1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

brake pad sensors

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by stu_m, Nov 10, 2010.

  1. stu_m

    stu_m Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    38
    im after a new set of brake pads and keep getting asked if i need the sensors or not!

    the pads that are in have the sensors but my car doesnt have the full DIS will i still get the brake worning on the DIS or should i opt for pads with no sensors
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. CHRIS555

    CHRIS555 DOPE with added OCD

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,941
    Likes Received:
    2
    What car do you have? And are you getting any warning signs on the dash?

    Another way of finding out is too luck at your pads and see if there is a lead hanging from them which is plugged into a socket?
     
  4. Turkster

    Turkster Bro.Paul 2.5TDI Quattro Sport

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,794
    Likes Received:
    44
    not wanting to sound like im taking the micky mate, but best to have a look really mate,
     
  5. stu_m

    stu_m Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    38
    im not taking the mick either but please read the post

    the pads that are in already have sensors which are plugged in my car doesnt have full DIS so i dont get the bulb warning so im not sure if i will get brake pad warning too

    i havent got any warnings at the min but my rear pads are gone and these dont have sensors its just fronts that do as im replacing the rears in doing the fronts at the same time while i have a little cash
     
  6. Turkster

    Turkster Bro.Paul 2.5TDI Quattro Sport

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,794
    Likes Received:
    44
    id replace like for like mate, why would anyone not ?
     
  7. Mike B

    Mike B Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    913
    Likes Received:
    12
    I agree surely the wear warning light is standard and needs the sensor wires
     
  8. stu_m

    stu_m Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    38
    cos the pads without are cheaper but same quality! If you dont need it then i dont see the point in fitting them

    but i think all the b6 audi's have them as i have since found out the pads also fit other makes and model cars!

    Ive bought them with the sensors anyway! I think i will check this out when i replace my pads!

    Was just trying to save a few pennies to spend on other things!
     
  9. Shane-Ireland

    Shane-Ireland Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    6
    Off topic but do the B6's have pad wear sensors on the rear too?
     
  10. stu_m

    stu_m Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    38
    no they dont well mine hasn't anyway!
     
  11. quattrojames

    quattrojames Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator Audi A6

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,995
    Likes Received:
    522
    + 1
     
  12. Turkster

    Turkster Bro.Paul 2.5TDI Quattro Sport

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,794
    Likes Received:
    44
    No mate, just the fronts as far as iv ever seen,
     
  13. Shane-Ireland

    Shane-Ireland Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    6
    Only asking because i got a low brake pad warning,my rears are really low but the fronts not that bad,i know with VW pads the warning used to come on early it seems with Audi it comes on even earlier lol

    Anyway to temporarily turn it off with VCDS? sick of looking at it lol
     

Share This Page