1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Boot problem, solenoid replaced!

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by EPboi, Apr 7, 2012.

  1. EPboi
    Offline

    EPboi New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey all,

    our a4`s boot kept randomly playing up when we got it (key fob was fully working), when the solenoid was replaced the middle button of the remote no longer opened the boot when pressed (no biggy we just used the main unlock button)

    Now..the boot refuses to open even when using the main unlock button....a brand new solenoid was purchased and replaced with no improvements so it was sent back...all the fuses are fine....now what? not sure what to do now

    anyone shine any light?

    scanned with vagcom freeware with no codes....[​IMG]

    B6 03 plate TDI
    #1
  2. stu_m
    Offline

    stu_m Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    36
    Wiring between the boot and the main body

    Open the boot and check to see if it registers on the DIS
    #2
  3. 666markyboy
    Offline

    666markyboy Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    32
    Is this a similar problem to the door wiring ??? where the wires can break at the hinges only my lad is having problems getting into the boot of his A4 saloon ???
    #3
  4. EPboi
    Offline

    EPboi New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    when the boots open it registers on the display, i had a quick look with the grommet open and didnt see any breaks....will have a better look again

    EDIT: No breaks in the wires, the middle button on the remote now does pop open the boot but the boot cant be opened when the cars unlocked via the switch pad...the switch pad has been cleaned with switch/contact cleaner....
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2012
    #4
  5. stu_m
    Offline

    stu_m Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,442
    Likes Received:
    36
    Yes

    The wires on mine broke and it wouldn't register on the dash when it was open but depending on what wires are gone could depend on the symptoms although its not as common as the door wiring
    #5

Share This Page