1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bose Sound Quality

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by JohnboyC, Jun 13, 2007.

  1. JohnboyC
    Offline

    JohnboyC Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    Messages:
    797
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Jun 13, 2007]
    My 2003 2.5TDi Avant Quattro Sport has a Bose sound system fitted......driven by a Symphony Head Unit......

    The base level seems to have a mind of its own...some stuff sounding incredibly "basey" - turning the base level down on the Symphony head unit seems to have little effect.......sometimes when the volume is low you get a really bad sort of base effect which dominates the sound......

    Other times the Symphony Base setting seems to have a mind of its own.....randomly changing........I wonder if its covered by the Audi Warranty (10 months remaining)......

    Having had Harmon Kardon stuff in my previous BMW's I find the Bose sound system a bit disappointing......

    Anybody else think this or have this possible problem ?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 23, 2014]

  3. SimonP
    Offline

    SimonP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2003
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 15, 2007]
    Bose is rubbish, better than standard but eclipsed by after-market substitutes.

    Our A4 has gala which means it changes the volume as the speed/background noise changes, could this explain the changing levels you are hearing?
    #2
  4. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Jun 15, 2007]
    If you pull the Hu and cut the wire going to the Bose pin on the back then you'll get a much better variation in sound from the bass & treble. For Bose "upgraded" cars the HU is the same, all they do is ground the Bose pin on the back which flattens the EQ on the HU. To me this sounds terrible, woolly bass and very little treble. Worth a try as you can easily reconnect it if it isn't to your liking.
    #3
  5. Caesium
    Offline

    Caesium My BM is fixed!

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,879
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Jun 15, 2007]
    I must have cut this on mine inadvertantly then, which pin is it?
    #4
  6. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Jun 15, 2007]
    It's the pin on the power ISO (bottom connector) either marked Bose or GA (GALA).
    [​IMG]
    #5
  7. kemthongminh
    Offline

    kemthongminh New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 19, 2007]
    Hi anyone,

    I got an 2006 A4 Sedan and just bought a new Bose system for it. Did anyone here experience to retrofit bose system ever? If so, can you guys please advise me?

    Cheers,
    kemthongminh
    #6

Share This Page