1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

boost pressure

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Duktor, Nov 1, 2010.

  1. Duktor
    Offline

    Duktor Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 1, 2010]
    after a service my s3 has only one problem on the diagnostics= boost reads 990 mbr instead of an expected 950 mbr , what does this mean ??

    secondly i fitted new stat n coolant cpl of wks ago all was fine untill i fitted the new plugs and gapped them to 7mm , ( old plugs were same brand gap was 9-10mm)

    today i noticed the temp gauge climb too 100 deg where as before it only went too 95 deg before the fan cut in ..
    advice greatly appreciated guys ???
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 17, 2014]

  3. bengal
    Offline

    bengal Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    537
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 1, 2010]
    Did you bleed the cooling system could be an air blockage. Not sure about the boost though.
    #2
  4. Welly
    Offline

    Welly VX220 SC Driver :)

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    117
    [Nov 1, 2010]
    Any fault codes to do with over boost?

    We're only talking .04 bar here, which is 0.5 psi. That's nothing to worry about.... Actuator may be a little slow to react, but if there is no fault codes, then meh.
    #3
  5. Duktor
    Offline

    Duktor Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 2, 2010]
    yeah spent a bit of time doing it as well unscrewed the expantion tank n propped it up put heater on full blast and ran the engine to 2500 rpm for a gd 10 - 15 mins , where does the fan get its signal to come on ive heard there are a few temp sensors on the car but no idea where they are ?
    #4
  6. Duktor
    Offline

    Duktor Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 2, 2010]
    nah no fault code Welly , where is the actuator ? and what is the standard plug gap meant to be ?
    #5
  7. badger5
    Online

    badger5 www.badger5.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7,330
    Likes Received:
    694
    [Nov 2, 2010]
    .7mm gap is ok

    the mb output is proportional to the weather... Its an absolute Pressure Sensor, and is reading atmospheric pressure as well as +ve pressure when under boost

    different day, different weather, different pressure
    #6
  8. Duktor
    Offline

    Duktor Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0

Share This Page