1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bose System

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Ginger Prince, Mar 16, 2014.

  1. Ginger Prince

    Ginger Prince Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    13
    Ive just changed my 2007 S3 (8P) hatchback for a 2011 S3 Sportback which is equipped with the Bose system.

    The car is great....apart from the sound system.

    My previous vehicle just had the standard Audi Concert system but it was much better than the Bose system which cant be right?!

    Ive got the bass fully turned up on the new system but it sounds flat as though it should have a Sub which it doesn't seem to (certainly cant find a Sub in settings anyway)

    Anyone else experienced this issue, I'm not sure if its a setting i need to change cos otherwise i'll need to take it back to the dealer with a technical problem.

    Thanks
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. JJ.Foulds

    JJ.Foulds Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,220
    Likes Received:
    172
    look for the sub in the boot on the left hand side, just take the side off.

    And if its there and not working, take it back.
     
  4. Ginger Prince

    Ginger Prince Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    13
    Ive been in the boot and theres no sign of a sub unless you mean concealed behind a panel?
    There's no sub setting either....
     
  5. JJ.Foulds

    JJ.Foulds Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,220
    Likes Received:
    172
    Its hidden behind the left side panel. you only have to remove the boot lip then the side, takes like 2 mins if that.

    But mines no bose, and has the sub there, surely the bose system would come with it?!
    and mine doesnt have any sub settings either, its just mixed into the sound.
     
  6. dannyh1991uk

    dannyh1991uk Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    7
    Just turn the music up and place your hand over the left carpeted wall of the boot closest to the boot... Should feel some vibration from the sub?

    Iv not got Bose but i have a sub and the bass is enough... I have an aftermarket Sony Xplod stereo though so it does have settings.

    The Bose system does have a sub though...
     
  7. Ginger Prince

    Ginger Prince Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    13
    Ive had a quick look and it seems that it maybe a VCDS setting and/or removing a Bose wire on the rear of the unit....

    I cant believe this isn't something that loads of people haven't/aren't experiencing as I'm mightily disappointed with the Bose (premium) system compared to my previous standard Audi Concert head unit and speakers.
     
  8. Ginger Prince

    Ginger Prince Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    13
    On my RNSE it has options for Gala off, 1, 2 3 etc which it would seem shouldn't be possible unless its in engineering mode (which it must be).

    Audi asked me if i wanted to use cd's to listen to music so i said yes, they told me they had "unlocked" the system which will now allow me to remove the Sat Nav disc and insert cd's.

    Im wondering if they've forgot to change a setting which has made the bass sound pooh?

    Mine doesn't have a Bose HQ in the options either....
     
  9. Ginger Prince

    Ginger Prince Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    13
    In my RNS-E manual it says that my unit shouldn't be equipped with DSP (Gala) and that vehicles with the Bose system are fitted with a dynamic background noise compensation system which automatically adapts the volume to the interior noise level....

    Seems i'll be calling Audi on Monday! :(
     
  10. S3_Jacko

    S3_Jacko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,630
    Likes Received:
    478
    Well i've got Bose system and it sounds awesome in my car... Had a symphony system in my old 1.... Bose is great, nice crisp sound, if anything it just doesnt go loud enough sometimes....

    Infact... 3 of us compared it to the sound from bang & olufson system in new 8V S3 and there was nothing in it

    i have noticed my volume levels adjust when driving and sitting at traffic lights etc...!

    and my bose defo has sub in the boot... Left-hand side as previous people have said
     
    simboti19 likes this.
  11. smurfworth

    smurfworth Well-Known Member
    Audi S3

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1,656
    Likes Received:
    421
    Should sound like you've got a 10" sub in the boot on real low bassy songs.

    My bose system certainly does anyway.

    If the rear speakers aren't working either it's all linked to the same amp.

    Also check if the fader is set all the way to the front, which essentially turns off the rear speakers and the sub too.
     
  12. Ginger Prince

    Ginger Prince Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    13
    All the settings (bass, fade etc) are ok, its the fact i can access the DSP menu which i shouldn't be able to with the Bose system.
    I'll take it back to Audi tomorrow and hopefully get things sorted but I'll let you all know incase others also experience similar issues.
     
  13. XFi

    XFi Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    432
    Likes Received:
    35
    The Bose in the 8P isn't very good I don't think. The Bose is my 8L S3 was better IMO and the B&O system should be leagues ahead if the song format is good quality.
     
  14. Sayam

    Sayam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,371
    Likes Received:
    268
    In the OP you say you got bass turned up full. That's maybe why there's no bass you're probably clipping the amp?

    Try turning bass down to half and see if that helps?

    Bose defo has a sub in left side of boot behind the panel as I've stripped mine out.

    It's a very small driver (6" off top of my noggin) and does very well relatively speaking due to the clever (ish) enclosure design.

    In addition, mids are well sealed to doors giving good mid bass performance which helps the 'sub' out some more.

    My Bose tweeters had Blaupunkt stickers on though lol when I removed them
     
  15. fangio

    fangio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,267
    Likes Received:
    130
    Engineering mode is entirely separate from the normal controls and comes up on a white screen.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nEYejZdMpeA

    When you set up the sound i.e. treble, bass, fader, etc., it applies to the setting you're on - radio, mp3, cd. You set each one to your preferences.
     
    #14 fangio, Mar 16, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2014
  16. Ginger Prince

    Ginger Prince Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    13
    Its deffo nothing to do with the bass being full, i only turned it to full after it sounded so poor.
    It must have something to do with the fact i can access the DSP menu which vehicles fitted with a Bose system shouldn't be able to.
    At least i know its not stuck in engineering mode so its Audis problem to rectify tomorrow/next week....
     
  17. Rock Carver

    Rock Carver New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    6
    I've got the same set up in my S3 and I am also disappointed with the sound quality from the Bose system. I've also got the audi iPod interface connected.

    What I have noticed is that depending on the quality of the mp3 files (Kbps), the higher it is the better the system performs. However, a lot of this is subjective. Some people have commented on how clear the sound is on the Bose system whilst I think it lacks body. I would also agree that the volume setting also seems very low. I can hit full volume and it's far from being loud.

    So average is the sound that it prompted me to ask is there something wrong with it. Sadly, it seems not. I'm also not convinced that upgrading the head unit to an RNS-e is going to make a world of difference, although I'm happy to be shot down in flames.

    In many ways, the 14 year golf we have has a better sounding oem ice, IMHO.
     
  18. S3_Jacko

    S3_Jacko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1,630
    Likes Received:
    478
    I'd love to compare my bose with someones who said is disappointed with it... Mine sounds great, n i was an audio/visual engineer for years... Just not loud enough somtimes!
     
  19. fangio

    fangio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,267
    Likes Received:
    130
    Well, mine's not Bose, I'm a bit deaf and I can't bear it over about two-thirds volume as it might blow the windows out!!!

    When we first got it, I was parked waiting for swmbo to come back from the shop and had Deep Purple on at what I thought was a lowish volume. When she came back to the car, she said "I thought who's the chav with the bass-box? B***er me, it's you!"
     
  20. Ginger Prince

    Ginger Prince Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    13
    Haha, I don't wanna know about non Bose systems without RNS-E as I've had those and aware of what they sound like....
    I was asking others with the same equipment as i was surprised & mightily disappointed in what should be a premium sound system on an excellent car.

    I'll update once its been back to Audi....
     
  21. dandav1985

    dandav1985 Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    61
    Hello,

    I have the Bose in my car and I'll be honest it sound bloody rubbish, I've used VCDS to turn the gala on my RNSE but it still turn it's self up and down with really does my head in so I need to cut the wire??? Still not done this yet I'm changing the speakers and amps anyway to morel and DLS.

    Audi can sort it but be prepaired to pay them £150+ which is what Tyneside audi quoted me

    Cheers Dan
     
    Tonka Toy likes this.
  22. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. Tonka Toy

    Tonka Toy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    24
    I've only had my 2011 S3 a few months and the Bose system is easily the most annoying aspect of the car..., even more than the ridiculous Bluetooth "bong."

    It's infuriating when the volume at start-up is too loud, despite the fact I'd turned it down before previously turning-off and parking. And it often immediately turns itself back up again anyway which is a nightmare when coming home in the early hours of the morning. It's like having a mischievous 6-year old in the front twiddling with the volume control.

    I can't find a gala or volume pre-setting on RNS-E so the car decides how loud it wants to be and it's hard luck if it's not how YOU want it. Madness!!! :banghead:
     
  24. fangio

    fangio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,267
    Likes Received:
    130

    My son has Bose on his BE and neither he nor I can hear the difference......
     
  25. Artimus

    Artimus Shortback

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,962
    Likes Received:
    412
    I have the BOSE system in my car and since I fitted a Pioneer w\ built-in 10 band EQ, I have to say it's excellent. There's nothing wrong with the speakers what-so-ever! very powerful &\or deep bass of my choosing that I have to keep lowered or the interior [as solid as it is] rattles.

    Audi's head units for the 8P are severely lacking in functionality & quality it has to be said, and don't do the BOSE system justice IMHO.
     
  26. manor13

    manor13 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    106
    I found an amp in a non Bose car are they worth retro fitting?
     
  27. Sayam

    Sayam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,371
    Likes Received:
    268
    I guess everything is relative but before I changed mine my Bose worked correctly and it deffo ain't premium in my mind

    Let us know how you get on with audi...
     
  28. immo

    immo Stop me

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    40
    After going directly from a non-Bose Symphony system in one A3 to a Bose RNSE in my second A3, I always said the first was better. Better sound quality and bass at low levels. Mine does not automatically adjust the volume, lack bass at high volume or "not go loud enough" like some of you have said though.

    I've stopped trying to work it out though to be honest. Now all I care about is keeping it loud enough so that I don't hear the various rattling noises coming from within the cabin..! -_-
     
    simboti19 and Jet2004uk like this.
  29. Tonka Toy

    Tonka Toy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    24
    :beerchug:
     
  30. Schlaag

    Schlaag Bwah

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    433
    Likes Received:
    19
    Hi guys can anyone confirm.. should all black edition S3's come with Bose as standard? Mine it seems hasnt and has a mk1 nav unit too. Its a MY11 reg and its throwing up fault codes for

    03272 - control module for audio interface

    00857 - CD Changer Unit no signal (2 of these fault codes came up)

    No cd changer or audio interface is fitted so why is it looking for these?
     
  31. Ash187

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User Audi A5 quattro

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7,237
    Likes Received:
    589
    No not ALL black editions came with Bose. Audi change the offers every year or so.

    As advised on the other thread you opened it seems to be incorrectly coded as the RNSE you have looks like it was badly retrofitted.
     
  32. MA3TDIQ

    MA3TDIQ Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    7
    Is there any way to tell you have Bose other than the branding badges on the speakers?

    In my old A3 with single din concert radio-whenever you switched the radio on it lit up with Bose on the display.

    It dOest do this with my new sline TDI prior to upgrading the radio to RNSE.

    I have to say I also thought my sound system in my old a3(Bose) was much better than my current a3 which is also Bose.

    Could this be related to the Bose wire in the loom with he RNSE? My RNSE has been coded correctly, but I don't seem to get the automatic volume control when stopped at traffic lights...
     
  33. Ash187

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User Audi A5 quattro

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7,237
    Likes Received:
    589
    If you upgrade from a concert or symphony to a RNSE then you would have to move the Bose pin over to get the bose working correctly.
    I personally don't like bose that much and would have preferred if my car came with standard speakers so i could rip them out and replace with decent aftermarket ones although having the illuminated Bose grills are pretty cool
     
  34. MA3TDIQ

    MA3TDIQ Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    7
    Is there a way to find out if the bose wire has been moved by going through the menu's on the RNSE?

    Or is it just a case of trial and error and listening which wire setting sounds better?
     
  35. Ash187

    Ash187 Audi-Retrofits.co.uk
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User Audi A5 quattro

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    7,237
    Likes Received:
    589
    Take out the RNSE, on the back of the quad lock connector there is a small blue plug which should have a brown wire going into pin 5 if the bose pin hasnt been moved or pin 7 if its been moved. If you find that the pin 7 is already taken its because you have an AUX in your car which won't be working as it needs to be rewired to a new plug for the RNSE. If you need this to be done i can do that for you.

    [​IMG]
     
  36. RobCrezz

    RobCrezz Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2014
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    10
    The bose in the missus TT sounds rubbish too, has bass and treble, but no mid range. Im pretty sure something isnt working with it, going to get it looked at by a car audio person.
     
  37. Sayam

    Sayam Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    1,371
    Likes Received:
    268
    Am I right in thinking moving the brown wire to pin 5 from 7 will disable Bose?
     

Share This Page