1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bose Sub in My A3

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by A3_Turbo, Jul 16, 2007.

  1. A3_Turbo

    A3_Turbo Swaying towards IHI....

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,464
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys can some-one please explain how to disconnect the standard Bose Sub in My A3 T Sport? I have another 12” Sub in the boot and with both of them going it sounds ****! Don’t mind it still being in the Arch just need it disconnecting, Is it that big black box that you unclip that disconnects it?

    Cheers
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. Jaywoo_A3

    Jaywoo_A3 Audi dead, 2.0T all the way!

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    1
    If you disconnect the standard sub it disconnects the rear speakers as well.
    its really not worth it IMO, just leave it running as well as your new sub.
     
  4. A3_Turbo

    A3_Turbo Swaying towards IHI....

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,464
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh ok fair enough is there a way round it at all?

    When i turn the bass up the standard sub cant handle it and makes a horrible noise!
     
  5. Boydie

    Boydie Guest

    have you upgraded your front speakers at all?

    disconnect the bose sub - it will sound better without it and you will not notice much difference without rear fill just more bass

    you can adjust the fader more to the front and turn the sub/bass controler up to compensate for no rear fill

    or just upgrade your speakers at the front
     
  6. madvw

    madvw Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,488
    Likes Received:
    2
    If its a bose rear sub, you should be able to just pull the connector out of the sub shouldnt you? I thought it was only the non-bose that you couldn't do that with?
     
  7. steve1975l

    steve1975l Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes just unplug the connector. I am sure Andy will be along soon to post the pic again.
     
  8. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    38
    Yes the Bose sub can just be disconnected as it has it's own amp. The non Bose sub is also amping the rears so if you disconnect it then you lose the rears as well.
    The plug is black and clipped to the front of the sub, it's a bit of a pig to unplug though with only room for one hand, you may have tug it away from the sub so you can get 2 hands on it.
     
  9. bouncer--daz

    bouncer--daz A dog is for life....not just for friday nights!

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Taking the rear light out helps aswell to shed sum light on the situation... only takes 4 bolts. I did this when piggy backing my 2nd amp and sub off the original set up. What ive found is by having the treble set too +5 and the bass too -1 or -2 along side my 2nd sub which is 1000w (note the amp is only turned up half way on the gain as it was too powerful) you get a good all round sound from the standard components with the extra bass on the 2nd sub. Its working fine for me until I get round too upgrading the rest.
     
  10. A3_Turbo

    A3_Turbo Swaying towards IHI....

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,464
    Likes Received:
    0
    [​IMG]

    Is this what i should be disconnecting?

    Jason
     
  11. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    38
    Yes, that's the baby!
     
  12. A3_Turbo

    A3_Turbo Swaying towards IHI....

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,464
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok cheers i did that the other day and my brake lights went all weird?
     
  13. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    38
    Remember you need to tape up the connector as it has perm live 12v on it and could stray on to the bodywork
     
  14. A3_Turbo

    A3_Turbo Swaying towards IHI....

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,464
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah I see! That explains everything then! I disconnected the BOSE and then my brakelights weren’t working at all, If it has a permanent live-wire on it maybe its just blown the fuse for my brake-lights!


    Cheers
     

Share This Page