1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

BOSE Amp

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by Naresh, Feb 10, 2005.

  1. Naresh
    Offline

    Naresh Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Feb 10, 2005]
    Hi does anyone know where the BOSE amp is in the TT Coupe (2003 model)?

    I want to disconnect it and connect the speaker wires going into it to my own aftermarket amps instead. I thought this would be easier than running new speaker cables to each speaker, which would be difficult up front where I would need to get the wires from inside the cabin and into the doors! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif I'm also installing an aftermarket HU.

    Is there an easier alternative?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 25, 2014]

  3. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Feb 10, 2005]
    Here it is:
    TT coupe Bose layout

    Don't believe there's an easier way but running new cable shouldn't be too much hassle, maybe a job for later.
    #2
  4. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Feb 10, 2005]
    the Bose speakers are 2 ohm impedance so your amp needs to be ok with that, most good amps are 2 ohm stable in multichannel mode.
    You can use the speaker wiring no problem, though some so called audiophiles frown upon such shortcuts.
    I don't know if there's much benefit installing a better amp without upgrading the speakers, those Bose sytems are a bit strange.
    #3
  5. Naresh
    Offline

    Naresh Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Feb 11, 2005]
    Andy - I'm not sure if my amp is 2ohm stable but will need to check that first before buying new speakers.

    Apparently there is also a small 5cm centre speaker on the dash which I'm guessing is also 2 ohm. Are these available to buy in 4 ohm version do you know?

    Thanks. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/laugh.gif
    #4
  6. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Feb 11, 2005]
    Most people just disconnect the centre speaker, otherwise how would you drive it from a 4 ch amp? Unless you're going Dolby ProLogic?
    #5
  7. Naresh
    Offline

    Naresh Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Feb 11, 2005]
    I was just thinking of driving it from one the outputs on my Kenwood HU as the internal amp isn't going to be used and it has a 4x45W output! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif
    #6
  8. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Feb 11, 2005]
    I'd imagine that would destroy the stereo image at the front of the car as you'd have to drive it from either left or right output.
    #7

Share This Page