1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Brake light switch question

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Nick101, Nov 10, 2009.

  1. Nick101
    Offline

    Nick101 Boost fiend

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Nov 10, 2009]
    My brake light swtich is faulty, ordering a new one today through my mate in Audi, he wanted to know if it was a 2 pin or a 4 pin switch, and as I hav'nt removed it yet, I dont know.

    The cars a 97' R reg 1.8T Sport.

    Any Ideas?

    Thanks!
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 21, 2014]

  3. jojo
    Online

    jojo S3 Drift King! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,231
    Likes Received:
    1,673
    [Nov 10, 2009]
    If your mate works at Audi, I'm sure he can find out which part you need with your car reg or engine code.
    #2
  4. rossbrownlee
    Offline

    rossbrownlee Ross_S4

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 10, 2009]
    :iagree:
    Give him your chassis number and he will be able to tell you.
    #3
  5. Nick101
    Offline

    Nick101 Boost fiend

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Nov 10, 2009]
    I gave him my reg number, but he said he couldnt find out with that, jsut txt him asking about the chassis number now, ill let you know.

    Thanx guys.
    #4
  6. 1animal1
    Offline

    1animal1 The Clar!! it mouves!!! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9,981
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Nov 10, 2009]
    the R plate switch is prone to going more so than a facelift car.... id check to see if you can fit a facelift switch as it won't arc and burn out like the pre FL

    it's easy to get to, just remove the panel below the steering column...the switch is above the pedal
    #5
  7. Nick101
    Offline

    Nick101 Boost fiend

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2008
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Nov 10, 2009]
    Thanx for that animal, i'm guessing that the pre face lift switch is gonna be the 2 pin one?
    #6
  8. rossbrownlee
    Offline

    rossbrownlee Ross_S4

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 10, 2009]
    not necessarily nick, i have the pre-facelift but i have the 4-pin switch.

    It would probably be best just to whip yours out and check the part no on the side.
    #7
  9. 1animal1
    Offline

    1animal1 The Clar!! it mouves!!! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9,981
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Nov 11, 2009]
    unsure mate...was saying what Ross has said...you'll have to look

    i dont recall either being 2 pin but ive been wrong before ;)
    #8

Share This Page