1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bose subwoofer question

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by demongibbo, Feb 18, 2014.

  1. demongibbo
    Offline

    demongibbo New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 18, 2014]
    Will it still work if i fit a aftermarket single din headunit. Cheers
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 21, 2014]

  3. Chrismawa
    Offline

    Chrismawa Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    27
    [Feb 18, 2014]
    Yes. You will need some ISO adapter cables. There are a couple of different options whether you have a fully amped set up (front and back) or half amped set up (rears only).
    #2
  4. demongibbo
    Offline

    demongibbo New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 18, 2014]
    Ok matey cheers for the info
    #3
  5. PetrolDave
    Offline

    PetrolDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    82
    [Feb 18, 2014]
    If demongibbo has Bose then he needs the fully amplified adapter cables (Bose is fully amplified, non-Bose is amplified rears & sub only with fronts directly connected to the head unit).
    #4
  6. Chrismawa
    Offline

    Chrismawa Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    27
    [Feb 19, 2014]
    Interesting! My car has BOSE on the grilles, and on the headunit has a wire coming out the pin labelled BOSE. But when I fitted my aftermarket HU only the rears were amped? Guess its non BOSE then?
    #5
  7. S4_dan
    Offline

    S4_dan Fire up the Quattro!

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,732
    Likes Received:
    77
    [Feb 19, 2014]
    Did your original radio say BOSE on the screen when you turned it on?

    you need to use an adapter harness with an aftermarket HU.
    #6
  8. Chrismawa
    Offline

    Chrismawa Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    27
    [Feb 19, 2014]
    No not when turned on, but on the back there is a wire coming out of a port named BOSE. Are there any markings on the speakers/amp if it was BOSE?
    #7
  9. S4_dan
    Offline

    S4_dan Fire up the Quattro!

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,732
    Likes Received:
    77
    [Feb 19, 2014]
    The rear amp would have a BOSE label on it. The speakers on a Bose system have different ohm rating to normal speakers.

    Can you check what rating your speakers are? Marking will be on the magnet at the rear.

    It may be possible that someone has just fitted BOSE speaker covers or they didn't know what they were doing in VCDS and changed the coding for the BOSE function on the radio.
    #8
  10. Chrismawa
    Offline

    Chrismawa Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2011
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    27
    [Feb 19, 2014]
    Yeah I'll try have a look. I thought that about the grilles but find it strange as the car hasn't been touched modding wise except for 18's. But I suppose its possible!
    #9

Share This Page