1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

bose sub

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by adrian2006uk, May 6, 2007.

  1. adrian2006uk
    Offline

    adrian2006uk Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    3
    qustion have bose stereo and the subs sound rubbish the reset of the standard speakers sound ok but the subs flap and phart and sound bad
    is the any way of gettin them to sound better i do not want to change the standard head unit as i do not want to ruin the look of the dash so running a amp is not poss with the standard headunit anybody got any ideas the best way to do it
    #1
  2. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    30
    Swap it for a stealth sub. You will need to run a new amp, but this IS totally possible & easy with the stock HU (not sure why you think you can't). At around £300 (including sub, enclosure, amp & wiring) it is the biggest single upgrade you can do in the A3/S3.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    #2
  3. sitrials
    Offline

    sitrials Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Messages:
    872
    Likes Received:
    0
    thats cool andy did you do all the work yourself??
    what size sub is that?? 6"??
    #3
  4. s3ollie
    Offline

    s3ollie Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    762
    Likes Received:
    7
    now this looks like an idea instead of replacing my broken bose sh*te subs (if you can call them subs at 4" each!)

    AndyMac do you have the diamentions and/or a how to for this please
    #4
  5. adrian2006uk
    Offline

    adrian2006uk Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    3
    hello mate how can i run a seperate amp for the box with standard head unit and where can i get the box and stuff from
    #5
  6. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    30
    I provide the enclosures, which are custom made from 18mm MDF. I wouldn't recommend making one yourself as there's a lot of work and it took me 3 versions to get it right. The enclosure on it's own is £95 (satin black with wadding, wiring, gold terminals & brackets), the JL Audio 6W04 6.5" sub is £85 and I can supply the amp as well if required. I only use Alpine V12's sourced off ebay & fully tested, either 2 channel T505's 300wrms bridged for Bose system or 4 channel F400's for non Bose system (as the rears are powered by the sub amp).
    #6
  7. voorhees
    Offline

    voorhees Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    15,061
    Likes Received:
    1,162
    But youy'll be DEAF in a few years.......DEAF I SAID ANDYMAC
    #7
  8. campbell
    Offline

    campbell Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Messages:
    714
    Likes Received:
    1
    Andy- is the sound difference remarkable better between the standard bose sub and the enclosure,amp and sub you supply?
    i would be interested in buying one off you, the standard sub can sound reasonable on some music but its not perfect.
    if you supplied the amp, sub, enclosure how easy is it to fit?
    #8
  9. jojo
    Offline

    jojo S3 Drift King! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,024
    Likes Received:
    1,594
    Can i just add that the Andymac Bose upgrade is a work of art, I've had mine fitted by myself for a couple of years now and it makes a huge difference over standard.
    #9
  10. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    30
    It is a drastic improvement, cleaner punchier bass, at much lower bass settings on the HU, so the cabin speakers are freed up from trying too hard so it also improves the clarity at the top end.
    PM me your mail address and I'll send you the instructions. It's not complicated just time consuming, takes me 4 hours to install.
    #10
  11. s3ollie
    Offline

    s3ollie Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    762
    Likes Received:
    7
    can you run the Andymac sub off the bose amp or does it require and extra one
    #11
  12. jojo
    Offline

    jojo S3 Drift King! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,024
    Likes Received:
    1,594
    The Bose Amp is 4 channel, so runs the 4 speakers and tweaters in the car, the sub has it's own mini Amp which is a circuit board the size of a fag packet with a few things stuck onto it, so you will need a seperate Amp to run it... with the instructions that Andy will supply you, it will be hidden inside the rear quartter panel next to the rear seats. :)
    #12
  13. S3IZZO
    Offline

    S3IZZO Guest

    I love the look of that!
    #13
  14. jojo
    Offline

    jojo S3 Drift King! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,024
    Likes Received:
    1,594
    Adrian, I've replied to your PM, let me know if you would like a demo ok.
    #14
  15. Cossie_boy
    Offline

    Cossie_boy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi all,

    Ive just got my A3 and it has the 2 little subs in the boot, just above is the cd changed, then to the right of the changer is another..thing?!? which looks like another changer? but isnt!

    I have Sat Nav and TV so is it something to do with that?

    Cheers

    Dave
    #15
  16. buckas
    Offline

    buckas Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Messages:
    749
    Likes Received:
    2
    aye, same question for me too - very interested aswell indeed :icon_thumright:

    drew
    #16
  17. 4Ring Jelly
    Offline

    4Ring Jelly Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    that is a really nice looking sub-box. very cool and clean. i hate seeing literal "boxes" that just sit in the middle of somebodys trunk. it looks so messy and unfinished.

    anyways, how it is attached?

    cheers!
    #17
  18. Blunteh
    Offline

    Blunteh Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2006
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes it holds the data disc for the Sat Nav.
    #18
  19. S3_MCD
    Offline

    S3_MCD Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2003
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    0
    Andy

    Can you let me have the fitting instructions also....been thinking about and ready good things about your stealth sub for a while now.

    Cheers
    Marcus

    PS anybody in or around Bristol with one of these for a sound demo?
    #19
  20. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    30
    PM me your email address for the instructions
    #20
  21. djwillb
    Offline

    djwillb Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can we stil get these?
    #21
  22. alijames
    Offline

    alijames Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, I'm pretty sure he is still making them. Best upgrade I did on mine!

    He even has one for the 8P now.

    PM andymac for pricing etc.

    Cheers,
    #22
  23. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    30
    Thanks for the praise Ali, yes I'm still making them, 72 sold and still going strong!
    #23
  24. Welly
    Offline

    Welly VX220 SC Driver :)

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    117
    I'm not suprised mate, that looks like an absolutely pukka job.

    Top work! :icon_thumright:
    #24
  25. G60DAN
    Offline

    G60DAN Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hello

    Im new 2 the forum had my S3 a month and a half now and need 2 sort out the bose sub. As it's not up 2 much I would like 2 run an amp with sub with oem H/U can someone help. all I need 2 know is how 2 wire it up I can make the box as Im a chippie.
    Last edited: May 8, 2010
    #25
  26. ALPINE
    Offline

    ALPINE Yes its diesel, now cry u lost

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Messages:
    3,096
    Likes Received:
    2
    that does look the tittys andy mac. how bigs the face of your enclosure? could you fit a square kicker as those small little feckers thump? i would love to have my whole boot back but i love my 2 12"s to much


    i assume you cant mount a sub in the other side as well?
    Last edited: May 8, 2010
    #26
  27. sportstractor
    Offline

    sportstractor Chugger

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,715
    Likes Received:
    31
    Iv just fitted a AMSS, and it sounds the daddy, i was massively surprised how much bass is given out by the tiny sub. Couldnt be doing with subs in the boot, ruins the image for me
    #27
  28. AudiS3-Turbo
    Offline

    AudiS3-Turbo Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    12
    how much do these go for? i would love one as the stock one is poop!
    #28
  29. alijames
    Offline

    alijames Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,024
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just PM AndyMac for pricing. I think he still does a fitting service as well, if you can get to the Portsmouth area.

    Cheers,
    #29
  30. AudiS3-Turbo
    Offline

    AudiS3-Turbo Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    12
    done thanks :happy:
    #30

Share This Page