1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bose system - Upgrade

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by DaveA3, Mar 31, 2010.

  1. DaveA3
    Offline

    DaveA3 Audi A-Trizzle!

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,374
    Likes Received:
    14
    [Mar 31, 2010]
    Hi All,

    Whats the best step in line for an upgrade to the bose sytem. its pretty good as standard but im after a bit more bass first of all then ill get onto the speakers at a later date.

    My questions are:

    What power is the current amp and how many channels is it?

    Are the speakers powered by the amp or the headunit?

    Is there a sub that sounds better off the standard amp?

    Andymac do you still sell those upgrade kits? also whats the fitting charge coz it looks messy

    one last thing is there any big threads on this as i cant find any via search?

    cheers!
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 21, 2014]

  3. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Mar 31, 2010]
    Yeah the search is now completely useless thanks to the recent "upgrades".
    Yes I still do them, fitting takes 4 hours and is £60.
    There are 2 amps on the Bose system. A 4 x 50w amp for the cabin speakers in the right hand cubbyhole in the boot and a 2 x 50 amp powering the sub, located inside the sub enclosure. These are peak figures not RMS and are achieved by driving a 2 ohm load rather than the traditional 4 ohm found everywhere else.
    All speakers are powered by the amp.
    You can't power anything from the puny Bose sub amp.
    #2
  4. DaveA3
    Offline

    DaveA3 Audi A-Trizzle!

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,374
    Likes Received:
    14
    [Apr 1, 2010]
    ok great, whats the link to ur website? i remember seeing it somewhere but cant find it also :/

    so its not even an option to use the current wiring and swap out the amp with a direct replacement? im guessing its puny.

    So im guess just strip it all out n start again? seems a nightmare

    cheers for the help so far mate
    #3
  5. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Apr 1, 2010]
    #4

Share This Page