engine pan/cover to have a look underneath. When i took it off, there lying in the middle was a cover which turned out to be the drive plate for the aircon. Bolt to hold this in place was missing so it was never refitted or not tightened and worked itself off. New bolt and now everything working nicely.

    Also noticed i now have an oil leak from the sump plug - what a service - they didn't bother to replace the sump plug - won't be using them again.

    Thanks for the help and advice - appreciated.
    #7
  9. terrysingh
    Offline

    terrysingh Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 14, 2007]
    glad to hear you got it sorted, bit worrying they left the air con assembly loose, make you think what else might be half done??? who was the garage????
    #8
  10. ocalld
    Offline

    ocalld New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 16, 2007]
    It was Westeck in Newport South Wales.

    I took it back to them, they didn't want to know, just kept saying they don't touch air con in service or cambelt change.

    I booked it in with them to sort it out at my expense and have the temp sensor replacedat the same time.
    They had the car a day and didn't do anything to it, just gave me the car back and said something about aircon guy off sick and all temp sensors they had in stock are faulty!!!!

    They left me with a leaking sump plug and loose fan belt.

    Charged me £550 for 120K service and cam belt, is that about average, good or bad???

    Won't be going back there in a hurry!!!!
    #9
  11. issuesaudi
    Offline

    issuesaudi New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 26, 2011]
    Hi, as per below have had a 120k cambelt change at a Audi Garage and the air con is now blowing air out (and not cooling it).

    Spoke to the Audi garage Service Manager and he said that the air con unit is not touched while servicing the cambelt. Can anyone tell me if this is the case?

    I am not that technical and have no idea how to look for potential wiring or clutch air con issues unless its pointed out very simply. Also have a lack of tools as well to take things apart.

    Welcome any help that anyone is generous enough to provide to help out with this predicament.

    Wonder what re-course I have against the Garage - are they breaking any sales laws if turns out to be there mistake? Can I escalate to Audi UK in order to get something done if the garage just continues to deny its their error.


    #10
  12. ocalld
    Offline

    ocalld New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 26, 2011]
    if you look at the air con compressor (the belt will be going around it ) there will be a metal plate that bolts onto the front (single bolt in middle).
    This holds the clutch.
    The bolt was missing from mine after i had cam belt changed. As in your case they insist they didn't touch the compressor.
    I found the plate in the bottom of my lower engine cover.
    Check that the bolt is tight, otherwise your compressor won't turn properly.

    cheers
    Dan
    #11
  13. quattro tony
    Offline

    quattro tony Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 27, 2011]
    Hi, im with the garage on this one im afraid, You dont touch the air con compressor when doing the cambelt, You only take the air con belt off and refit, Ive seen this problem b4 on the a4's where the bolt comes loose, can happen at any time and You can try to put the bolt back in it, may be ok , maybe not. I have done this b4 on one and managed to get the air con working again. Sorry to hear about your bad experience with them , Maybe worth finding a independant specialist in vag.
    #12

Share This Page