1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cab radio signal...

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by Louis Cronin, May 11, 2011.

  1. Louis Cronin
    Offline

    Louis Cronin Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 11, 2011]
    Hello people,

    I hear this is a common problem with cabs, the wire which runs to the boot throught the right side tubing stretches and breaks.

    Has anyone fixed theirs?

    Cheers
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Nov 24, 2014]

  3. itsmeagain
    Offline

    itsmeagain 1.8T Sport Cabriolet

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 11, 2011]
    My radio reception is the same, sometimes it works other times its shocking. I have been meaning to sort it out but keep putting it off.
    #2
  4. Louis Cronin
    Offline

    Louis Cronin Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 11, 2011]
    I've tried hitting it but that didnt work. Im fresh out of ideas now... anyone?
    #3
  5. s4matt
    Offline

    s4matt New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 11, 2011]
    Mine was doing the same, opening and shutting the boot made it worse!. The cable from the signal amplifier runs in the loom on the left hand side of the boot - this is usually where the cable work hardens and breaks. Managed to fix mine by buying a replacent cable from my local audio shop and spliced it on to the existing cable on the car body side of the loom. Works fine now and is easy to replace if it fails again.
    #4
  6. hades-
    Online

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,012
    Likes Received:
    542
    [May 11, 2011]
    as above you can get the repair wire from audi
    you can cut and join but iv always replaced the full wire
    hours job quite easy
    #5
  7. Gabsy1972
    Offline

    Gabsy1972 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 12, 2011]
    does anyone have a pictures of how, and where the wire is? i would really appreciate it. Carl
    #6
  8. rjm180
    Offline

    rjm180 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Jun 13, 2011]

    I would greatly appreciate a few pics too to give me a bit of a start and a couple of pointers to do this fix aswell.

    If anyone can, please.
    #7
  9. hades-
    Online

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,012
    Likes Received:
    542
    [Jun 13, 2011]
    just take the boot liner off look on your left the amp is there and its the wire with the blue plug
    follow where it goes its realy simple
    #8
  10. rjm180
    Offline

    rjm180 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Jun 13, 2011]
    Bez, thanks for reply, is the boot liner in the boot lid or is it some trim around the boot floor or sides. Sorry if question sounds stupid.
    #9
  11. hades-
    Online

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,012
    Likes Received:
    542
    [Jun 14, 2011]
    sorry yeah its in the boot lid
    if you remove that take a pic and ill point out the wire for you
    #10
  12. rjm180
    Offline

    rjm180 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Jun 19, 2011]
    Ok mate, will do.
    #11
  13. mjsulliva
    Offline

    mjsulliva New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 30, 2011]
    Hi, I've got this problem too. Couple of numpty questions, is it Cab specific or does it affect all B6's? I've got a saloon, and my radio reception has suddenly gone.

    Also, how the hell do you remove the boot lid liner? I gave it a good yank and thought I was going to bust it (so left it)

    cheers,
    #12
  14. hades-
    Online

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,012
    Likes Received:
    542
    [Jun 30, 2011]
    on the b6 its not in the boot its in the back window trim
    search it on google theres a few how to's
    #13
  15. carlos19664
    Offline

    carlos19664 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 12, 2011]
    hi mate did you get Picture taken of boot problem? need to do mine now got the same problem!

    thanks
    #14
  16. rjm180
    Offline

    rjm180 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Jul 12, 2011]
    I haven't had any time to look at it yet, sorry. Will prob be a while before i get chance to.
    #15
  17. rjm180
    Offline

    rjm180 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Jul 12, 2011]
    Bez, were you referring to saloon and avants only or do you know if the cab is the same.

    Thanks
    #16
  18. BahnStormer77
    Offline

    BahnStormer77 BahnStormer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,636
    Likes Received:
    17
    [Jul 13, 2011]
    I've found a few links with google searches, but nothing that great - if people find any really good guides (for the saloon in my case), then please feel free to share.

    Do you really just pull the headlining down above the back window?
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2011
    #17
  19. Gaz!
    Offline

    Gaz! Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    16
    [Jul 17, 2011]
    I have this problem aswell, no radio reception at all. Ive had the boot lid liner off and cant see any thing in there. Does anyone know exactly where I need to be looking on a b6 saloon?
    #18
  20. BahnStormer77
    Offline

    BahnStormer77 BahnStormer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,636
    Likes Received:
    17
    [Jul 17, 2011]
    I think it's inside the cabin, in the headliniing, above the back window..... but I'm not tryign to pull that stuff off until I know wha ti'll need to put it all back together again!
    #19
  21. Gaz!
    Offline

    Gaz! Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    16
    [Jul 17, 2011]
    #20
  22. BahnStormer77
    Offline

    BahnStormer77 BahnStormer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,636
    Likes Received:
    17
    [Jul 17, 2011]
    #21
  23. BahnStormer77
    Offline

    BahnStormer77 BahnStormer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,636
    Likes Received:
    17
    [Jul 18, 2011]
    Anybody know if you can tell which part you'll need BEFORE you pull the headlining apart?

    I can see literally dozens of part numbers in VAGcat, mostly starting with: 8E5035225.

    Also: since my RNS-E was retro-fitted, should I be trying to match the aerial booster to one of the "for systems with navigation" boosters or just match the original?

    I'm guessing there's not that much difference, since they only seem to specify a different one for the Avant, not the Sedan, but there's also a naggging feeling of whether it was the upgrade that caused the booster to fail in the first place, so I'd rather make sure I got the right one.
    #22
  24. Gaz!
    Offline

    Gaz! Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    16
    [Jul 18, 2011]
    I have wipped the head linning off and found my amplifier and the reason for failure.

    It has a crack running along it that I can only assume has happend through temperture fluctuations. The part number is 8E5 035 225 D.

    I have done some research and found it to be a common fault.

    Found here in this post, Anyone know why the antenna booster cracks and breaks? Been searching and it's common.. - AudiWorld Forums I have exactly the same problem and have found lots of others have the same.

    I have also found that the part number is supercedded to 8E5 035 225 S, this is beefed up and shouldnt fail.

    The cost from Audi, £140....... for a piece of printed circuit board.
    #23
  25. reggieroo
    Offline

    reggieroo Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 19, 2011]
    We have the same problem with an A4 Cab, no radio at all.
    #24
  26. carlos19664
    Offline

    carlos19664 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 24, 2011]
    Have a quick Chat with NHN he knows a little about this problem fixed my A4 CAB few days ago I was having the same problem
    #25
  27. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,470
    Likes Received:
    1,262
    [Jul 24, 2011]
    I will check those pics Carl, for cracks, didnt notice any mate huh.
    #26
  28. carlos19664
    Offline

    carlos19664 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2011
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 26, 2011]
    hi mate.... happy with it as it stands all good still waiting for steering wheel? aqny joy on ampire DVB-T....do I need anything else to go with it?
    #27
  29. mzwolfie
    Offline

    mzwolfie New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 31, 2012]
    I have a 2005 Audi A4 cab and live in New Jersey, USA. I need help finding an audio technician who is familiar with doing this repair. I took it to one shop where we accessed the module with the three wires. Even with the length of wire (previously covered by the rubber tubing) exposed, we could not find the damaged part of the wire to cut & splice in new wire. Also, the tech said the wire is a coaxial type that cannot be spliced. Is that true? I really want to do this repair myself but need some guidance. If you can help me, I would be most grateful. If not, 1) can you tell me where to find the correct replacement wire and 2) can you recommend a technician in the NJ/NY area who can do the repair? Thank you.
    #28
  30. hades-
    Online

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,012
    Likes Received:
    542
    [Aug 31, 2012]
    the wire you need is from audi as a repair wire.
    im in the UK so cant point you to a technician.

    but i have never cut and spliced i use the full repair wire and run it back upfront to the head unit
    #29
  31. mzwolfie
    Offline

    mzwolfie New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 31, 2012]
    Thanks for te quick reply. Last (I think :sm4:) question: Can you point me to a wiring diagram so I can try and replace the wire myself? One of your posts said it is a fairly simple job and I am kinda handy.
    #30
  32. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,470
    Likes Received:
    1,262
    [Aug 31, 2012]
    Nah you dont get coaxial repair wires, you get coax cables you can cut & splice, but you have 2 options, find the damage & repair via soldering/temp twist & tape or run new coaxial through with correct connectors on ends.
    #31
  33. atex949
    Offline

    atex949 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 1, 2012]
    Fixed my cab cable at the point where it runs between the boot lid and the main body. Don't worry about all that coax rubbish, we're not listening to faint radio signal on alpha centauri. I just soldered/spliced a piece of wire in across the central core and then wrapped in a pience of insulating tape then twisted the outer shielding mess together but this leaves a shield gap. So I wrapped the whole repaired area in tin foli and wrapped in insulating it all together to make a neat job and stop it falling apart. Works fine. btw the A4 cab signal is notorious for dropping in and out anyway but this fix improves things as it keep the cable length optimum. I did think about extending the cable by adding an extra pice of wire at the repair point and running it across the boot lid or in the boot perpenidcualr to the exisiting cable to maximise reception. Will try it one day to see if it makes a difference and will repost.
    #32

Share This Page