1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bose Pin ?

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by The911SC, Jul 21, 2008.

  1. The911SC
    Offline

    The911SC Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi All,
    Anyone know what the Bose pin does? . From what I can understand it assists in setting the right sound characteristics for the audio pilot and bose system but what happens if this is not connected?..

    Like an idiot, I managed to snap mine attempting to move it in the connector when fitting my RNS from concert upgrade..

    What is the net result if it is not connected?
    #1
  2. NHN
    Online

    NHN Modmetractor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,217
    Likes Received:
    29
    well Andymac would tell you you've done yourself a favour & I'm sure he'll be along any minute, lol, but its a ground wire that enables the Bose amp sound characturistics, so your choice if sounds better or not mate.
    #2
  3. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    7
    Yes it flattens the EQ of the HU, so you get very little bass or treble adjustment when using those controls. Without it you get more of a smiley face EQ and better response from the tone controls, which in a car is much needed.
    #3
  4. The911SC
    Offline

    The911SC Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    0
    Aha, that does explain a lot; like why the concert sounded so wheezy and the rns sounded SO much better with stacks more bass.
    Would not fixing it cause any issues do you think?. Does it affect the audio pilot thing? (i am not keen on that anyway)
    #4
  5. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    7
    No issues, in a non Bose setup the HU is identical with nothing connected to the Bose pin. The audio pilot gets it's feed from the speed sensor IIRC so nothing to do with the EQ on the HU.
    #5
  6. The911SC
    Offline

    The911SC Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    0
    I do have Bose though..

    Thanks Andy...
    #6

Share This Page