1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Boost Gauges

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by S4_dan, Apr 9, 2006.

  1. S4_dan
    Offline

    S4_dan Fire up the Quattro! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,770
    Likes Received:
    83
    [Apr 9, 2006]
    Do Audi's put turbo boost gauges in their cars as standard or is it an aftermarket item???

    Just wondered why an S4 doesnt have one?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Nov 23, 2014]

  3. mac1403
    Offline

    mac1403 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Apr 9, 2006]
    I don't think they put them in as standard. Most people go for a vent gauge as it looks oem. I got mine from AWE, very nice but expensive
    #2
  4. S4_dan
    Offline

    S4_dan Fire up the Quattro! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,770
    Likes Received:
    83
    [Apr 9, 2006]
    Its a shame really. Are they easy to fit??
    #3
  5. mac1403
    Offline

    mac1403 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Apr 9, 2006]
    really easy to fit. Took me about 2 hours. Only fiddly bit is drilling the hole for the tube in the back of the vent box
    #4
  6. mac1403
    Offline

    mac1403 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Apr 9, 2006]
    #5
  7. S4_dan
    Offline

    S4_dan Fire up the Quattro! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,770
    Likes Received:
    83
    [Apr 9, 2006]
    Looks good.

    Can people post pics of their boost guages and locations.

    I'm sure people have them situated in very different places.
    #6
  8. docurley
    Offline

    docurley Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,859
    Likes Received:
    25
    [Apr 9, 2006]
    Not mine but some pic's.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    #7
  9. PhilR
    Offline

    PhilR One Ate Tea

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 10, 2006]
    my fave has got to be [​IMG]

    expensive but i think its cool
    #8
  10. Beerzo
    Offline

    Beerzo Masa'warty 3200... Talk To Me!

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 10, 2006]
    PhilR - how did you get the boost on the OBC?
    #9
  11. docurley
    Offline

    docurley Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,859
    Likes Received:
    25
    [Apr 11, 2006]
    [ QUOTE ]
    PhilR - how did you get the boost on the OBC?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Dash boost gauge
    #10
  12. imported_ZeroK66
    Offline

    imported_ZeroK66 Guest

    [Apr 11, 2006]
    DASH BOOST GAUGE:

    Interesting on the V1 stuff... is that a speed trap detector built into the DIS? Anyone here actually bought one of these? There a UK seller?
    #11
  13. PhilR
    Offline

    PhilR One Ate Tea

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 11, 2006]
    I was looking into it but they are just too expensive
    #12
  14. docurley
    Offline

    docurley Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,859
    Likes Received:
    25
    [Apr 11, 2006]
    V1 I think is to do with gear change up & down.
    #13
  15. Soupie69uk
    Offline

    Soupie69uk Owner

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,802
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Apr 11, 2006]
    I think i need to get a boost gauge soon to keep an eye on boost levels.

    I think the AWE one looks the best so far.

    It costs around £200 doesnt it?
    #14
  16. docurley
    Offline

    docurley Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,859
    Likes Received:
    25
    [Apr 11, 2006]
    But the in-dash one offers so much more for the money.

    $339.00 USD = £194.414 (without V1 reading)


    Sensor Specification

    Boot Gauge
    -10 Psi to 35 Psi, available in Bar
    dissolution: 0.1 PSI
    accuracy: 0.3 PSI
    In Psi, negative boost will be shown in MMHG, you ask on feedback we deliver!
    Max alarm from 10 psi to 30 psi

    Oil Temperature
    -40 °F to 300 °F, available in Celsius
    dissolution: 1 °F
    accuracy: 5 °F
    Max alarm from 100°F to 300°F

    Volt Meter User can adjust from Bar to Psi, °C to °F, and KMH to MPH (and vice versa).
    8v to 16v
    dissolution: 0.1v
    accuracy: 0.2 v

    Speed
    Max alarm from 10 mph to 110 mph

    User can adjust from Bar to Psi, °C to °F, and KMH to MPH (and vice versa).
    #15
  17. Soupie69uk
    Offline

    Soupie69uk Owner

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,802
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Apr 11, 2006]
    [ QUOTE ]
    But the in-dash one offers so much more for the money.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    The DIS one?

    I think that would be far too hard for me to wire up like!!
    #16
  18. docurley
    Offline

    docurley Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,859
    Likes Received:
    25
    [Apr 11, 2006]
    Found the home company.

    www.cxi-europe.com

    Translation of the down Load page

    [ QUOTE ]
    EFU demo - on the own PC you try yourselves shop out free of charge down the program. Test the functions in peace. Executably on all PC starting from Windows 95. With this small program you can convince yourselves of the function range EFU.

    It still concerns the beta version, which we provided as development-accompanying Tool. In the current vehicle version in the meantime extended functions and changes were implemented for simpler handling. The program is however well suitable to provide a first impression. A short, somewhat flapsige guidance for the program gives it here. For exact information you download yourselves simply those in the following described installation and operating instructions

    [/ QUOTE ]
    #17
  19. Soupie69uk
    Offline

    Soupie69uk Owner

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,802
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Apr 11, 2006]
    Looks interesting, i would never be confident in taking my instument panel to bits and soldering in that though.
    #18
  20. docurley
    Offline

    docurley Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,859
    Likes Received:
    25
    [Apr 11, 2006]
    #19
  21. Soupie69uk
    Offline

    Soupie69uk Owner

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,802
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Apr 11, 2006]
    I cant understand those instructions, but looks from the pics like you are cutting wires at the fuse box and the cluster.

    I guess the extra features would then be in german to?
    #20
  22. docurley
    Offline

    docurley Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,859
    Likes Received:
    25
    [Apr 11, 2006]
    Nope english.

    This is going on like I'm selling these myself.....
    #21
  23. Soupie69uk
    Offline

    Soupie69uk Owner

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,802
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Apr 11, 2006]
    [ QUOTE ]
    Nope english.

    This is going on like I'm selling these myself.....

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Yeah or wanting someone to try one so you can see how well it works.
    #22
  24. PhilR
    Offline

    PhilR One Ate Tea

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 11, 2006]
    it interfaces with the wires that send your radio station display to the DIS should be pretty easy to fit almost plug and play
    #23
  25. imported_ZeroK66
    Offline

    imported_ZeroK66 Guest

    [Apr 11, 2006]
    I really think this is the way to go... of course a boost GAUGE would be easier to see/monitor... but ultimately having the oil temp & all the other features it offers is good enough in itself!
    #24
  26. PhilR
    Offline

    PhilR One Ate Tea

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 11, 2006]
    I think its a great idea but my DIS screen is all faded and even though i can still see it without any probs it kinda p[uts me off the idea
    #25
  27. docurley
    Offline

    docurley Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,859
    Likes Received:
    25
    [Apr 12, 2006]
    Well after me going about how great the indash one is I bought a cheap one of ebay for £22 to my door. I have no idea what the quality like but for £22 what can I say.

    Its a white face with ally surround so that will match my dash and it has 7 different colour options which I hope one is white to match my dash or I will have to do another DIY job on it.

    [​IMG]
    Boost Gauges
    #26
  28. Soupie69uk
    Offline

    Soupie69uk Owner

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,802
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Apr 12, 2006]
    Cool look forward to seeing what it ends up like.
    #27
  29. Beerzo
    Offline

    Beerzo Masa'warty 3200... Talk To Me!

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 12, 2006]
    I have mine fitted just need to vynl over the mdf should be doing that tonight if there weather is good but i will post a pic up as it is now or with the vynl.
    #28
  30. imported_billybravo
    Offline

    imported_billybravo Guest

    [Apr 12, 2006]
    i have mine fitted where the fag lighter used to be i had to cut alot away on the ashtray panel on the back side but i must say it looks really cool and the ash tray still works fine
    #29
  31. PhilR
    Offline

    PhilR One Ate Tea

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 12, 2006]
    [ QUOTE ]
    i have mine fitted where the fag lighter used to be i had to cut alot away on the ashtray panel on the back side but i must say it looks really cool and the ash tray still works fine

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Funny you should write that ive just been on my way home wondering what it would look like there you got any pics ?
    #30
  32. imported_billybravo
    Offline

    imported_billybravo Guest

    [Apr 13, 2006]
    i will stick some up tonight i at the min im using my old boost gauge which has a chrome ring but im after one of them black out gauges so when all the power is off you would even know the gauge was there.
    #31
  33. imported_billybravo
    Offline

    imported_billybravo Guest

  34. imported_VaulterTim
    Offline

    imported_VaulterTim Guest

    [Apr 21, 2006]
    These are mine whilst they were in the fitting/experimental stage...


    [​IMG]


    All guages are Autometer Ultralite series.

    They are, from left to right... Oil Pressure, Air/Fuel Ratio, Boost.

    Covering needs changing as it's a different colour to the dash but it gives an idea...

    T
    #33
  35. madkebab
    Offline

    madkebab Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 21, 2006]
    Heres mine. Its the APR gauge. Nice OEM look but not the cheapest option.
    [​IMG]
    #34
  36. docurley
    Offline

    docurley Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2003
    Messages:
    3,859
    Likes Received:
    25
    [May 3, 2006]
    Well got the cheap ebay Gauge and it looks real good, I also got a pillar pod and have been trying to cover it but its a total pig to do.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    May scrap the covering idea and go with another idea but still using the pod.
    #35
  37. S4_dan
    Offline

    S4_dan Fire up the Quattro! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,770
    Likes Received:
    83
    [May 29, 2006]
    finally ready to install a boost gauge.

    Not bought anything yet but will be over the next few days.

    firstly, what is the preferred pressure tyoe to use on a gauge? BAR or PSI??

    Think i'm going with the middle vent fitment on dash.

    Cheers,

    Dan
    #36
  38. madkebab
    Offline

    madkebab Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 29, 2006]
    Go with a PSI gauge as this is more accurate. 1 bar = 14psi if I remember correctly. If you can get one that also measures vacuum such as the gauge shown in my post above.
    #37
  39. S4_dan
    Offline

    S4_dan Fire up the Quattro! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,770
    Likes Received:
    83
    [May 29, 2006]
    [ QUOTE ]
    Go with a PSI gauge as this is more accurate. 1 bar = 14psi if I remember correctly. If you can get one that also measures vacuum such as the gauge shown in my post above.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Where did you get your centre vent pod from?? Looks very nice.

    Will go with PSI then.
    #38
  40. imported_VaulterTim
    Offline

    imported_VaulterTim Guest

    [May 30, 2006]
    [ QUOTE ]
    Go with a PSI gauge as this is more accurate. 1 bar = 14psi if I remember correctly. If you can get one that also measures vacuum such as the gauge shown in my post above.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    1Bar is closer to 15 psi... 14.7 to be precise /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif
    #39
  41. Beerzo
    Offline

    Beerzo Masa'warty 3200... Talk To Me!

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,242
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 30, 2006]
    I removed the air vent closest to the drivers door. Then cut a small pievce of MDF to hold the gauge. Took me about 30 mins to do all in. WIll post somoe pics tonight.
    #40

Share This Page