1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Brake Light Switch

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Kitchy, Jun 18, 2010.

  1. Kitchy
    Offline

    Kitchy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jun 18, 2010]
    what do i need to remove in order to gain access to the switch so i can replace it, as i woke up to a very dead S3 this morning not even enough power to use central locking and have traced the fault back to the brake lights staying on and flatening the battery,
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 22, 2014]

  3. finesse
    Offline

    finesse Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,811
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Jun 18, 2010]
    #2
  4. Kitchy
    Offline

    Kitchy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jun 18, 2010]
    thanks, i was looking at that earlier, i was just wondering which trim parts i have to remove?
    #3
  5. 1animal1
    Offline

    1animal1 The Clar!! it mouves!!! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9,981
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Jun 18, 2010]
    if your S3 is pre 2000 then replace the switch....if post 2000 then you will have an updated part that is repairable, you just need to twist the plastic casing back into the housing.....simples

    if you need a new switch, make sure you dont buy from Euro parts or similar.....i strongly recommend the dealers as my old A3 used to go through new aftermarket switches like nobodies business!!
    #4
  6. thorsy22
    Offline

    thorsy22 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 19, 2010]
    You need to take the lower drivers side trim off under the steering wheel to access it.
    Get it from the stealers, its approx £8 part.
    Got the part number somewhere if you need it.

    P.S just ignore them/fob them off when the ask you a load of times if you want them to fit it as its a fragile part blah blah blah. It's a doodle to fit, youll have more problems taking the trim off and putting it back together!
    #5
  7. 1animal1
    Offline

    1animal1 The Clar!! it mouves!!! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9,981
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Jun 19, 2010]
    or you can just repair it and save £8 and the hassle of fetching a new one - simples :)
    #6
  8. thorsy22
    Offline

    thorsy22 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 20, 2010]
    I had to replace mine, it was on a 2001 S3 :(
    But if you can fix it, then its allgood! :)
    #7
  9. jojo
    Offline

    jojo S3 Drift King! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,452
    Likes Received:
    1,851
    [Jun 20, 2010]
    Need more info on this bud, are you saying if you replace the switch on a pre 2000 model S3, they will give you a later updated version? And in the case for 2000 onwards S3, when the switch isn't working, it's somehow popped open, and you need twist the casing back together for a quick repair?
    #8
  10. 1animal1
    Offline

    1animal1 The Clar!! it mouves!!! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9,981
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Jun 20, 2010]
    jojo....yup.....and nope, i dont think they will replace with the newer version unless you request it for some reason?

    i dont know if the two different switches have the same plugs, you'd have to check......but the facelifted cars have like a plastic barrel fitment that sometimes twists past a plastic notch (making it not work), i have torn apart both types and repaired...the FL version is a different type of switching mechanism which is totally enclosed, luckily its the outer plastic that unclips on occasion

    the pre facelift switch is a sliding switch, eventually the copper slide forms a groove in the metal contact strip, i rebuilt my old one a few times and sanded it down.....eventually i bought a europarts replacement of the same type (and made by the same firm like they always tell you), this lasted about 6 months...after that i replaced with OEM, but at that point i didnt realise the newer cars had an upgraded part.
    #9
  11. jojo
    Offline

    jojo S3 Drift King! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,452
    Likes Received:
    1,851
    [Jun 20, 2010]
    Ah right, the reason I asked is because I have replaced mine in the past, and the parts guy told me the part has been updated, so different colour, but does the same job. They felt the same to look and feel(as in press of the switch), simple job, so if it breaks again, I'll probably just go fro a new replacement.
    #10
  12. 1animal1
    Offline

    1animal1 The Clar!! it mouves!!! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9,981
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Jun 20, 2010]
    no worries mate, if it does go again, take a pic of the connection and ill check it against mine if you like..... the two do look completely different in appearence
    #11

Share This Page