1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

bose questions ...help please

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by 10blazin, May 10, 2009.

  1. 10blazin
    Offline

    10blazin HYPERDRIVE NEEDED

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    3
    [May 10, 2009]
    Hi guys i have a 2006 Audi a3 s line i need some help the Bose set up i have i'm actually quite happy with it although i want some more bass i have a spair amp and sub so i don't need to dish out more doe out...

    I just want to add power and sound to the amp is there any way i can do that from the boot ie the Bose sub woofer or do i have to put them through the car also how do i take the boot apart to get to the Bose sub and amp could i just bridge my amp to the Bose amp ????...... any PICS and a really thick guide would be great AND APPRECIATED .....:whistle2: :thumbsup:
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 22, 2014]

  3. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    31
    [May 10, 2009]
    Whatever you do you'll still need to run a proper fused power cable from the battery to the boot. All other connections can be picked up from the Bose amp, but you can't run an amp using the feeble 5amp cable the Bose unit uses, it'll just keep blowing fuses and eventually the wiring will catch fire.
    #2
  4. 10blazin
    Offline

    10blazin HYPERDRIVE NEEDED

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    3
    [May 11, 2009]
    whats the best and easyest way of running the cable through the car mate and do you know how i strip the boot
    #3
  5. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    31
    [May 11, 2009]
    #4
  6. 10blazin
    Offline

    10blazin HYPERDRIVE NEEDED

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    3
    [May 11, 2009]
    yeah ive had a look at that but doesnt really help il just drill it if i have to so just say i get my amp in the boot powered up how do i connect it to the bose amp for sound do it just connect to the wires going in if so which 2 colour wires are they in a clip that i need to seperate ..i appreciate your help by the way :icon_thumright:
    #5
  7. 10blazin
    Offline

    10blazin HYPERDRIVE NEEDED

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    3
    [May 11, 2009]
    could i just take the amp and sub out and replace it with my amp and sub ??? usint the bose clip goin the the amp splice it and just run that into my amp
    #6
  8. dunk
    Offline

    dunk Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    1
    [May 11, 2009]
    yes except for the power - the bose amp just doesnt have a big enough cable to supply anything decent - but you can remove the amp/sub and tap the speaker wires and line out at the bose amp connector easily
    #7
  9. 10blazin
    Offline

    10blazin HYPERDRIVE NEEDED

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    3
    [May 11, 2009]
    i want to avoid running cables through the car it pure pissing about its olny a 500 watt amp surely the bose power line cable will be fine wont it .....
    #8
  10. 10blazin
    Offline

    10blazin HYPERDRIVE NEEDED

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    3,301
    Likes Received:
    3
    [May 11, 2009]
    does anyonw know if i splice the bose cable apart which colours are for what ??? please
    #9
  11. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    31
    [May 11, 2009]
    No it won't - Bose amp is 100w into 2 ohms which is pretty efficient, 500w will draw something like 10amps at least, not a good idea on a cable rated for half that.
    #10

Share This Page