1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Boost

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by woking rob, Feb 27, 2012.

  1. woking rob
    Offline

    woking rob Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    What sort of boost prussre do standard cars run? Stage 1 mapped? Stage 2 mapped?
    Thank u rob
    #1
  2. beachbuggy
    Offline

    beachbuggy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,755
    Likes Received:
    5
    Stage 2 won't necessarily run more boost maybe just more timing. Stock boost is around 14psi +- and a stage map 16-20psi +- . Spikes might be more . Different tuners will set different loads and timings
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2012
    #2
  3. Prawn
    Online

    Prawn My other car is a MINI!!!!

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    9,439
    Likes Received:
    10
    I'm fairly sure it's more than that Dan, a 150bhp A3 runs 6-7psi, a 180bhp quattro runs 10-11psi, I thought a stock S3 ran more like 14psi, with stage 1 maps usually running 18-20psi, and stage 2 maps typically running 20-22psi with a load more timing
    #3
  4. S3featesV9
    Offline

    S3featesV9 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,033
    Likes Received:
    3
    Mine spikes at 26!! Really need the map changed.
    #4
  5. superkarl
    Online

    superkarl MAN OF STEEL

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7,553
    Likes Received:
    19
    Mines stock, runs 0.8-0.9 bar. About 12psi
    #5
  6. beachbuggy
    Offline

    beachbuggy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,755
    Likes Received:
    5
    Nick you are right, I have corrected my statement re stock boost. I'm going to plead a little bit of stupidity and some baby brain and say I had actuator pressure in mind when I said 10psi.


    Boost v timing.....
    Last edited: Feb 27, 2012
    #6
  7. woking rob
    Offline

    woking rob Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well i had a little look at mine and it showed 1.7 bar and the gauge had a little leak in it (only temp done it through window)
    #7
  8. beachbuggy
    Offline

    beachbuggy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,755
    Likes Received:
    5
    Well rob that's 24 psi . I guess that's a spike of 24psi. Your Chinese copy turbo ain't going to last that long if you keep giving it 24 psi! Just as well you have a new one to fit!
    #8
  9. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,727
    Likes Received:
    20
    1.7bar is too much... is yours mapped?


    <tuffty/>
    #9
  10. beachbuggy
    Offline

    beachbuggy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,755
    Likes Received:
    5

    Yes his car is mapped. It has my old Stage 2 revo ecu in it. It only ran about 20 psi in my car, but poor Rob has had a whole load of issues with his car that are slowly being sorted. There are still boost leaks, Most of the Vaccumm pipes where rotten, He was told it had a hybrid turbo when he bought it but it's a chinese copy.. And sure the Leak in the gauge wasn't helping!

    Like I say Rob driving it like its an F1 car with that dodgy turbo in it will only spell disaster....
    #10
  11. woking rob
    Offline

    woking rob Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's fast tho, can spin up all 4s and am all over evos, but got a nice little turbo going on soon ain't I dan :) would it b worth just doing the rods? Or get stroker kit? Iv got a hybrid going on?
    #11
  12. beachbuggy
    Offline

    beachbuggy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,755
    Likes Received:
    5
    Do the rods.... Please... Bearing in mind you don't know what the engine is like, you'll going to need to remove the sump and head anyway it's the ideal time to get the rods done.

    Strokers good just more ££££
    #12
  13. woking rob
    Offline

    woking rob Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yh it will b rods minimum or do I go all out and get the crank rods and pistons? Is the extra cc woth it on a hybrid?
    #13

Share This Page