1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Boost problems A3 TQS GT2871

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by STEALTHQUATTRO, Sep 1, 2012.

  1. STEALTHQUATTRO
    Offline

    STEALTHQUATTRO Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 1, 2012]
    now then guys an a newy here, after years of just reading for support av finally had enough and joined up!!
    i relate my car to be doing the same as yours it driving me nuts!
    on the data logging the actual boost at its peak is over 1000 less than the specifyed and i think this is why the management cuts the throttle back, i only hit 27.5psi for a second it never holds!
    it's a new maf, new actuator, new pcv valve, new bov, turbo don't even whistle! Onl
    y done 30k most lady driving lol, I have checked all pipework and pressured it no leaks, ha
    s no n249 or n112, had full service!, no fault codes just noticed on logs the actual boost is well off at most 1000 to specified boost! Lol driving me nuts! ANY help will be great
    thanks
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 17, 2014]

  3. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,898
    Likes Received:
    1,330
    [Sep 1, 2012]
    27psi is why too high... can you post logs?

    <tuffty/>
    #2
  4. STEALTHQUATTRO
    Offline

    STEALTHQUATTRO Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 2, 2012]
    i forgot to mention its had gt2871r full conversion except head.
    av got the logs on excel and ant got a clue how to put them on the site it wont copy and paste coz there's too many logs lol,
    am not sure how you get it on the forum as an image you got an email al throw it to you that way.
    thanks for checking it out,
    stealth
    #3
  5. badger5
    Offline

    badger5 www.badger5.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7,326
    Likes Received:
    694
    [Sep 2, 2012]
    nothing like giving partial info is there................

    forget the settings comment
    #4
  6. badger5
    Offline

    badger5 www.badger5.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7,326
    Likes Received:
    694
    [Sep 2, 2012]
    for starters, how about posting the spec
    #5
  7. STEALTHQUATTRO
    Offline

    STEALTHQUATTRO Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 2, 2012]
    yea you got a point. spec is:
    1.8t quattro ary, stock head 90k on stock, 30k on conversion
    je pistons
    scat rods
    sach kevlar clutch
    jabba sport exhaust manifold t25 gt2871r
    3' exhaust catback from pipeworx
    200 cell cat
    genasis 550 injectors
    proalloy intercooler
    bosch 044 fuel pump
    s3 maf
    jabbasport remap

    items changed since problem:
    it's a new maf, new actuator, new pcv valve, new bov,new n75
    I have checked all pipework and pressured it no leaks, n249 and n112 just connected not piped up.
    and no fault codes!
    have got vag.com recently but its all in excel format!! not sure how to convert it to graphs.
    ANY help will be great!
    big thank you
    aaron
    #6
  8. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,898
    Likes Received:
    1,330
    [Sep 2, 2012]
    Do screen shots of the data in excel... a bit like this...
    [​IMG]

    By BOV... it it an atmos valve or recirculating? if its an atmos valve then thats not gonna help really...

    <tuffty/>
    #7
  9. STEALTHQUATTRO
    Offline

    STEALTHQUATTRO Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 2, 2012]
    hi how do you do a screen shot? it recerculating my friend
    #8
  10. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,898
    Likes Received:
    1,330
    [Sep 2, 2012]
    If using windows 7 you can use the snipping tool (win7 pro, home premium and ultimate) or with excel maximised you hit the print screen button (normally abbreviated PrtScn on most keyboards...), open Paint and use ctrl V or 'Paste' and the image will appear in paint... save as a jpg and upload..

    <tuffty/>
    #9
  11. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,898
    Likes Received:
    1,330
    [Sep 2, 2012]
    Yeah... the attachment function doesn't work that well huh... lol

    Can you upload the image to photobucket and link from there?

    <tuffty/>
    #10
  12. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,898
    Likes Received:
    1,330
    [Sep 2, 2012]
    The upload facility is not the best... I have just tried to do it myself and struggling with it...

    Anyhoo... go to Image hosting, free photo sharing & video sharing at Photobucket and create a free account... upload the image to there and copy the img url (not the one in the browser, photobucket will give you an option for a direct link)... when you add an image instead of upload use the from a url option and paste the url in...

    <tuffty/>
    #11
  13. STEALTHQUATTRO
    Offline

    STEALTHQUATTRO Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 2, 2012]
    we it had worked so all good thanks alot mate
    #12
  14. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,898
    Likes Received:
    1,330
    [Sep 2, 2012]
    well... sorta....

    What you need to do initially is log blocks 003, 020 and 115... do the run in third gear from 2000rpm to redline or as close to redline as you can legally/safely go and post that... what you have currently is a bit messy and logging blocks that aren't really that useful in context...

    <tuffty/>
    #13
  15. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,898
    Likes Received:
    1,330
    [Sep 2, 2012]
    ..and I created a new thread for you as you were kinda hijacking the other guys one ;P

    <tuffty/>
    #14
  16. STEALTHQUATTRO
    Offline

    STEALTHQUATTRO Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 2, 2012]
    yea i thought i was lol,al get them logs done asap and get em up, thanks dude
    #15
  17. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,898
    Likes Received:
    1,330
    [Sep 2, 2012]
    As I said mate... non of that is gonna help really as they are blocks irrelevant in context to your problem...

    Log what I mentioned above initially...

    Best way to display the relevant data in excel is to click on the first row of actual data (the one just below the labels so for example in your picture it would be row 8), go to the 'View' in the ribbon and select freeze panes to lock the top part of the spreadsheet then scroll the lower part to the start of the run.... screen shot that and post..

    <tuffty/>
    #16
  18. STEALTHQUATTRO
    Offline

    STEALTHQUATTRO Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 2, 2012]
    #17
  19. STEALTHQUATTRO
    Offline

    STEALTHQUATTRO Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    1
  20. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,898
    Likes Received:
    1,330
    [Sep 3, 2012]
    Is this issue a recent one or has it been like this for some time? has this happened since some work has been done on the car?

    Looking at the logs its asking for boost quite early on but the turbo clearly isn't getting any where near.... not sure where you get 27psi from though as its not evident from that log...

    It doesn't look mapped for 27psi if that the boost you are expecting...

    Difficult to say at this point... I'll point Bill in the direction of the thread and ask him to add his comments...

    <tuffty/>
    #19
  21. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,569
    Likes Received:
    313
    [Sep 3, 2012]
    things go a bit werid at ~5300rpm...

    Spec boost stays at 1.27bar, but actual boost drops to more or less nothing.

    It doesnt appear to be throttle cut either, as the throttle seems to stay at 100%, nor a boost leak, as the airflow figures are very low.
    #20
  22. STEALTHQUATTRO
    Offline

    STEALTHQUATTRO Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 3, 2012]
    Hi guys it's being like this for few year, av only had this car running at 360bhp for 4 weeks then probs like exhaust manifold leaks and all sorts but av since sorted all of that!
    I know jabba did the map and on last run it blew oil feed to turbo so he had to shut it down but he did say it was on last run so it'l be fine, if that has owt to do with it?
    Also I put the egt on myself as this model dint have it,weather that makes any difference.
    And finally i must of not set the blitz boost controller right if you think the reading Is wrong!
    Cheers guys appreciated ;-)
    #21
  23. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,898
    Likes Received:
    1,330
    [Sep 3, 2012]
    Ok... see this is the problem... you haven't mentioned the EBC... its difficult to know where to start diagnosing a problem on an engine this modified without knowing the spec or all the history mate...

    All I can really suggest is either book it back in with whoever did the conversion for some diagnostics or take it to someone who knows these cars (especially at this level of modification) like Bill @ Badger 5

    If you are not sure what you are looking at and we don't know the full spec etc then its going to next to impossible to diagnose...

    <tuffty/>
    #22
  24. Prawn
    Offline

    Prawn My other car is a MINI!!!!

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    9,543
    Likes Received:
    1,328
    [Sep 3, 2012]
    from those logs, it must feel slow as hell? very little boost, almost no airflow, dead at the top end, just looks fecked :)
    #23
  25. STEALTHQUATTRO
    Offline

    STEALTHQUATTRO Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 3, 2012]
    Mind you when it got mapped by jabba they mapped the egt in when it want fitted then I fitted it a good few weeks later , so it was running rich for them weeks, am just throwing everything I know to help.
    #24
  26. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,898
    Likes Received:
    1,330
    [Sep 3, 2012]
    Sounds like a right mess tbh bud... have you had a wideband ECU conversion too? only 20v's that came with the probes as std are AMK/BAM models and they are facelift S3's, LCR's and later TT's... yo can add the probe to an ME7.5 ECU then map using an LCR or S3 file to use the probe...

    Looking at your EGT's from the previously posted logs they don't look high so guessing the probe is in the downpipe somewhere?

    I think you just need to get it booked in somewhere like Bill's to get it looked over at least mate as it sounds like a nightmare

    <tuffty/>
    #25
  27. STEALTHQUATTRO
    Offline

    STEALTHQUATTRO Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 3, 2012]
    It's is facelift, 180bhp version k03s it's one of the first ones out, date dec 2000.
    Egt is on downpipe next to turbo, the egt is on it's way out av got an intermittent fault that I clear now and again, this will be why temps maybe bit odd! Car still cuts boost even when no dtc are up!
    The ecu it STD no change just mapped egt in.
    Av fell out with the original guy who did the conversion but indent all myself now! I can strip turbo off and on again in a day, the amount of times av had it off lol
    #26
  28. beachbuggy
    Offline

    beachbuggy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,756
    Likes Received:
    139
    [Sep 3, 2012]
    Well I'm confused!

    :tocktock:

    even with the EBC being set wrong , which I guess is why the boost is dropping to nothing at 5400rpm the load is really low , 145 @ 5100rpm....

    and when you say

    "The ecu it STD no change just mapped egt in"

    do you literally mean its a 180bhp stock ECu that has just had the EGT mapped in and it's now running on a GT28? I assume it's been mapped for the GT28 etc???

    Like I say I'm confused.....
    #27
  29. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,898
    Likes Received:
    1,330
    [Sep 3, 2012]
    Bottom line mate I would have a chat with Bill @ Badger 5 and see about getting it booked in for dyno diagnostics...
    http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/badger-5/139455-how-order-contact-badger5.html

    Given the spec of your car etc Bill is prob the best man to see about getting it sorted... diagnosing cars with minor mods or the normal stage 1/2 stuff can be tricky enough but at your level of modification its one that needs to be seen by someone who knows this engine inside out... I know I am a little biased but he has loads of experience of these engines at this level of modification..

    There are still too many unknowns to realistically help... each one of these type of builds is unique in some way or other mate...

    <tuffty/>
    #28
  30. STEALTHQUATTRO
    Offline

    STEALTHQUATTRO Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 3, 2012]
    Yea no probs al chat to bill, jabba sport have remaped the stock ecu to suite the gt2871r and also mapped the egt in too, I just fitted the egt few weeks later, if there's any other logs you like to see then al be happy to!
    Does bill live far from north Lincolnshire, this is why am struggling to get to jabba in peterbough!
    Al have to do way ever as av got third synchro going and want it running right before winter!
    Plus av got large port head to go on. Thanks
    #29
  31. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,898
    Likes Received:
    1,330
    [Sep 3, 2012]
    Yeah... thats gonna be a trek but Bill has had customers from further a field...

    <tuffty/>
    #30
  32. STEALTHQUATTRO
    Offline

    STEALTHQUATTRO Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 3, 2012]
    here's a few pic of her anyways:
    DSCF2414.jpg

    DSCF2422.jpg
    DSCF2419.jpg
    DSCF2420.jpg
    DSCF2416.jpg
    #31
  33. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,898
    Likes Received:
    1,330
    [Sep 3, 2012]
    Nice work :)

    <tuffty/>
    #32
  34. STEALTHQUATTRO
    Offline

    STEALTHQUATTRO Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 3, 2012]
    just a few things to throw out that i thought it could be but am not sure on the reaction from if the items faulty

    item: reason:
    fuel pump - swerl pot is removed for the pump,it drags air up if i run too low on fuel! could of damaged it!
    fuel regulator - map sensor
    n112+n249delete - followed the guide but may of connected something up wrong? or a one way valve might be nacket
    vvt - the head on 2 ocations sounded like it had no oil in it and i reved it and it went away,oil pump only done 30k

    like i said am only threwing some suggestions out, thanks aaron


    photo (1).jpg photo (2).jpg
    #33
  35. STEALTHQUATTRO
    Offline

    STEALTHQUATTRO Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 3, 2012]
    Hi bill i have tried to message you but i dont think its going threw coz am a newy!
    is there anychance you can please have a look at this thred to see if you can shed some light on this elusive boost issue?
    am not a freebie man, i will pay you for your time just say how much lol, it's save me trecking to yours as its 3.5 drive.
    but if it carnt be sorted then al bring it down.
    if there is any logs you would like to see please let me know and i will get them sent as av got full vag.com
    thank you :yes:
    #34
  36. STEALTHQUATTRO
    Offline

    STEALTHQUATTRO Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 4, 2012]
    Sometimes I wish I never bothered but av spent that much on it I have to be! Lol :blackrs4:
    #35
  37. badger5
    Offline

    badger5 www.badger5.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7,326
    Likes Received:
    694
    [Sep 4, 2012]
    there's so much not std in there, ignoring the obvious split pipe on the rocker breather.. forum diagnosis for me is impossible I'm afraid.
    you have an ebc controlling boost a map which is asking for significantly less boost than you are saying the ebc did, so there's a mismatch there for starters... map may be the cause as could the pipes, etc etc etc
    #36
  38. STEALTHQUATTRO
    Offline

    STEALTHQUATTRO Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 4, 2012]
    Yea I understand, is it possible it was not mapped correctly? It did work fine at first but after 4 weeks this started, do these ecu's adapt themselves to a fault? But perminantly change the way it's reacted?
    Am in 2 minds to get jabba to sort it if it's there fault but on the other hand if they mapped it wrong ad profer you to correct it and al take it up with them after, at least they carnt mislead me, in which I really dont think they would as they are a good company!
    #37
  39. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,898
    Likes Received:
    1,330
    [Sep 4, 2012]
    Did they map it with the EBC fitted or is that something you have done afterwards?

    <tuffty/>
    #38
  40. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,569
    Likes Received:
    313
    [Sep 4, 2012]
    What puzzles me, is that it drops to ~0.2bar after it goes all weird....

    Surely a GT2871R is going to have a stronger actuator than 0.2bar?

    The engine management shouldnt be able to end up with less than actuator pressure at full throttle, maybe unless it opens the N249?

    But why would it open the N249 but leave the throttle fully open?


    As everyone else has said, this isnt something you can diagnose over the internet. If you dont want to travel to Bills, RTech is closer, perhaps try them?

    I've seen some dubious work from Jabba before on this forum, i'd certainly be wary of taking my car to them.
    #39
  41. STEALTHQUATTRO
    Offline

    STEALTHQUATTRO Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Sep 4, 2012]
    Hi guys it's a new actuator 21 psi actuator it's the last thing I changed, and the bob is also 21 psi spring, the n249 and n112 is just plugged in there's no pipework to it, av ripped all that out,
    The blitz boost controller was not mapped into it as mike from jabba said it would not work because the map is made for one map if you alter the boost setting it affects the rev range and it'l throw a wobbler!
    Shame cox I wanted 3 settings for misses setting, medium boost and high!
    The boost contoller is just for monitoring perpeses, its on n75
    Cheers ;-)
    #40

Share This Page