1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bose wire delete

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Lee+Ash_a3, May 6, 2014.

  1. Lee+Ash_a3
    Offline

    Lee+Ash_a3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    11
    As the title says I have removed the Bose pin from block connector and wow what a difference. I didn't think ours sounded all that bad but now I have bass on 0 instead of nearly full, it's punchier and seems to cover more frequencies oh and I actually have treble woo hoo.

    Definitely a worthwhile mod and takes all of 5mins.
    #1
  2. Muzza80
    Offline

    Muzza80 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    257
    Tell me more?? I've not heard of this?
    #2
  3. Lewbo
    Online

    Lewbo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,118
    Likes Received:
    79
    Yes he's correct I fitted sat nav few weeks ago and never repinned the Bose wire as I heard this before and wow it sounds so much better with miles more bass and treble deffo recommend pulling it out.
    #3
  4. Lee+Ash_a3
    Offline

    Lee+Ash_a3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    11
    Pull the head unit out. On top is a diagram detailing which wire goes where. Bose is in the blue plug and on my concert CD player this wire was Brown. When you unplug the blue block connector the black piece inside the blue connector will slide out sideways, then just use a pin or similar to push the brown wires terminal in and withdraw from the connector. Wrap this in insulating tape or heatshrink and hey presto. Re-connect and you are good to go.
    #4
  5. MattKeating
    Offline

    MattKeating Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    16
    So what does it actually do? Disable a EQ setting or ?
    Anything AMP related?
    #5
  6. Lee+Ash_a3
    Offline

    Lee+Ash_a3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    11
    Yes it just disables the Bose eq, giving you full control over bass,mid and treble. After checking I still have gala but it doesn't have auto function anymore, not that it bothers me.
    #6
  7. S3_Jacko
    Offline

    S3_Jacko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,315
    Likes Received:
    328
    So this works even if you have bose...!? I can control my EQ from the RNSE quite well as it is... So i'm a wee bit confused as to what you actually are doing!?
    #7
  8. Muzza80
    Offline

    Muzza80 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    257

    You can? I'm not 100% but I thought the only options I had in my RNSE was Bass and Treble ? I'll check..
    #8
  9. Lee+Ash_a3
    Offline

    Lee+Ash_a3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    11
    The Bose eq levels everything out. We have Bose in ours and it all still works just has that extra oomph. I think the saying goes "no highs, no lows, it must be Bose". Basically by removing the Bose pin from rear of head unit will give full manual control over eq. The difference is huge, it seems as if with Bose enabled you get -1 up to +1 adjustment instead of ten points of adjustment either way.
    #9
  10. S3_Jacko
    Offline

    S3_Jacko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,315
    Likes Received:
    328
    Now that you say that tho, i'm not sure... I know I have changed them though and have been under the impression that it sounds pretty much spot on... I've not got any issues with the quality of sound in the car, but if theres any little adjustments that can enhance it, then i'm all ears...
    #10
  11. Lee+Ash_a3
    Offline

    Lee+Ash_a3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    11
    Remove the Bose pin and if it does nothing just re-insert it. There are lots of threads about this and everybody who does it hears a big improvement, that's why I done it and I'm glad.
    #11
  12. Sayam
    Offline

    Sayam Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    47
    now now kids what's all this?!

    can someone just 'take stock' and clarify please?

    so with a car that has factory bose, whether thats via concert or RNS-E removing the pin disables the Bose EQ which presumably is flat (or as close to as possible) and makes the sound more peaky? But this results in a 'better' sound overall?
    #12
  13. Lee+Ash_a3
    Offline

    Lee+Ash_a3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    11
    ^^^^^that is bang on the money
    #13
  14. The Governor
    Offline

    The Governor Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    65
    I'm really interested in doing this, how easy is the head unit to remove?
    #14
  15. S3_Jacko
    Offline

    S3_Jacko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,315
    Likes Received:
    328
    Placebo!???

    So how do you control your levels then!? Does the RNSE send its own EQ settings in a pre-amp!? I've never known an amp to have its own preset EQ levels that you can't change!? Lee... You got a link to these other threads?
    #15
  16. Sayam
    Offline

    Sayam Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    47
    The factory amp will also be doing some sort of processing I assume like EQ. The only thing I don't like about Bose is the centre channel being unamp'd although I understand why

    It wouldn't be hard to test placebo. Use pink noise and scope before and after Bose pin removal
    #16
  17. Artimus
    Offline

    Artimus Short Back

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,886
    Likes Received:
    361
    There was a time in the early 80's that Pure Class A amps had no tone control knobs! Maybe BOSE are harking back to those days & believe they know best???

    :uhm:
    #17
  18. S3_Jacko
    Offline

    S3_Jacko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,315
    Likes Received:
    328
    I might give this a bash then... Wont take long.. Probably take longer to find my RNSE removal keys... I'll report back
    #18
    warren_S5 and Lee+Ash_a3 like this.
  19. Lee+Ash_a3
    Offline

    Lee+Ash_a3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    11
    Last edited: May 6, 2014
    #19
  20. Lewbo
    Online

    Lewbo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,118
    Likes Received:
    79
    Yes the interior mirror really shakes once it's done
    #20
  21. Lee+Ash_a3
    Offline

    Lee+Ash_a3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    11
    I thought this was common knowledge to be honest. I'm really pleased with the increase in the high end sound too.
    #21
  22. S3_Jacko
    Offline

    S3_Jacko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,315
    Likes Received:
    328
    So Lee... Just to clarify, before you tried this mod, you had no control over bass and treble!?
    #22
  23. S3_Jacko
    Offline

    S3_Jacko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,315
    Likes Received:
    328
    See thats what I dont get... Mines shakes fine as it is....

    The thing thats annoying me is that I was an Audio engineer for years... Ha, mine sounds spot on, was even comparing it with the b&o in the 8V and as far as 3 people could tell they were pretty identical... The only thing I dont like is maybe the high end could be slightly more crisp, and the fact theres no mid-range adjustment... I'd love to hear someone elses car to see what everyone is on about!?
    Last edited: May 6, 2014
    #23
  24. Lee+Ash_a3
    Offline

    Lee+Ash_a3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    11
    I had bass,mid and treble controls before doing this but now it's like the previous levels of adjustment were +-1 in comparison, if that makes sense. The interior mirror shook before when up loud, but now it shakes like crazy on a good track at a much lower volume and bass at 0 compared with +8 before. Far more high end sound now also.
    #24
  25. Lee+Ash_a3
    Offline

    Lee+Ash_a3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    11
    When I was reading the threads I thought the same about the current sound. I have always has 12' subs and amped components in previous cars and thought this sounded not too bad for a standard set up. I'm in Livingston if you want to hear one that's done, bit of a trek though.
    #25
  26. S3_Jacko
    Offline

    S3_Jacko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,315
    Likes Received:
    328
    Maybe its just my 'older' perspective on life nowadays or what I dunno... I've just been a drive and listened to a few tracks that tests all the systems ranges and to be honest its just fine with me... Maybe see you at 1 of the upcoming meets and you can show me what its all about...

    Think they days are behind me now :-(

    i find Chemical Brothers 'orange wedge' is a good test track in the car
    #26
  27. Muzza80
    Offline

    Muzza80 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    257
    I might take you up on that actually, i'm through in Edinburgh for work sometimes.

    I need to remove the RNSE anyway to finally get my aux wired in properly.

    What I don't get though is mid control, I don't have this just bass and treble on my MK2 glossy surround RNSE?
    #27
  28. Lee+Ash_a3
    Offline

    Lee+Ash_a3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    11
    I can't answer about rnse but from the threads I read it is only bass and treble on rnse even after the wire removal. I have just been out and re-connected it to check and it's definitely better with wire out. :o.k:
    #28
  29. Lee+Ash_a3
    Offline

    Lee+Ash_a3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    11
    Dr dre 2001 album actually sounds really good now 😁
    #29
  30. Meejaman
    Offline

    Meejaman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    No highs and no lows, the it must be Bose. An old phrase I know and I'm a big fan of bose, but I have a new favourite see below.

    I did this mod some years back it made an extraordinary difference. Highly recommended. It sounds so inferior to the Bowers and Wilkins system in my other car with Dolby 5.1 or DTS, 17 speakers and 1200 watts of power!
    #30
  31. Muzza80
    Offline

    Muzza80 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    257
    Defo doing this then! Cheers!
    #31
  32. Johnny Bravo
    Offline

    Johnny Bravo 6+1 Gears

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    807
    Likes Received:
    57
    I just did it!!! OMG! What a difference! Deadmau5 - Superliminal sounds as it should now.
    This mod is a must!
    #32
    Lee+Ash_a3 likes this.
  33. lgooch
    Offline

    lgooch Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    680
    Likes Received:
    50
    The Bose wire removal is pretty well documented on here. Have a search for my thread "do I have Bose" on here, I would link but I am using TAPATALK

    It shows the wire I removed and I agree with everyone that has done it, it is like your bass and treble controls did not even work before and they suddenly then become activated. The funny thing is it makes now difference on my RNSe now if the wire is connected or not.
    #33
  34. Sayam
    Offline

    Sayam Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    47
    Does that mean it makes no difference to RNS-E based Bose systems? My car was concert and a previous owner fitted the RNS-E
    #34
  35. Muzza80
    Offline

    Muzza80 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    257
    Likewise, mine was a Symphony 2+ head unit but I fitted my MK2 RNSE?
    #35
  36. Lee+Ash_a3
    Offline

    Lee+Ash_a3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    11
    Pass on whether this mod won't work on all Bose equipped cars with rnse (even retrofitted), it takes all of 5mins to do and if no difference just re-insert the Bose terminal. It's worth a shot and if it does work on rnse you'll be glad you did it.
    #36
  37. nluk100
    Offline

    nluk100 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    487
    Likes Received:
    46
    I did mine the other day. Agree with the other comments about being able to get more bass and treble out of the head unit now but one thing I would say is that the bass is no where near as controlled as it is with the Bose earth pin connected. It sounds like the sub-woofer is being sent a full range signal rather than something like just 100Khz or below and as a result, the bass sounds woolly rather than nice and tight as it was before.

    I'm on the fence atm - still have it disconnected and will tweak the bass / treble settings again, but I may reconnect mine in the near future.

    I was also hoping that it might fix the dreaded audio pilot issue - still to be convinced on this as it often takes a few weeks to show itself.
    #37
  38. lgooch
    Offline

    lgooch Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    680
    Likes Received:
    50
    Audio pilot separate issue and I understand that there is a TEch Bullertin from Audi for it.

    I can't believe you don't like the levels of new found bass and treble. I reconnected my wire and it made no difference once I had unconnected it. At the moment I think the process is irreversible but I could be wrong as my wire is dangling about at the back.
    #38
  39. davc
    Offline

    davc Foursprung Duck Technik

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    35
    I removed mine a while back. The sound is acceptable now, whereas before it was rubbish.
    #39
  40. Lee+Ash_a3
    Offline

    Lee+Ash_a3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    11
    Nluk100 is correct, the sub does now have full range sound or similar, I wouldn't say full range like when you switch a low pass filter off on an amp but definitely has some of the deeper vocals and tune coming through it. This is a quick fix for me until u have a custom enclosure made for an 8' sub in same position and amped separately
    #40

Share This Page