1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Boost Gauge in the S3..

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by s8n, Apr 27, 2004.

  1. s8n
    Offline

    s8n Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 27, 2004]
    Has anyone seen how to's or know if its even possible to install a boost gauge in the pop down compartment of the Audi S3? That is, the compartment containing the cigarette lighter? I don't ever use the lighter functions and I don't want a gauge that is visable unless I want it to be..

    Pod gauges and steering wheel gauges are ugly as !!

    ideas?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 25, 2014]

  3. S3DBW
    Offline

    S3DBW Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Apr 28, 2004]
    Not enough room in here to install a standard 50mm pod guage, however if you can get small digital guages which may fit.

    The down side is that it is hard enough to accurately read a pod guage in this location, far less a digital guage.

    I used this location in my previous (pre-face lift) S3 before the drop down compartment was introduced to fit a boost guage and while it looked OK you needed to take your eyes of the road for a bit to read it properly.

    Currently using a pod guage on the A-pillar, it may not be as pretty but it is quick and easy to read.
    #2
  4. Mike.M
    Online

    Mike.M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,747
    Likes Received:
    84
    [Apr 28, 2004]
    #3
  5. Mike.M
    Online

    Mike.M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,747
    Likes Received:
    84
    [Apr 28, 2004]
    I know what you mean.........it is a nice mod, but the price is not.

    You could buy the cup holder option for the centre arm rest and then do what I did as another option
    #4
  6. MingBluS3
    Offline

    MingBluS3 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 28, 2004]
    nice idea mate, is that the early symphony head unit or the later?
    #5
  7. Mike.M
    Online

    Mike.M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,747
    Likes Received:
    84
    [Apr 28, 2004]
    Cheers!

    Its symphony one with a changer
    #6
  8. MingBluS3
    Offline

    MingBluS3 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 28, 2004]
    its different to mine which is symphony with 6 disc front loader, i did not realsise there were so many. My first s3 had the concert with changer in the boot. I much prefer the ease of the front loader and the fact i don't need to get out to change discs.

    its ashame they did not design twin subs which fit into each side of the S3, in the boot. Would sound much better.
    #7
  9. Mike.M
    Online

    Mike.M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,747
    Likes Received:
    84
    [Apr 29, 2004]
    Thanks Gambba,

    There is a 1mm gap round the gauge when it is inserted into the cup holder space, similar to the ESP buttons etc to the right of it........my friends all think it looks factory fit.

    The great thing is that it is completely reversible, when I want to sell the car.

    It all cost about £60 (gauge, parts and delivery from Japan)
    #8
  10. Mike.M
    Online

    Mike.M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,747
    Likes Received:
    84
    [Apr 29, 2004]
    It has both red and green LED's in side it.

    GREEN = normal use
    RED = count down timer for the turbo timer part of it.

    I have opened it up and have a look and discovered that there are 4 leds for the green and red side of things. They could be reversed so that the normal function is red and the countdown is green.

    I just have not had the time and due to everything being very delicate inside, I am scared to brake it as the red leds are under the pins/legs that feed into the lcd screen. The green leds are fine.
    #9
  11. Grant
    Offline

    Grant Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,161
    Likes Received:
    60
    [Apr 29, 2004]
    Here is a picture of my AutoMeter boost gauge, mounted on the A-pillar

    [​IMG]
    #10
  12. PaulRS3
    Online

    PaulRS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,063
    Likes Received:
    58
    [Apr 29, 2004]
    Mike where abouts did you purchase from?

    Cheers..
    #11
  13. nervus
    Offline

    nervus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,210
    Likes Received:
    53
    [Apr 30, 2004]
    [ QUOTE ]
    s8n said:
    Mike, I really like that idea however I use my cupholder /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif

    I just wish there was a nice spot to fit a small gauge! or someone hurrys and finishes this DIS CAN bus version of the Boost gauge! I swear if that thing was cheap it would sell like hot cakes!

    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif



    [/ QUOTE ]

    Sorry for being dumb but what is the DIS CAN bus version mod? Where can i find out about it?
    #12
  14. s8n
    Offline

    s8n Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 30, 2004]
    [ QUOTE ]
    nervus said:
    [ QUOTE ]
    s8n said:
    Mike, I really like that idea however I use my cupholder /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif

    I just wish there was a nice spot to fit a small gauge! or someone hurrys and finishes this DIS CAN bus version of the Boost gauge! I swear if that thing was cheap it would sell like hot cakes!

    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif



    [/ QUOTE ]

    Sorry for being dumb but what is the DIS CAN bus version mod? Where can i find out about it?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    It uses the DIS display to show additional info (oil temp, boost and so on)
    #13
  15. nervus
    Offline

    nervus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,210
    Likes Received:
    53
    [May 6, 2004]
    [ QUOTE ]
    s8n said:

    It uses the DIS display to show additional info (oil temp, boost and so on)

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Where can i buy it from?
    #14

Share This Page