1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Boost hose clamp diameter ?

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by Bradderz_1988, Jul 5, 2011.

  1. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,234
    Likes Received:
    106
    [Jul 5, 2011]
    Right the Frankenturbo order has finally been placed :) and I also want some new hose clamps aswel but what diameter clamps do I need ?

    Also can i definitely run the FT on the stock ecu without having any problems/issues ?

    Thanks
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 23, 2014]

  3. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,234
    Likes Received:
    106
    [Jul 5, 2011]
    Anyone no the clamp diameter as I want to get them ordered for saturday as I've got a few bits n bobs I need to do on the car ??
    #2
  4. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,584
    Likes Received:
    314
    [Jul 6, 2011]
    which clamps?
    #3
  5. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,234
    Likes Received:
    106
    [Jul 6, 2011]
    The boost hose clamps on both bottom hoses and IC to manifold pipe.
    #4
  6. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,584
    Likes Received:
    314
    [Jul 6, 2011]
    The clamps on the lower steel pipe and the turbo are "40-60x9"
    The two clamps on the OEM intercooler are "50-70x9"
    The clamp on the TB is "60-80x9"
    #5
  7. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,234
    Likes Received:
    106
    [Jul 6, 2011]
    Cheers for the info aragorn. Just about to order them and I haven't a clue as the above are jubilee dimensions if I'm correct and I'm after mikalor T bolt clamps heres my choices how many of which do I need to replace the 6 clamps you mentioned ?

    *** 1.75inch */* 47 to 55mm

    *** 2inch */* 54 to 62mm

    *** 2.25inch */* 60 to 68mm

    *** 2.5inch */* 67 to 75mm

    *** 2.75inch */* 73 to 81mm

    *** 3inch */* 79 to 87mm

    *** 3.25inch / 86 to 94mm

    *** 3.5inch / 92 to 100mm

    *** 4.0inch / 105 to 113mm
    #6
  8. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,584
    Likes Received:
    314
    [Jul 6, 2011]
    forget T clamps, they're ****.

    JCS Hi-Torque Jubilee clips are where its at.
    #7
  9. jamie226bhp
    Offline

    jamie226bhp Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 6, 2011]
    Keep us informed on this kit as it looks good and let us know how much it was including the shipping and import duties etc
    #8
  10. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,234
    Likes Received:
    106
    [Jul 6, 2011]
    Will do jamie the kit breaks down as follows -

    F4L F4L hybrid turbocharger kit for longitudinal 1.8T
    [3" MAF housing:Not needed]
    [Adapter gasket for OEM 2.75" MAF:Yes]
    [Diverter Valve:No]
    [In-line Fuel Pump w/ hose fittings:I'm thinking no] 1 $1,059.00 $1,059.00
    *
    * Subtotal: $1,059.00
    * Tax: $0.00
    * Shipping Cost: $150.00
    * Grand Total: $1,209.00

    Converted by paypal was £771 and some pence havent a clue about import duties as yet but hoping there isn't any !!
    Also got a free t-shirt and I asked about a window sticker but they said they do badges instead so doug said they will make sure they include one :) !!
    #9
  11. jamie226bhp
    Offline

    jamie226bhp Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jul 6, 2011]
    Will the maf size restrict potential power by much do you know
    #10
  12. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,234
    Likes Received:
    106
    [Jul 6, 2011]
    I think yes but not sure I should see around the same power i think on the stock ecu maybe a tad more because of the decat until i sort out the injectors, MAF, FMIC and a remap, but should spool quicker and hold peak boost longer but it's my first turbo car and my first go at tuning something so I'm no master of performance just going with it and hoping the outcome will be worth it !!
    #11
  13. aragorn
    Online

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,584
    Likes Received:
    314
    [Jul 6, 2011]
    You'll almost certainly get hit with VAT at 20% and a little import duty on top assuming the customs declaration was completed correctly.

    MAF will start becoming restrictive at some point above around 220hp i'd recon. You'll absolutely need a 3" housing to get the most from an FT.
    #12

Share This Page