1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Boost gauge! Whats best?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Kealey, Apr 23, 2011.

  1. Kealey
    Offline

    Kealey Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 23, 2011]
    As the title says where's the best make and place to buy them?

    Cheers

    Pete
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Nov 22, 2014]

  3. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 23, 2011]
    I have a VDO gauge, chosen because it fits the look of the standard gauges. Been fitted for years with no problems. As for it being the best??? No idea, but it works for me. Purchased from Awesome GTI if I remember.

    [​IMG]
    #2
  4. Kealey
    Offline

    Kealey Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2011
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 23, 2011]
    Aw man that looks the business, I take it that's pro fitted and moulded in
    #3
  5. AGU-TURBO
    Offline

    AGU-TURBO Audi a3 1.8t AGU

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Apr 23, 2011]
    i use TIM gauges, but racetech, blitz, greddy, mocal are one of the best accurate gauges you can get. when we were involved in rallying these were the gauges to go for
    #4
  6. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    16,288
    Likes Received:
    1,484
    [Apr 23, 2011]
    Stack plus a little modding :)
    [​IMG]

    <tuffty/>
    #5
  7. AGU-TURBO
    Offline

    AGU-TURBO Audi a3 1.8t AGU

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    5
  8. bigpapasmurf
    Offline

    bigpapasmurf Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Aug 30, 2013]
    Im looking at getting a mechanical boost gauge in the car at some point soon. I want to get a Stack if at all possible, cos Im a bit of a tart like that. What needs modded to get it to the same red tint as the OEM clocks? What other options are there to keep it looking as OEM as possible? Also, has anyone ever mounted a gauge in the circular vent bit between the A pillar and the main climate control vent? Im thinkin a pipe mount thing or something?!? Not even checked the diameter, so it might never work...
    #7
  9. g60leigh
    Offline

    g60leigh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,430
    Likes Received:
    133
    [Aug 30, 2013]
    I have an AEM one which matches well and works well.
    #8
  10. Jay 01 s3
    Offline

    Jay 01 s3 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Aug 30, 2013]
    Stack gauge in right hand air vent : )
    #9
  11. g60leigh
    Offline

    g60leigh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,430
    Likes Received:
    133
    [Aug 30, 2013]
    http://i103.photobucket.com/albums/...002D7A1-2317-0000004EA52A4078_zps84c9421c.mp4

    <a href="http://s103.photobucket.com/albums/m141/g60leigh/?action=view&current=56FC0E43-D2A1-47E1-83F8-BDFD7002D7A1-2317-0000004EA52A4078_zps84c9421c.mp4" target="_blank"><img src="http://i103.photobucket.com/albums/m141/g60leigh/56FC0E43-D2A1-47E1-83F8-BDFD7002D7A1-2317-0000004EA52A4078_zps84c9421c.mp4" border="0" alt="Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos" /></a>
    #10
  12. V.A.G.erbond
    Offline

    V.A.G.erbond Spooling

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2012
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Aug 30, 2013]
    #11
  13. bigpapasmurf
    Offline

    bigpapasmurf Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Aug 30, 2013]
    Thanks for the info y'all. Ive already got a liquid gauge in the ash tray. Its grand, but want something mechanical rather than electrical. Are the AEM ones electric?
    #12
  14. g60leigh
    Offline

    g60leigh Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,430
    Likes Received:
    133
    [Aug 31, 2013]
    They AEM are electrical yes mate.
    #13
  15. Andrew@A.L.D
    Offline

    Andrew@A.L.D May add NOS to 600+bhp?

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3,542
    Likes Received:
    373
    [Aug 31, 2013]
    Mine

    [​IMG]
    #14
  16. superkarl
    Online

    superkarl MAN OF STEEL

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7,789
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    [Aug 31, 2013]
    Garrett one here, looks the tits and reminds me whats under the bonnet
    #15
  17. Sam_
    Offline

    Sam_ Down under

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    2,863
    Likes Received:
    367
    [Aug 31, 2013]
    I have an SPA dual gauge (boost/fuel pressure) to fit but gave up trying to get the big connector through to the engine bay. Any tips? It has proper sensors so it has big connectors that need to be squeezed through...

    [​IMG]
    #16
  18. ReDBull
    Offline

    ReDBull Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Aug 31, 2013]
    I know it's not an S3 but I've gone Stack.
    [​IMG]

    Tuffty how hard was it to change the bulb to red? I've look to do it but chickened out!
    #17
  19. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    16,288
    Likes Received:
    1,484
    [Aug 31, 2013]
    On my black faced gauge relatively easy... I just carefully prised the bezel off and used red disco lighting gel... the bezel is 'crimped' on, you use a small flat blade screwdriver to gently bend the lip of the bezel out enough... I didn't go all the way round as half way was enough to slide it off... hastily thrown together simplistic photoshop pic below...

    gauge.jpg

    <tuffty/>
    #18
    ReDBull likes this.
  20. ReDBull
    Offline

    ReDBull Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2011
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    12
  21. miniturhero
    Offline

    miniturhero Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Sep 11, 2013]
    Must say I checked out that link to the" race diagnostic" website that V.A.G erbond put up and must say I love the idea of having that it my s3 but do also like the idea of a mechanical boost gauge two. Hard choice. Does anyone know if you could have both? I imagen you could but wondered if anyone has ?
    #20
  22. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    16,288
    Likes Received:
    1,484
    [Sep 11, 2013]
    Of course you can have both... I did for ages but... the boost gauge on Liquid is limited to 22psi only in normal mode (as it uses the MAP sensor reading) and cannot read vacuum... in AGU mode boost is calculated but I have never found it accurate...

    Mech boost gauge all day long followed by VCDS then Liquid in order of purchase/usefulness...

    <tuffty/>
    #21
  23. p1tse
    Offline

    p1tse Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    24
    [Sep 11, 2013]
    I had a swoosh one which blacked out which showed nothing when turned on and wen on was a nice glow and that matched the audi tt gauges and in the air vent

    Do like some of the pillar finish above
    #22

Share This Page