1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Boost gauge plumbing

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Markb, Aug 11, 2004.

  1. Markb

    Markb Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,139
    Likes Received:
    2
    After reading this Thread which has a lot of discusion about which pipe to plumb into.

    I am unsure which pipe to plumb into.

    Has anyone got any pics from their 1.8 T Sport or Quattro showing the pipe I should be using? As I am confused and don't want to get cutting the wrong pipe LOL

    Also is it OK to just cut the pipe?

    Is a plastic T piece OK?

    Finally what about clips around the T Piece?


    Cheers Mark.
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. paulbinks

    paulbinks Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    The pipe you need is the one fitted to the fuel pressure regulator which has a direct feed to the inlet manifold and will be the most accurate feed and a plastic tee is ok to use.
    Cheers "Bingo" /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
     
  4. jojo

    jojo Looking for Boost!
    Staff Member Moderator Team Daytona quattro Audi S3 Audi A6 Audi Avant Owner Group

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    28,595
    Likes Received:
    3,312
    Mark, I took this feed as recommended by Rai, as it comes directly off the inlet manifold, works perfectly.

    [​IMG]

    Also, is there any reason why you can't feed the tube for the boost gauge without the 12mm bolt on it?
     
  5. jojo

    jojo Looking for Boost!
    Staff Member Moderator Team Daytona quattro Audi S3 Audi A6 Audi Avant Owner Group

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    28,595
    Likes Received:
    3,312
    Heres a picture of my boost gauge that I was suppose to post up in the other thread, excuse the poor quality and the finger prints on the glass are from pressing the silver button to death changing the colours lol

    [​IMG]
     
  6. Markb

    Markb Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,139
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hmm I think I am going to have to take some pics of the pipes under my bonnet and you will have to direct me LOL
     
  7. Markb

    Markb Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,139
    Likes Received:
    2
    OK the layout on the S3 must be different as I can't see the pipe that I should be after.


    Here are some pics from under the bonnet:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    Anyone know which one I should be after?
     
  8. peteA3tdi

    peteA3tdi Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    0
    that don't look like my S3 i have a big metal pipe off the turbo with the dv line and w/gate pipe on it

    also anyone with a boost gauge do your gauge's go into the minus before going into the plus
     
  9. pure

    pure Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    1
    the pipe u need to cut into is at the front of the engine. Post a pic of the whole engine bay mate.
     
  10. peteA3tdi

    peteA3tdi Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    0
    can you not use the pipe that go's to the waste gate from the big metal pipe off the turbo(maked in red)?
     
  11. paulbinks

    paulbinks Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all
    if you use the same line as jojo you may get a flicker or erratic reading as your car goes on boost, this is where i first plumbed in my defi boost gauge before reading the instructions which stated it needs to be a direct manifold line before any vac/solenoid valves, and recomends the fuel pressure reg line which is at the end of the fuel rail above the injectors just below the coil packs by 3-4 inches.when my gauge was fitted like jojo's it went wild as it came on boost as all the valves on that line opened and closed.
    Cheers "Bingo"
     
  12. jojo

    jojo Looking for Boost!
    Staff Member Moderator Team Daytona quattro Audi S3 Audi A6 Audi Avant Owner Group

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    28,595
    Likes Received:
    3,312
    Maybe it's time for another Midland meet and have a browse of Markb's engine bay in the process lol.
     
  13. Markb

    Markb Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,139
    Likes Received:
    2
    [ QUOTE ]
    jojo said:
    Maybe it's time for another Midland meet and have a browse of Markb's engine bay in the process lol.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    LOL not a bad idea.

    The gauge is now in place in my custom A pillar mount and looks good. I just need to get it plumbed in. I might take it to a garage as I don't fancy making a mistake /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif

    I am confused on which one to use as AMD said use any vacum hose /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif

    I will post a pic of the whole engine bay tomorrow when I get chance.
     
  14. Markb

    Markb Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,139
    Likes Received:
    2
    So do I take it to a garage? Or can anyone give me some more advice and I'll do it myself.

    I still need to buy the brass connector, but I am not sure which pipe I am going into so I don't know the diameter.
     
  15. jayfrts

    jayfrts bouncing off the limiter!!!!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mark,

    Let us know where you get the brass connector from dude!

    Cheers

    Jay
     
  16. Mike.M

    Mike.M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    2,420
    Likes Received:
    158
    Any plumbing/hose specialist can supply them.........I get mine from a company called "HyperHose"
     
  17. jojo

    jojo Looking for Boost!
    Staff Member Moderator Team Daytona quattro Audi S3 Audi A6 Audi Avant Owner Group

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    28,595
    Likes Received:
    3,312
    Mine came with the boost gauge.
     
  18. jayfrts

    jayfrts bouncing off the limiter!!!!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mines a Ebay special!!

    Well i hope this 'BEST PLACE TO PLUMB IN ISSUE' get sorted soon as i want to fit mine.
     
  19. Stuart_A3_Turbo

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
    ill take some pics of where mine is plumbed in, but i believe its off the fuel reg hose.
     
  20. HTC

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,420
    Likes Received:
    3
    You guys are missing the obvious place to plumb a boost gauge.

    Whats the one thing thats directly connected to the inlet manifold but won't effect the running of the car etc.....
    ......the brake servo.

    If you follow the servo pipe from the inlet to where the "one way valve" is in the line, then you will see a green plastic cap just before the valve.
    Just pull off the cap and fit the pipe for your gadge. No cutting or tee piece required.

    Sorted.
     
  21. Markb

    Markb Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,139
    Likes Received:
    2
    I suppose you are right there HTC, but could you direct me to that pipe?

    I am good with other stuff, but don't normally touch engine parts LOL
     
  22. Advert Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. HTC

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,420
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'll take a pic later and post it up when I get in from work for ya.
     
  24. Markb

    Markb Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,139
    Likes Received:
    2
    I've got some other pics from under the bonnet as requested:

    [image][/image]

    [image][/image]


    Also what does eveyone else think about going into the brake servo hose?
     
  25. HTC

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,420
    Likes Received:
    3
    Your pics don't seem to work for me.

    Anyways, here are some pic of the servo vacuum pipe and the green cap you can remove.
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  26. Markb

    Markb Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,139
    Likes Received:
    2
    Cheers for that HTC

    What DV are you running? Doesn't look standard.



    What are others peoples views on using the brake servo vacuum hose?


    Here are the two pics that didn't work:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  27. HTC

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,420
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'm running a forge piston type DV.
     
  28. S3tony

    S3tony Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    0
    just curious but do you guys leave your covers off your engine or just removed for the photographs?

    cheers tony
     
  29. HTC

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,420
    Likes Received:
    3
    I just took them off for the pics. I think the 1.8t engines are ugly looking things without them! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/vomit.gif
     
  30. S3tony

    S3tony Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    0
    good point just checkin.....

    cheers tony
     
  31. Markb

    Markb Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,139
    Likes Received:
    2
    [ QUOTE ]
    S3tony said:
    just curious but do you guys leave your covers off your engine or just removed for the photographs?

    cheers tony

    [/ QUOTE ]


    Yeah mine is just off to take some pics /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif
     
  32. Markb

    Markb Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,139
    Likes Received:
    2
    So is the brake servo pipe a goer?

    What do think guys?

    Also I take it that I would have to fit the T Piece after the one way valve?
     
  33. HTC

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,420
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'll do some testing if I get time over the weekend. As far as I can tell the side of the valve that the outlet is on is "before" the valve, so it gets vacuum and boost pressure.

    If this is the case then you won't need a tee piece, you just connect the pipe from the gauge to the outlet.
     
  34. Markb

    Markb Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    2,139
    Likes Received:
    2
    Cheers mate /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif
     
  35. HTC

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,420
    Likes Received:
    3
    [ QUOTE ]
    foolish3uk said:
    why dont you just put a 'T' Piece in right next to the fuel pressure regulator, that is where audi say to check the bost pressure so it is good enough t fit the boost guage there.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    People have stated in other threads that it can cause problems with the running of the car.

    I don't know how true this is as I've not experienced it first hand.

    I'm planning to mess about with locations when I get my gauge.
     
  36. Dean_T

    Dean_T Active Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    645
    Likes Received:
    139
    have you tried giving someone like Jabbasport a ring and asking their advice? /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif
     
  37. RichA3Turbo

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you!
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    When i fit mine it will be well easy! The IHI has a take off on the boost outlet of the turbo which can be used for a boost gauge. If its not used, then you just blank it off. EASY! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif
     
  38. jayfrts

    jayfrts bouncing off the limiter!!!!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    So this issue still hasn't been resolved............

    Someone take the bull by the horns! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/tongue.gif

    HTC have you finished your testing yet??
     
  39. HTC

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,420
    Likes Received:
    3
    LOL, I did actually forget about this........oops.

    Anyways, I don't have a boost gauge any more. Gods know where it went. Probably got lost when I moved house. I need to pull my finger out and order one.

    Markb, as it sounds like you have the gauge fitted, I would simply plumb in to the various places suggested. Just drap the pipe (safely) round the engine for a trial. See which works best for you.

    Also as you've reminded me that I need to get a new one, I've emailed a guy in the states to send me a new one. So I'll be fitting that when ever it arrives.
     
  40. RichA3Turbo

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you!
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    Im in the process of doing this... fitting boost, oil temp and oil pressure...i could do with knowing all of them now! Just trying to make up my mind as to which gauges to get... Its achoice between Apexi EL02 or Defi D-Gauge.

    Rich
     
  41. HTC

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,420
    Likes Received:
    3
  42. Add7

    Add7 Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2004
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    where did you get this from HTC and how much?

    Cheers
     

Share This Page