1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Brake system fault - Audi say no fault codes.

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by DeanTTaylor, Jan 14, 2013.

  1. DeanTTaylor
    Offline

    DeanTTaylor New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2012
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Jan 14, 2013]
    Over the Christmas break I took my 2012 S3 on a bit of a road trip, I live in Canberra Australia and was heading up to the hunter valley on the central cost for Christmas / New Year break. The overall trip was about 500km each way.

    On the 1st day, about 100km from Canberra I got an error on the DIS "Stability program fault" Then a few orange lights were lit, the ESP fault, the picture of a flat tyre, and the picture of a shock absorber, this was followed by they DIS showing "TPMS"

    I pulled over, thought I might have a flat tyre, Everything seemed normal. When I got back in the car and started it, no faults were displayed.

    Drove for another 200km, then the same thing happened again, I decided to keep driving with the warning lights on as I was driving through Sydney, I noticed that hill hold assist want working, got back out onto the motorway and after a while the DIS displayed another error "Brake System Fault" Now the ABS and the Brake fail light are on.

    Pulled over, turned the car off and on again, problem goes away. Arrived at the hunter valley, spent a week holidaying. Did a few short drives up there, no faults came up, hill hold assist is working.

    Anyway, holiday ends, driving home, after a few hundred km it skipped the ESP fault and went straight to "Brake System Fault", with the following lights lit, ESP fault, flat tyre, shock absorber, ABS and the Brake fail. The DIS displayed TPMS, Decided to just drive home with the lights on.

    Back in Canberra, the car was booked in for a service in a week, drove around for that week with no errors.

    I took the car in for a service to Audi centre Canberra, I explained the errors, they said they would check it out.

    When I got the car back they said there was no faults logged and it was all working ok, he said sometimes a leaf or rock gets into the ABS sensor and can cause this.

    So my question, could there really be no faults logged for this? Does his reason sound plausible? Seems strange considering the error has come up multiple times after a few hundred km, Has anyone had a similar problem on their A3/S3?

    Here is a picture of the faults displayed.
    Errors.jpg


    Thanks

    Dean.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 21, 2014]

  3. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,503
    Likes Received:
    1,273
    [Jan 14, 2013]
    Well check the abs sensors for any ****, but seems a bit far fetched imho, Ive seen mine clogged up with brake dust/**** & they have always been fine & worked no problem, so take with a very large pinch of salt lol.

    Also how does a leaf or rock get into the sensor, its a sealed unit with just the connector plugged in iirc.
    #2
  4. gary3306
    Offline

    gary3306 Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    951
    Likes Received:
    28
    [Jan 14, 2013]
    You may have a knackered ABS pump. With that many warning lights coming on, I'm gobsmacked that Audi say there are no fault codes stored. I have recently replaced an ABS pump on a BMW 320d. It was displaying all the lights that yours is now showing, including a fault with the TPMS. Repaired the pump with the repair kit the BMW dealer supply and all is fine.
    #3

Share This Page