1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

BNS 5.0 to RNS-E conversion

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by CornRattle, May 1, 2012.

  1. CornRattle

    CornRattle Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    7
    The fault log only manifested itself since moving the BOSE pin, B7 was occupied with the aux pin ( this was just removed and taped until I get the block for the RNS)

    With the BNS I had full voice control but not so with the RNS, all I can do is use the phone.
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. CornRattle

    CornRattle Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    7
    Very quick one chaps, I hope anyway.

    RNS-E part number 8P0 035 193 G
    SW version SW200
    HW version H06
    Would this support SDS?
     
  4. PH1L

    PH1L Gievf Buckets
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,864
    Likes Received:
    39
    my unit is h and spports it
     
  5. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,350
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    G wont support SDS
     
  6. PH1L

    PH1L Gievf Buckets
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,864
    Likes Received:
    39
    my h unit is a good price, will potentially trade it for other bits:happy:
     
  7. CornRattle

    CornRattle Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    7
    PM sent
     
  8. pherbert

    pherbert Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, have managed to get the DSP menu option up with VCDS, which isn't normally shown on the RNS-E/Bose black edition factory setup, however even with the Gala setting set to off, I'm still having the volume issue on startup!! It seems I'm not the only one, is there really a fix for this out there?? Starting to pee me off now!!
     
  9. mjr901

    mjr901 Parts Manager - (Main Dealer)
    Audi Main Dealer Gold Supporter Audi S3

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    3,149
    Likes Received:
    705
    I had the same, it doesnt work for the volume, but it may cure the hiss some people have.

    Only this guy knows.......but he refuses to talk??

    [​IMG]
     
    pherbert likes this.
  10. pherbert

    pherbert Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah I must admit the hiss is much better than when I had my BNS5.0, but poor show there is no permanent resolve.

    Would really hope that somebody could crack this with so many examples of it happening!

    Does the moving of the pin that's discussed help matters, from what I can tell my Bose is working fine, however I have lost the use of of my Aux-in for some reason!!
     
  11. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,350
    Likes Received:
    1,464
    OEM Auxin is wired into a 32pin connector on rear of rns, on the other models it uses pins within the quadlock, so they have to be moved.
     

Share This Page