1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Boot opens when i start the car, any ideas?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by A3 steve, Dec 22, 2010.

  1. A3 steve

    A3 steve Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    1
    Bit of an odd one this, started this evening in my S3 when i left work.

    Unlock the car and get in, ignition on all normal but when i start the car the boot opens.

    Got out and closed the boot and restarted the car and it did it again. Tried it several times now I'm home and it keeps doing it.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. jay1601

    jay1601 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,276
    Likes Received:
    35
    start the car, leave it running, close the boot, drive off ?

    got a boot popper fitted ?
     
  4. AudiS3-Turbo

    AudiS3-Turbo Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    20
    is it facelift? more likely the rear micro switch is jammed on...
     
  5. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,665
    Likes Received:
    474
    Sure you didnt press the boot pop button on the key when turning it?
     
  6. A3 steve

    A3 steve Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    1
    Face lift S3, standard boot operation nothing extra fitted.

    Didn't press the button while starting the car. None of the buttons work when the key is in the ignition you have to remove the key.

    The boot opened when i was driving along today as well, before i could stop i went over a speed bump which slammed the boot closed so saved me the trouble of stopping :sm4:

    Wheres the rear micro switch located? easy to change/check?
     
    #5 A3 steve, Dec 23, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2010
  7. AudiS3-Turbo

    AudiS3-Turbo Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    20
    its incorporated into the rear handle i think,corrosion keeping the handle pushed up working the micro switch,does your handle feel like it has movement or just slight? some wd40 could solve this...
     
  8. A3 steve

    A3 steve Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    1
  9. A3 steve

    A3 steve Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    1
    Took the boot cover off today and found one the softswitches with a badly corroded connector. Cut it off and taped over the ends to stop the boot mechanism being activated for the time being:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    A quick look on ETKA shows the part numbers as:

    8D0 827 565 D - Left switch
    8D0 827 566 D - Right switch
    8D0 827 539 A - Foam gasket
    8D0 972 623 AA - 2 pin connector plug
    000 979 018 A - wire with pin crimped on.

    Will get the parts ordered and hopefully the problem will be fixed.
     
  10. Lloyd149

    Lloyd149 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mines doing the exact same thing, I took the latch off the car and degreased it hoping this maybe the cause but no such look. Will give this ago when i've got time, has yours stopped opening now you've chopped the switch off?
     
  11. DaveA3

    DaveA3 Audi A-Trizzle!

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,375
    Likes Received:
    15
    lol that must be funny as hell to see. my mates would rip me for months!

    hope ya get it fixed though mate must be annoying
     
  12. A3 steve

    A3 steve Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    1
    Not done it since i cut the wires, left switch was fine and the connector to it looked like it had been replaced before. Boot opens normally via the remote or the left switch.
     
  13. Jacko4130

    Jacko4130 Goodie Gum Drops

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    1
    Has happened twice to mine, think the switchs were £16 +vat each if i remember correctly
     
  14. dellboy

    dellboy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    my S3 has just developed the same problem after being sat in the garage for 10 days over the xmas/new year period. When i arrived at work this morning the motor was going nuts without me doing anything! Gonna try some WD on the switch first!
     
  15. dellboy

    dellboy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok, so ive just been out in the garage and the had the tailgate trim off, it is indeed the left hand soft swich thats faulty, ive disconnected that side and everything now functions as it should apart from that switch obviously, will replace it when i get a chance. Seems to be a common fault this one!
     
  16. A3 steve

    A3 steve Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    1
    Finally got round to ordering the parts and doing this.

    Prices are RRP prices without VAT:

    8D0 827 565 D - Left switch didn't need but assume same £ as right.
    8D0 827 566 D - Right switch £18.78
    8D0 827 539 A - Foam gasket (8mm) £2.64
    S8D0 972 623 AA - 2 pin connector housing £3.65
    S000 979 018 EA - wire with 2 connectors crimped on £3.49

    you only need to order one wire as it has a connector at each end so cut the wire in the middle and solder to the original car wires. The part number above has gold plated connectors, If you drop the A from the end it doesn't.

    Job took about 1/2Hr from start to finish.
     
    #15 A3 steve, Jul 3, 2011
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2011
    s3mad_dude likes this.
  17. Eddie S3

    Eddie S3 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    8
    On the off chances that A3 Steve will see this or anyone else knows.

    My S3 is doing the same thing but I can't for the life of me figure out how to get the boot trim off?
    I've removed the 2 only visible screws from a handle bit on the inside.
    Is it the similar clips that hold the drivers side dash on and just a case of pulling?
     
  18. Wallm0nkey

    Wallm0nkey Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2013
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    18
    Boot trim is just a case of pulling pretty hard various metal clips on it. I thought something was going to break when I took mine off first time you have to I've it a fair old pull!
     
  19. dellboy

    dellboy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0

    Yes, if I remember rightly give it a yank in various strategic places and it should unclip. Just be careful not to break the plastic. Hope that helps
     
  20. Eddie S3

    Eddie S3 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    8
    Cheers! Ill go out and give it all a yank ;)
     
  21. s3mad_dude

    s3mad_dude Noggies ruuuule!

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    52
    Yank from the lower right corner. It's quite painful but slide your fingers between the plastic bit and the metal of the boot. Then, pull hard!
     
  22. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. A3 steve

    A3 steve Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    1
    As above, give it a good pull and watch out that you don't lose the 2 surrounds for the 'bumpers' on the lower edge.
     
  24. s3mad_dude

    s3mad_dude Noggies ruuuule!

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    52
    And get ready to start looking for those metal clips which are bound to have gone everywhere!
     
  25. Eddie S3

    Eddie S3 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    8
    Yep lost one :( Caught one on the ground but lost the other haha oh dear
     
  26. Eddie S3

    Eddie S3 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    8
    Next question

    What is the correct way or separating these two without breaking?

    photo-1.jpg
     
  27. s3mad_dude

    s3mad_dude Noggies ruuuule!

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    52
    I just did this job today (thanks A3 Steve for the part numbers!) but I'm not sure exactly what you're asking Eddie-S3. If its how to get the connector out of the switch without destroying it I don't know! My connector was so badly corroded and I ordered a new switch too. There is a locking blob of plastic that pokes from the connector through to the switch housing. There is no clip to release so I used some grip pliers to pull the connector out of the switch.
     
  28. Eddie S3

    Eddie S3 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    8
    Finally got around to finishing this off.
    Thought I'd update the part numbers and prices

    8D0827565D Button £22.87
    8D0827566D Button £22.85
    8D0827359A Gasket £2.92 x 2
    S8D0972623AA Housing £4.82 x 2
    S000979018EA Wires £3.38 x 2

    Not sure if that was trade prices or not, receipt says there is a 4% discount applied + vat
     

Share This Page