1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bose Amp

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by steve404, Feb 17, 2012.

  1. steve404
    Offline

    steve404 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 17, 2012]
    Guys/Gals,

    A quick intro having just ventured into Audi ownership after years of Vauxhalls.
    I am based in North Wales and have this week bought a 2004 S3 3 door 2.0 Tdi, 8P I believe? I bought the car for the umph it gives and the fuel economy, and so far am very impressed with both.
    My first problem which hopefully is not the start of things to come involves the apparent failure of the amp serving the Bose system in the car, I have read many threads and it appears that the Bose amp is not the strongest out there, however I am not after an all singing deep bass sound machine just the fitted Bose system which until today worked well.

    Problems so far are

    A) The volume button on the Concert Head unit does not work that well and appears reluctant to turn the volume up and down without me gripping the volume knob pulling it out slightly and then turning it up (WD40 worth a try?)
    B) More importantly the amp appears to have failed on me today, head works ok using radio and CD but outputs no volume. Reading through past threads points to a new/used amp for my car ans will look at Ebay, but is there any way of fixing the existing one? Yet to locate and examine the amp in my car but if I can fix it all the better? I do notice that when I remove/check the fuse for the amp the fuse holder under the bonnet sparks slightly, is that usual?

    Any tips more than welcome and it is great to know that such a wealth of Audi knowledge is out there to a newbie like me, thanks,

    Steve
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 21, 2014]

  3. audicruiser
    Offline

    audicruiser Audi Heaven

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    46
    [Feb 17, 2012]
    I think you've got an A3 rather than a S3 2.0TDi....

    The head unit volume problem is quite common and I think involves replacing the head unit.

    Not sure about the Bose amp though...
    #2
  4. steve404
    Offline

    steve404 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 17, 2012]
    Your right, typo error it is an S3, I can live with the volume button problem, but I do need to sort out the Bose amp problem, all I need to know is is the Amp repairable or is it a new/second hand one?
    #3
  5. audicruiser
    Offline

    audicruiser Audi Heaven

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    46
    [Feb 18, 2012]
    A3... Not S3!

    I don't think it's repairable unfortunately....
    #4
  6. steve404
    Offline

    steve404 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 18, 2012]
    Finally got at the amp and it appears that water has somehow got into the amp via the power lead into it, but cant work out how? Rear door hinge gaskets look ok, under the wheel arch looks free of holes. The wet area appears very localised to around the area of the rear seat belt mechanism and amp area and the water has followed the wires into the amp and caused it to rot, the pcb inside is shot and I am on the lookout for a 8P3 035 223 amp, otherwise I have no sounds, nothing on Ebay at the moment. Any out there, in your garage? Also any ideas as to usual places for water to get in, I'm new to Audi?
    Any help gratefully taken.

    Steve.
    #5
  7. audicruiser
    Offline

    audicruiser Audi Heaven

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    46
    [Feb 19, 2012]
    I bet that's been caused by a leaking rear washer at some point... Common issue on VW and Audi hatchbacks.
    #6
  8. mike foster
    Offline

    mike foster Fossie VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    79
    [Feb 19, 2012]
    Latest version is suffix 'A' and is £456 inc. VAT from Audi !

    Rear washer pipe joint pops apart when the washer fluid freezes - bet your rear washer doesn't work.

    VW/Audi are renowned for it so make sure the washer fluid mixture is at least 50/50 water/washer fluid and don't use the rear washer again until it's fixed.
    #7
  9. steve404
    Offline

    steve404 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 19, 2012]
    Cheers Mike,

    Surprisingly the rear washer works, it looks like the 'drip' has been dripping for some time, I have only just got the car and the damage to the amp and connector has obviously been going on for some time and finally caused the damage to the amp. The area around the amp was localised damp and the water was soapy so definitely from the washer and not a leak as such. How hard is the piping to secure so it wont leak?
    It took me a while to remove the rear offside panels to get to the amp, how do I remove the small panel in the roof above the amp/seat belt mechanism to see where this pipe is leaking? Does anybody know the route taken by the washer pipe feed from front to back? Sorry for all the questions, brand new to Audi after years of Vauxhall ownership, so a lot to learn, and thanks to your knowledge and experience, hopefully I can sort out this small problem on an otherwise great car.
    As to the amp £456 is beyond what I wish to pay so will watch Ebay for the next few weeks/months.
    How interchangeable are the amps as the differing Bose amps available on Ebay all look very similar and are only separated by one letter or number.
    So I am looking for a 8P3 035 223 or A suffix, is that correct?

    Steve.
    #8
  10. mike foster
    Offline

    mike foster Fossie VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    79
    [Feb 19, 2012]
    Yes, those are the numbers you should look for. My car is a sportback so not sure of your pipe run but in mine there is a pipe joint immediately above the convenience module (amp in your case) and I had to fiddle around with removing part of the back seat to give me access to screws that hold the horizontal panel that supports the rear shelf.

    Sorry but I can't remember exactly how I got at the pipe joint but when I did, I cut off the connectors and used larger diameter pipe forced over the existing and then tie wraps to fasten it.

    Other thing to bear in mind is the slightest amount of dirt that gets into the washer bottle will find it's way to the jets eventually. My 2006MY car did not have a filter in the top of the bottle but later cars do have. This part is available from Audi for next to nothing, certainly less than a fiver, and fits mine perfectly so, touch wood, I've had no further problems.
    #9
  11. steve404
    Offline

    steve404 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 20, 2012]
    Mike,

    Roof panel off today after bravely forcing the clips from the panel and traced the washer pipe immediately and as you said it had become disconnected, cleaned up and forced it back in finished with a tie wrap, happy days on that front, cant believe the designer had the great idea of placing a plastic joint carrying water immediately above an amp costing several hundred pounds, a recipe for disaster!

    Anyhow, now to find a Bose amp (8P3 035 223) to replace my waterlogged fire damaged amp.

    Still waiting to see if any of you guys know if any other of the Audi/Bose amps are interchangeable between the one in my A3 Sport 3 door and any of the several others on Ebay, they look the same but wont commit until I know its a definite fit. Is there any way of seeing compatibility on the ETKA list, (must get a copy).

    Steve (still learning)
    #10
  12. mike foster
    Offline

    mike foster Fossie VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    79
    [Feb 20, 2012]
    ETKA gives versions A and B to be relevant for 3 door vehicles from 2004 to 2011.

    Version D was introduced for the sportback in 2008.

    I cannot see any other versions that are used on the A3 and having checked the sketches on ETKA the A4, A6 and TT Bose amplifiers look completely different shapes.
    #11
  13. steve404
    Offline

    steve404 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 20, 2012]
    Mike, taking liberties here but are you able to check ETKA again and see if[h=1]8E5 035 223C is compatible with my car, for me, this one is on ebay, looks very similar and seller states it fits A3/A4 and A6, thanks again,[/h]
    Steve
    #12
  14. mike foster
    Offline

    mike foster Fossie VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    79
    [Feb 21, 2012]
    Can't find that part number at all in ETKA- post a link to the ebay ad. which might give a bit more info.

    Edit: just found it. It's off a 2008 A4. Sorry, haven't a clue whether it will fit or not but if you think it looks the same then technically it won't be much different.

    Sorry can't advise.
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2012
    #13
  15. steve404
    Offline

    steve404 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 21, 2012]
    Mike,

    Cheers for all your help, rang Audi to confirm any flexibility in which amp will fit my car but the only one that is compatible is the 8P3 035 223 or the 8p3 035 223A so searching the country and breakers yards and Ebay for one, but seems to be a bit of a shortage in the country at the moment, unless anyone on here who has modded their ICE has one lying in their garage waiting for a new owner??


    Steve
    #14
  16. mike foster
    Offline

    mike foster Fossie VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,967
    Likes Received:
    79
    [Feb 21, 2012]
    That will be because they looked in ETKA and it doesn't say it's ok to use any other ! I reckon they will not know any better than I do so you could always buy the one you have your eye on and if it doesn't work then re-sell it !
    #15
  17. jagojon
    Offline

    jagojon Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Feb 22, 2012]
    wasnt there someone on here the other week asking how to remove a bose amp and loom as they were selling it and breaking the car, cant find the thread though......sorry

    all the best

    jon
    #16
  18. steve404
    Offline

    steve404 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 22, 2012]
    Jon,

    Thanks,
    Managed to source one through a breakers and hopefully it should be here tomorrow.

    Steve
    #17
  19. cinelliman
    Offline

    cinelliman New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 17, 2014]
    I know this is very late in this thread but I just came across it and I have a similar problem.
    My Symphony radio looks like it is working, channel indicator changes, current song is displayed etc. but NO sound.
    I have found that by removing fuse, number 18 under the hood, to the amp the radio will output sound.
    It only works until i have to restart the engine.
    I don't know the root cause but maybe somebody else understands the wiring better than i.

    Thanks
    John
    #18

Share This Page