1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bluetooth telephone not connecting after retrofit HELP!

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by jimbogale, Aug 6, 2013.

  1. jimbogale
    Offline

    jimbogale New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 6, 2013]
    Hi, I have just followed the excellent guide on the forum for installing bluetooth as a retrofit. Everything seems to have gone well except for the fact no phone I try will pair. I have checked and double checked the coding in VCDS, the Telphone unit is coded as 0001222 ( I have a concert radio and multifunction steering wheel) and I have ensured that the pairing pincode is 1234 (checked on VCDS that this is the the pin no.) I have tried an apple, androind and windows phone and they all seem to go through the same cycle when I try to pair: 1) they detect the bluetooth 2) I then start the pairing process and add the pin number 3) It then spends 10 seconds saying connecting on the phone 4) the phone then doesnt connect and asks to be paired again.

    Has anyone experienced this before, I am racking my brains as to what the cause could be, my thoughts are dodgy bluetooth aerial or faulty unit?

    BTW no fault codes have come up on the telphone section on VCDS
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 24, 2014]

  3. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,321
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Aug 6, 2013]
    Welcome to the site.

    What's the BT unit version?
    #2
  4. jimbogale
    Offline

    jimbogale New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 6, 2013]
    Wow thanks for the quick reply, Its a 8P0862335H.

    James
    #3
  5. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,321
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Aug 6, 2013]
    Urmmm H is an older module, not related, but have you enabled module on the gateway module, have you got any older handsets to try to discount phone issues, could try pulling the power?
    #4
  6. jimbogale
    Offline

    jimbogale New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 6, 2013]
    In terms of enabling the module, I have ticked it to appear under the gateway module, and now it shows as one of the modules I can then interrogate using VCDS, is there soemthing else I should have done here? does this enable it? If it helps when I press the mode button on the steering wheel it say "insert phone" on the drivers display (it didn't do this prior to having installed the unit)

    I'll try another mobile phone tonight, will need to have a look around for one.

    Ill also try the power, I am guessing it will be as simple as disconnecting one of the main battery terminal and waiting 10 minutes befre reconnecting?
    #5
  7. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,321
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Aug 6, 2013]
    Yeap pull power for 1 minute & then reconnect, you may get some cluster lights until you drive down the road, but these will clear done worry.
    #6
  8. jimbogale
    Offline

    jimbogale New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 6, 2013]
    i just tried the power pull and unfortunately it didn't work, I have also tried all the old phones knocking around the house to no avail.... Is there anything left to try?
    #7
  9. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,321
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Aug 6, 2013]
    Well if all codings ok, wiring ok, the bt antenna is ok, then can only be the module as you've tried various phones now.

    We offer supply/fit of the latest version units.
    #8
  10. jimbogale
    Offline

    jimbogale New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 6, 2013]
    Would it be possible for you to pm for a price, not sure where you are based i am in Suffolk co10 8dy.
    #9
  11. Dannykn9
    Offline

    Dannykn9 "Cruise My Ride" VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,117
    Likes Received:
    53
    [Aug 6, 2013]
    Hi and welcome mate, have you tried the pairing process within the first 30 secs of turning the ignition on? It will not pair if you wait longer.
    #10
  12. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,321
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Aug 6, 2013]
    Mine connects anytime tbh Dan, even when pair has been removed & repaired later.
    #11
  13. Dannykn9
    Offline

    Dannykn9 "Cruise My Ride" VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,117
    Likes Received:
    53
    [Aug 6, 2013]
    Ah ok, I always found it only paired within 30 secs(the first initial pair). He can only but try matey, if all fails, then it seems it is a dodgy module.
    #12
    NHN likes this.
  14. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,321
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Aug 6, 2013]
    Totally agree there fella :)
    #13
  15. aky20
    Offline

    aky20 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2011
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Aug 6, 2013]
    Does it happen to be an iphone mate? Try another phone blackberry or something as I had that same issue did eventually connect after I changed the name of my phone and restoring it through itunes.
    #14
  16. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,321
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Aug 6, 2013]

    But yes I agree, do a restore just incase.
    #15
  17. Rhyso
    Offline

    Rhyso Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    894
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Aug 7, 2013]
    Also try clearing any other pairings on the phones. When i first had my A3 i couldnt connect my phone until I cleared old pairings. It then connected straight away :)
    #16

Share This Page