1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bluetooth without MFSW

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by g-man, Jul 14, 2007.

  1. g-man

    g-man Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Picked up my A3 2.0 TDI S-line (pics to follow!) today. SO happy with it! :thumbsup:

    Was a demonstrator so is pretty much fully loaded (climate, open sky, bose, dsg, cruise, acoustic parking etc etc). Will fit the RNS-E at a later stage.

    It also has the bluetooth fitted as standard, I've managed to pair it to my phone, but now what? Is it useless without the MFSW?

    I'm waiting on the manuals for the car, didn't pick them up at the time so nothing to go on. Did a search here but didn't find much.

    Any info gratefully received.

    G-man
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. marms

    marms Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    833
    Likes Received:
    1
    Can't see how you could control the bluetooth without either the MFSW or directly via the RNS-e, but then again if you car came with it fitted but no MFSW then surely there must be a way? Seems a bit silly Audi fitting an option if it can't be used.
     
  4. g-man

    g-man Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, that was my thought as well. I'm hoping there is something in the manual about it.

    When I turn on the Symphony II it comes up with "Bose" then "Phone" and it beeps at me :) There must be something somewhere to control it lol

    G-man
     
  5. Eeef

    Eeef Lord of War

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,607
    Likes Received:
    0
    i would guess that you press the green 'phone' button on your phone. Kinda defeats the point of having BT though. Alternatively just set the 'phone' profile on your phone to auto-answer.
     
  6. Vertigo1

    Vertigo1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,382
    Likes Received:
    542
    Without the MFSW or RNS-E, you have to use the phone itself to browse the phonebook and dial numbers.

    The only alternative is to install a cradle for your phone, if one exists. With this, you'll get the button on the cradle which will perform the same function as the "speak" button on the MFSW and allow you to use voice dialling.

    Frankly, anyone who specs the phone prep without the MFSW is a moron. (i.e. the dealer in this case).
     
  7. g-man

    g-man Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, I was a little surprised that it didn't have the MFSW. I'll be looking into getting this retrofitted (but probably not by me) as it seems strange not to have it.

    Just tested dialing a number on the phone and it does indeed route everything through the car's audio system, pauses the CD, then restarts after the call.

    Still handy to have for now though. As I'm going to get the RNS-E at a later stage this will become useful.

    G-man
     
  8. jasaudi

    jasaudi Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    There is always the possibility that it was originally fitted with the MFSW and the dealer has switched it off onto another car out of necessity
     
  9. g-man

    g-man Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    I will ask tomorrow and see. Does seem odd.
     
  10. Staz

    Staz is a retronaut
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,219
    Likes Received:
    64
    how much is the bluetooth? It's not on the configurator
     
  11. g-man

    g-man Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry, I don't know, it came pre-installed on my car.

    I inquired about the MFSW and it was never installed in the car (and the dealership have been the only owner).

    Any recommendations for where to source the appropriate steering wheel? Or just ask at local Audi service centre maybe?

    Thanks
    G-man
     
  12. Vertigo1

    Vertigo1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,382
    Likes Received:
    542
    It is, it's called "GSM mobile telephone preparation", they just don't mention the word "Bluetooth" anywhere, which is helpful.

    It's £385.
     
  13. Staz

    Staz is a retronaut
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,219
    Likes Received:
    64

    These are the two on the configurator:

    GSM mobile telephone preparation located in front centre armrest

    GSM mobile telephone preparation located on dashboard

    They would appear to be physical connections as the sub paragraph states:

    (a phone adapter is required at extra cost. Please consult your Audi Centre for details).

    Strange really.
     
  14. Vertigo1

    Vertigo1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,382
    Likes Received:
    542
    Yep those are the ones. It's very very misleading as everything leads you to believe there's no bluetooth but there is, trust me :)

    It is technically correct as you need an additional adapter to use the mount for a hardwired connection but it just neglects to mention bluetooth at all.
     
  15. Trickey Dickey

    Trickey Dickey fast idle

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey g man
    do you have a hissing coming thriugh your speakers? i have bose and phone prep without multi func steering wheel and i get alot of hissing through my speakers, check out my thread about hissing speakers, wandered if you have this prob too???
     
  16. g-man

    g-man Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I just checked. With the volume at 0 (zero) this is a *very* slight amount of hiss (which I guess is unavoidable), but by the time you've put the volume at 2 or more, it cannot be heard.

    G-man
     
  17. Trickey Dickey

    Trickey Dickey fast idle

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok food for thought! i'll see what the dealers say, i have loads of hiss and its really hissing me off!!!!!
     
  18. Vertigo1

    Vertigo1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,382
    Likes Received:
    542
    RNS-E/GSM/MFSW here and no hissing
     
  19. Staz

    Staz is a retronaut
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,219
    Likes Received:
    64
    As I'm not going for an armrest what wouldI have sticking out of my dash?? I don't want any physical connection, just figured as I'm getting the MFSW I may aswell get the bluetooth
     
  20. normski

    normski Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    0
    You will have an ugly flat plate projecting from the dash awaiting the fitting of the correct adaptor to put your phone into. If you don't want something in view that you will never mount to, I would recommend the armrest and armrest GSM kit...
     
  21. Staz

    Staz is a retronaut
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,219
    Likes Received:
    64
    Seems a bit stupid then. All I want is a bluetooth system like the aftermarket ones. I get in my car with my phone in my pocket and it automatically connects.

    Does this one do that?

    And can I remove the dash bracket?

    I really don't want an armrest norm
     
  22. Advert Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. Vertigo1

    Vertigo1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,382
    Likes Received:
    542
    It is stupid that you can't specify no mount if you only want to use the bluetooth but that's how it is I'm afraid - dash or armrest.

    The bluetooth does indeed connect automatically when you turn on the ignition.

    I'd seriously recommend getting the armrest as, not only does it provide a nifty hide-away for the phone, but it's a godsend in its own right on long journeys.

    The alternative is to retrofit the bluetooth module yourself (or get someone like craig to do it) after you've got the car as this way you can omit the cradle.
     
  24. Staz

    Staz is a retronaut
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,219
    Likes Received:
    64
    Can the mount come off though or is it integral to the bluetooth?

    I do many long journeys (I live in germany don't forget) and have never had the need or desire for an armrest. Plus when I had a courtesy car with one I didn't really like it.

    Maybe retrofit is the way. What's craigs username?
     
  25. Vertigo1

    Vertigo1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    3,382
    Likes Received:
    542
    The mount can be taken off as it's not required for the bluetooth side to work, but it'll leave a couple of holes in your dash.

    Not sure on craig's username here but head over to www.navplus.us where his username is "craigyb" - he's prolific on there.
     
  26. Staz

    Staz is a retronaut
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,219
    Likes Received:
    64
    Where would the holes be? Any chance of a pic??? :friends:
     
  27. BrianM

    BrianM BrianM

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    The holes will be level with the eyeball vents to the left of the passenger one..and believ me its a mess if you remove the bracket.
    Like you my car was specced with GSM/Bluetooth and no MFSW by the dealer, it was their demo car. Absolutely useless without the MFSW but the dealer has quoted approx £2k to retrofit the wheel, it requires a different airbag apparently. You occassionally see the wheel on Ebay but the airbag is another £400 plus and if you have S Line spec then the wheel is as rare as hen's teeth secondhand.
     
  28. marms

    marms Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    833
    Likes Received:
    1
    Doesn't need a new airbag.

    You will only need the actual steering wheel and a wiring harness.

    You may or may not also need the steering wheel control module. If you already have cruise control you will have the module already.

    My car has cruise so needed the wheel and the harness. Total cost £354 inc P&P and that was for the s-line with DSG wheel.

    The only other thing you will need is access to VAG-COM to recode everything.
     
  29. JamS3

    JamS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,257
    Likes Received:
    18
    Its s8craig on here
     
  30. BrianM

    BrianM BrianM

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well that's vastly different to my dealers quote, did you do the job yourself? Where did you source the parts from please. I have cruise fitted so I would happily pay £350 for the job.
     
  31. marms

    marms Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    833
    Likes Received:
    1
    www.audi-accessories.co.uk

    Should be able to help you. Drop them an email.
    Just make sure you quote your chassis number as there are several versions of the airbag and you need to get the correct wheel to match your existing one.

    Easy DIY job if you have access to VAG-COM. I actuall haven't done my own car yet as I'm waiting for the parts but I did a friends A3 sportback and it's a very easy job taking less that an hour.
     
  32. BrianM

    BrianM BrianM

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Marms, but I don't have access to Vagcom and tbh I don't feel confident in removing the airbag..visions of it going off in my face are worrying. I wonder if there is an Audi specialist in the Herts/Cambs border who would take this job on? Anybody? I live at Royston Herts, SG88 postcode?
     
  33. marms

    marms Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    833
    Likes Received:
    1
    LOL - It's not a bomb !!

    As long as you take the necessary precautions it's perfectly safe. However I understand that some are not confident in doing such things so good luck in finding a specialist.
     
  34. Staz

    Staz is a retronaut
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,219
    Likes Received:
    64
    You can now spec bluetooth without the mount or armrest on the configurator. Still costs £385 though.
     

Share This Page