1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

broadband advise

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by 205man, Mar 11, 2008.

  1. 205man

    205man Active Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,042
    Likes Received:
    8
    im moving house next week and im thinking of moving broadband provider and need some advise

    im currently with pipex on an unlimited package but the speed isnt good 1.1mbps but that the best my area can get. but if i move i have to start a new contract with them and yes i do get a better speed in my new house 6mbps but the package they have caps me at 30gb download for £19.99 or jumps to £39.99 for 100gb

    im thinking of swapping to bt to their total broandband unlimited package which is £24.99 but i also get wirless hub and online storage etc etc.

    but are bt any good? ive never had a problem with pipex so worried id loose reliabilty etc.

    and does anyone use their wireless for online gaming (pc games) is it upto the job i believe its a 54mbps hub is this fast enough etc for me to use gaming whilst my girlfriend uses her laptop for just browsing

    ive never had my broadband through wirless bbefore thats why im asking, im used to good old fashioned wires, but i need to be able to use our laptops whilst maybe someone is using the desk top pc
     
  2. Markey

    Markey Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    2,148
    Likes Received:
    0
  3. 205man

    205man Active Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,042
    Likes Received:
    8
    no they arent in my area yet
     
  4. Bong Water

    Bong Water In two minds

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    0
    Been with Virgin 9 years now, very reliable and good speeds
     
  5. mandyray

    mandyray Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    4
    I've just moved too and changed to Virgin Media and am really impressed with them so far, however I used to be with BT and had no problems with them either. Whoever you go with, choose a decent speed option and get a good wireless router and you should have no problem with your online 'gaming'! :sly:
     
  6. john2garden

    john2garden Gonad

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've just moved to sky and got a package with my TV saving myself £20 per month.

    You get a Netgear wireless router with it too.

    So far so good.
     
  7. jojo

    jojo Looking for Boost!
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    27,132
    Likes Received:
    2,308
    Been with Virgin Media(Previously known as Telewest here) for the last 5 years or so, and not had any problems until lately. My connection has been very intermittent of late, and speed is variable from being very quick(peak speed) to dog slow, almost like dial up speed(Peak time), all since the turn of the year, so maybe it's time I made a complaint. Also, new customers get all the best deals, like all 3 packages, TV, broadband and telephone line for £30 a month, but existing cutomers can't switch to the same pricing, which I think is ****. But I would need to pay to have a BT line installed and pay additional line rental aswell to move to ADSL, aswell as buying new routers etc. so they got me by the balls really.
     
  8. unkle

    unkle Beer God

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    1,243
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im on Orange broadband thats tied up with my phone contract, costs £5 a month which aint too bad, the routers a bit iffy sometimes...but all in all its cheap, fast and unlimited, never gets slow.
     
  9. WHITEY_1

    WHITEY_1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    KEEEEEP away from AOL sh@t
     
  10. voorhees

    voorhees Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    15,604
    Likes Received:
    1,469
    AVOID BT!!!
    I'm with o2 just recently but am thinking virgin have fibre optic cables which can supply the correct connection size rather than being governed by how far you are from the exchange
     
  11. mitch78

    mitch78 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,348
    Likes Received:
    3
    :thumbsup:
     
  12. 205man

    205man Active Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,042
    Likes Received:
    8
    i cant have o2 even though i have 2 business contract phones with them as they dont supply broadband to my area yet, and there isnt cable where im moving so that rules that out as well.

    bt do seem to be offering one of the best all round packages at teh moment, thats why i asked i really wanted to know what the service was like and was the router anygood for gaming that come with it?
     
  13. mitch78

    mitch78 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,348
    Likes Received:
    3
    :thumbsup:
     
  14. macca

    macca Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm with utility warehouse, part of telecom plus.

    my exchange is LLU'd so i pay £24.99 for phone line and 8 (actual 6.5mb at my house) unlimited broadband on there broadcall package.

    they put new line in and connected me about 4 weeks ago and so far have been happy, getting 600-700 kb/sec downloads no probs. came with free netgear router, no min term contract, just pay £50 connection fee if leave in first 3 months i think.

    oh i think there is a charge of like £1.50 or something a month to be a "member", i also have gas, electric supply through them as well.
     
  15. Broken Byzan

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,964
    Likes Received:
    381
    Another vote for BT, the speed is ok for me 7mb and the connection has been up for ages.The router/hub can freeze now and again but thats the norm for todays technology in my experience.
    oh and you can get that freeview / on demand tv thing for a few quid too
     
  16. SteveTDCi

    SteveTDCi Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,388
    Likes Received:
    0
    I;m with orange and I have never had any trouble, although connection seems a little slow at the moment. I'm going to switch soon, probably to sky as it works out very cheap.
     
  17. smitch

    smitch Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,588
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can't be arsed with home broadband.

    I just bought a Vodafone 3G card for my laptop. I can use it on the train etc...

    Nice.
     
  18. jojo

    jojo Looking for Boost!
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    27,132
    Likes Received:
    2,308
    Great aren't they, hope you didn't pay for it though, I got mine free from a Vodashop on 18month contract. And you need to call them up to remove the parental lock.
     
  19. 205man

    205man Active Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,042
    Likes Received:
    8
    we dont have 3g in worcester yet so thats no good to me either, shame as well as my new nokia n95 has 3g built in but cant use it here
     
  20. smitch

    smitch Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,588
    Likes Received:
    0
    Been looking at grot have we Jojo????

    :no:
     
  21. smitch

    smitch Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,588
    Likes Received:
    0

    No 3G???? :faint:

    Move.
     
  22. jojo

    jojo Looking for Boost!
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    27,132
    Likes Received:
    2,308
    Voda seems to think using Photobucket and certain Youtube vids is classed as grot lol
     

Share This Page