1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Brake switch problems

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by 1animal1, Jul 28, 2008.

  1. 1animal1
    Offline

    1animal1 The Clar!! it mouves!!! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9,978
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Jul 28, 2008]
    Hiya chaps!!

    Just thought i'd wack a post up on this..... noticed my brakes weren't working at the weekend and headed straight to the pedals to replace the switch.....

    I had loads of problems with this on my 99 1.8T where i bought pattern parts to replace and had to keep stripping the switch as it worked on a sliding contact.... the switch on this car however looks upgraded, unsure if its the same plugin, the switch is a barrel design......i took this apart and noticed that a round piece at the top of the barrel had turned slightly making it not work correctly....

    Tip is to check this before replacing as the new design is not a sliding contact so shouldnt wear as fast as the older switches. Probably save you £20 if anything but a tips a tip:beerchug:
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 22, 2014]

  3. ANDYTQ
    Offline

    ANDYTQ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    1,030
    Likes Received:
    36
    [Aug 1, 2008]
    What was the problem exactly mate,i have probs in that area too!
    #2
  4. 1animal1
    Offline

    1animal1 The Clar!! it mouves!!! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9,978
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Aug 2, 2008]
    the connection stops the lights working.... or makes your brake lights flicker on the old switch
    #3
  5. Stan 24v
    Offline

    Stan 24v Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 5, 2008]
    #4

Share This Page