1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Boost gauge fitted

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by danotto, Feb 26, 2008.

  1. danotto

    danotto VAG HUNTER

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,090
    Likes Received:
    1
    so i finally got my boost gauge fitted to my s3,by john at incar-science,:icon_thumright:who done a great job when i finally gave him enough rubber tubing to reach the vacuum pipe.lol.i have a standard 210bhp s3 and the peak boost i can reach is 1bar is this right. ill post pics up tommorow once my camera battery has charged.
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. Ballcrusher

    Ballcrusher NO CAT JUST 3" STRAIT THREW

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    3
    i had my alarm done by john at incar-sciance top notch work and the only person to get my alarm done to perfection
     
  4. S3 Rav

    S3 Rav Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,826
    Likes Received:
    27
    whats the benifits of the boost gauge apart from just being able to monitor your boost?
     
  5. glen_jai

    glen_jai Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    2
    Lets you figure out if there's a boost leak, or other problem if your boost is not the level it use to be, or even higher than it should.

    Also looks pretty...
     
  6. S3 Rav

    S3 Rav Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,826
    Likes Received:
    27
    cheers glen.
     
  7. Longman

    Longman vassdignostics.co.uk
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    1 bar sounds ok to me for a 210. My 180bhp Leon peaks at 0.8 Bar and drops settles at 0.6 as a guide.

    Just fitted a gauge to mine, I'd be interested in seeing how and where you did yours....
     
  8. simch

    simch Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    1 bar is high for stock IMO. remember the 180hp leon has a k03 on it.

    I thought 225hp s3 peaks at 0.9bar and the 210 at less?

    Is your gauge accurate? What make is it?
     
  9. Longman

    Longman vassdignostics.co.uk
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, I understand that they are different turbos, its a K04 on the S3 isn't it?

    The 225 BAM engined Cupra R runs at about (1.2 - 1.3 bar) so a 210 I would expect to be around 1 bar from experience.
     
  10. danotto

    danotto VAG HUNTER

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,090
    Likes Received:
    1
    its a raid hp gauge.just checked again on the way home sinch its peaking about 0.7-0.8 bar.i must have mis-read it.pic up soon
     
  11. danotto

    danotto VAG HUNTER

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,090
    Likes Received:
    1

    yeah im probably getting the same alarm as yours mate,it has remote start etc doesnt it.
     
  12. jonS3

    jonS3 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    719
    Likes Received:
    0
    pics.....
     
  13. Longman

    Longman vassdignostics.co.uk
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    That seems low now!!

    A 210 should peak but then settle at about 1 bar....
     
  14. danotto

    danotto VAG HUNTER

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,090
    Likes Received:
    1
    heres the gauge the wires and boost pipe could have gone througn the dash but didnt fancy a hole in my dash so got some condruit to hide the wires and pipe as well as i could.let me know what you think.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    AND HERE IS MY NEW SECURITY UNTIL I GET MY ALARM DONE.LOL
    [​IMG]
     
  15. danotto

    danotto VAG HUNTER

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,090
    Likes Received:
    1
    .
     
  16. Bong Water

    Bong Water In two minds

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    0
    They always look better in a pillar pod, on the dash they just look like something that was forgotten and scum may take advantage
     
  17. danotto

    danotto VAG HUNTER

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,090
    Likes Received:
    1
    yeah its been left so that i can put it into a pillar so it is easily removed,am going to but a new airbag pillar to mount it to before i fit it in my car.
    Do people acyuallt nick these
     
  18. jesters3

    jesters3 Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,516
    Likes Received:
    5
    I thought you said it was actual going in the air vent i.e replacing it? That said, I don't think it looks right and is nickable, any chav would probably have a go thinking it was a Sat Nav unit or something. Can you not pillar it or mount it high up in the top right of the windcreen or something?
     
  19. danotto

    danotto VAG HUNTER

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,090
    Likes Received:
    1
    im thinking of gettin an oil pressure guage as well and when i get that john at incar-science said he will fit it on a pillar mount,as its easily moved
     
  20. jesters3

    jesters3 Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,516
    Likes Received:
    5
    Fair, my mate has got a Nomad racing A Pillar single mount in his LCR and it does look OEM. You can get the dual mount as well, one guy in his Ibiza had it in the headling but looked a bit cramped.
     
  21. danotto

    danotto VAG HUNTER

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,090
    Likes Received:
    1
    could you find out where he got the mounting from its just difficult as it needs to kind of match the interior fabric of the a pillar
     
  22. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. jesters3

    jesters3 Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,516
    Likes Received:
    5
    Check out the nomad racing site http://www.nomadracing.com/

    The Seat Cupra one is on there:

    [​IMG]

    May be worth giving them a call to see how well it would fit the S3, pretty well considering same dimensions and the like. However it IS plastic where you can cover it with a cloth mesh is another question. Maybe worth giving them a call to find out?
     
  24. danotto

    danotto VAG HUNTER

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,090
    Likes Received:
    1
    cheers mate will do,:icon_thumright:
     
  25. jesters3

    jesters3 Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,516
    Likes Received:
    5
    Cool, would be interested to see the finished article at some point!
     
  26. danotto

    danotto VAG HUNTER

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,090
    Likes Received:
    1
    yeah me too.lol.i just wanted to get it fitted as it was just sat in my room lookin at me.lol.but step at a time.
     
  27. A3_Turbo

    A3_Turbo Swaying towards IHI....

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,464
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not to my taste personally,

    Ive sent my drivers side Vent gauge off to a guy on the Cupra forums he's custom making that for me so the Boost gauge fits nicely in there.

    Bit costly for what it is but the end result looks great!

    J
     
  28. Longman

    Longman vassdignostics.co.uk
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a nomad A pillar on my Leon. It does look fairly OEM, just a bitch to keep in place as the OEM fittings aren't there cos its fibreglass.

    That Nev on the Seat forum does a good job though at the drivers vent gauge.... I did like the look of his but didn't want to be without the vent!!
     
  29. simch

    simch Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    Sorry, 225 hp is 0.9bar peak as stock.

    at 0.7- 0.8 Dan, yours sounds about right.

    raid gauge is good, I have one myself!!
     
  30. joshW

    joshW Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
    He better do a good job.. I sent my vent to him 2 months ago and I still aint had it back!!!! GRR

    josh
     
  31. Longman

    Longman vassdignostics.co.uk
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think he has a day job too so its weekend and evenings, I guess thats why he is taking so long. Plus loads of Seat members have ordered on I think....
     
  32. joshW

    joshW Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2006
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ye i know, i understand that its going to take i while, i was ok about it until i got the reply off him last thurs sayin that he "was working away ATM so if i give him my address he would get his missus to send it out".... Why didnt he just send it before he went?

    Oh yeah, and still aint got it.
    Just a bugger because ive been off this week and had loads of time on my hands when i could've fitted it:(

    josh
     
  33. Longman

    Longman vassdignostics.co.uk
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Always the way mate... I had to give blood for my A pillar one too!!

    It took ages to send and then DHL gave it to a neighbour who kept it for 3 days without telling me! Cheers!!

    Hope you get it fitted soon, I would like to see what it looks like in an A3/S3
     
  34. simch

    simch Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    is a leon mk1 pillar trim (and hence pillar pod) the same as an 8l a3/s3? Windscreens and some interior bits are the same....?

    I think if someone made a little dinky panel like the focus ST has, centre top of dash angled to the driver, with boost gauge fitting and a little ammeter and voltmeter next to it, it would look very smart. Why does noone do a boost gauge smaller than 52mil?
     

Share This Page