1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

brake light switch and brake pressure sensor fault codes

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by welly_59, Jan 12, 2014.

  1. welly_59
    Offline

    welly_59 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 12, 2014]
    hi all,
    my friend has a 2002 audi a3 1.8 5v turbo with automatic transmission. His esp light came on the other day so he brought it over for me to have a look at yesterday. After hooking it up with my vag com cable i found two fault codes, 1 was brake light switch and the other was brake pressure sensor. After clearing the codes they came back so the fault is still there. When i found the brake light switch code i checked to see if his brake lights were coming on and they werent!

    I will be testing the brake light switch this morning and replacing if faulty. Could the faulty brake light switch throw the brake pressure sensor code as well? or are we looking at replacing the abs pump on his car?

    Any hints, tips would be great as i havent got much knowledge of audi's tbh
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 28, 2014]

  3. darren t
    Offline

    darren t Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jan 12, 2014]
    bleed brakes using vcds and new fluid!cured mine!
    #2
  4. welly_59
    Offline

    welly_59 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 12, 2014]
    cheers for that, can i bleed using vcds-lite? i am using a generic 409.1 cable so not sure if it will work with full version of vcds?!? the brake lights should still come on though surely, as its just a switch that is thrown when the pedal is depressed?
    #3
  5. darren t
    Offline

    darren t Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jan 12, 2014]
    no full version needed
    #4
  6. darren t
    Offline

    darren t Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2012
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jan 12, 2014]
    Brake light switch on pedal needs changing easy job!
    #5
  7. welly_59
    Offline

    welly_59 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 12, 2014]
    I've disconnected the brake light switch and the brake lights are still not working, should the lights come on with no switch attached?

    Does anyone know the pin out of the switch or connecting plug? I'll bridge pins to test as all the motor factors are closed today
    #6
  8. welly_59
    Offline

    welly_59 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 12, 2014]
    Anyone know the pinout? I'm sitting in the car with pieces of trim all around!
    #7
  9. welly_59
    Offline

    welly_59 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 12, 2014]
    ok i found the pinouts, pins 1 and 4 need to have continuity for the brake lights to come on. i tested the switch and got no contact between 1 and 4, after messing about with it i got continuous contact between pins 1 and 4 lol so a new switch is going to be picked up tomorrow.

    lets hope this sorts out the brake pressure sensor fault as well
    #8

Share This Page