1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bose amp upgrade - straight swap??!

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by mordz, May 26, 2007.

  1. mordz
    Offline

    mordz Audi S3 (2000)

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 26, 2007]
    Is there an amp availible where i can just do a straight swap? obviously connectors are different but i dont want to change the speakers... yet anyway.

    i also have an odd set up (car computer - infill g4) which has a built in amp so i would need an amplifier with a high input - since using the 408 adaptor makes everything hiss/computer zx spekky noise like chuff.

    i have hooked up some speakers on there own to the PC's speaker outputs and i dont get any noice so i know its a combo of the bose amp / 408 adaptor
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 16, 2014]

  3. Caesium
    Offline

    Caesium My BM is fixed!

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,879
    Likes Received:
    4
    [May 26, 2007]
    Get a High level to RCA convertor and then cut your head unit's level down to a more acceptable level for the BOSE amp.
    #2
  4. mordz
    Offline

    mordz Audi S3 (2000)

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2007
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 26, 2007]
    the 408 adaptor is a high level to pre amp convertor for the bose amp. i still get the noise if thats inline or it aint. the volume is just lower if i put it in line as you would expect.

    having said that i have just hooked up some 4 ohm kenwoods direct to the HU to test and although the dont work (chuff knows why as the hu has 20w per chanell out) i can still here the hiss etc - i just get no sound.

    is it because its not grounded properly.. i have read some people saying a ground loop isolator helps. but i cant see that getting rid of the bleadover stuff from the computer
    #3

Share This Page