1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bluetooth Retro Fit

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by edition, Apr 30, 2009.

  1. edition
    Offline

    edition Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,428
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I,ve retro fitted RNS-E to my car and now want to get some of the buttons working!

    Have found a bluetooth module out of an S3 that comes with some wiring but not sure if complete...

    What do i need wiring wise and costs? lets say if i,ve only got the module??

    Also i don't have mfsw as of yet, how useable is it without this?


    Regards,
    #1
  2. mhill
    Offline

    mhill Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    0
    Q NHN!!!
    #2
  3. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,261
    Likes Received:
    1,223
    Ok well if its just the module you need the antenna which is about £20-£30, the mic which is also about the same & the loom which is about £40-£50 & some scotch locks & if you decide to get an mfsw at some stage then I'd wire in the sds with the mfsw, so you'll need some repair wires from audi for a few quid to do the in/out at the rns so you have bluetooth & rns voice command access etc, stick it under passenger seat removed & I actually cut out the foam & glued it to this otherwise you can buy the offical plastic container box that sits under passenger seat.

    Even without sds/mfsw the phone option is very good tbh, wouldnt be without now.

    Plus coding aswell.

    Or you can get someone to do for you at a cost, I'm down south.
    #3
  4. edition
    Offline

    edition Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,428
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cool cheers for that.

    So what is just a module worth?
    #4
  5. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    I was just going to say that the RNS-E bluetooth is some price! Not sure how much just on its own though. There is complete one £300 or best offer in ebay.
    #5
  6. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,261
    Likes Received:
    1,223
    The module alone could be worth £100-£150 but tbh it depends on which version it is mate, older ones are even below that, what version is it?
    #6
  7. The911SC
    Offline

    The911SC Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have a complete kit I am going to sell at some point .
    I also have the kufatec loom with it plus the mic (for an A4/S4 so not sure if that is the same part?)..
    PM me if interested
    When I bought the unit from the dealers (for my RS4 retrofit) it was about £350 i think (eek!)...
    Worth it though with the RNS E
    #7
  8. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,261
    Likes Received:
    1,223
    what version module is it mate?
    #8
  9. itssam
    Offline

    itssam A3 3.2Q Sport

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2009
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    can you fit the bluetooth with the single DIN unit? (concert 2 i think) and do you need the MFSW?

    I'm happy to use the phone to control the calls (have got it in a nice mount for the line in...)
    #9
  10. The911SC
    Offline

    The911SC Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    1
    I think its 'F' ; I will check
    #10
  11. The911SC
    Offline

    The911SC Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    1
    You need RNS or the Multi wheel really (pref both to make it really useful).
    If its a pure handsfree without either of those, save your money and buy a nokia or similar BT kit as you can wire that through the single din radio (there is a tel mute and tel +/- speaker input.)
    #11
  12. The911SC
    Offline

    The911SC Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    1
    It is F ; £250 plus postage if anyones interested.
    #12
  13. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,261
    Likes Received:
    1,223
    Ah shame man wanted latest Q or S tbh mate, but how much for the loom, mic & antenna?
    #13
  14. The911SC
    Offline

    The911SC Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    1
    not spilitting it; i'll take £200 for the lot.
    #14
  15. edition
    Offline

    edition Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,428
    Likes Received:
    0
    [​IMG]
    #15
  16. edition
    Offline

    edition Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,428
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    Above is a photo of the unit i am being offered and the wiring...


    To me the wiring looks like junk?


    Any ideas?


    Cheers
    #16
  17. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    New loom or some surgery on the old one....
    #17
  18. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    A new loom from Kufatec is 99 Euro

    [​IMG]
    #18
  19. edition
    Offline

    edition Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,428
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cheers for that John.

    Can you buy the connectors? I.e to save that loom?
    #19
  20. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    Is this a bluetooth only kit your fitting, ie no mounting plate for the phone?
    If so then there is a cheaper loom available from Kufatec for 39 Euro. The "full" system has an additional amp for the phone antenna on the roof and extra wires running to the phone holder.

    [​IMG]
    #20
  21. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    You can buy the connectors and repair wires. See here for more details
    You'll need a wiring diagram though to patch it back together.
    #21
  22. edition
    Offline

    edition Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,428
    Likes Received:
    0
    hmmm thanks again.

    Looks as if thats do-able then.... What do you think?

    Where does one get wiring diagrams from?
    #22
  23. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,261
    Likes Received:
    1,223
    Elsa supplies wiring schematics & that phone loom image from kufatec is the old version, they supply most of the ends as just wires so need to scotch lock except for the mic & the main bluetooth module end thats got plugs on.
    #23
  24. maars
    Offline

    maars Full speed ahead

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    3

    Any idea what "have you a smal BNS navi?: " means on this Kufatec page?
    #24
  25. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    It s the CD based nav system. Goes looking for a pic...
    #25
  26. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
  27. edition
    Offline

    edition Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,428
    Likes Received:
    0
    NHN what do you recon to that cut loom i have? Repairable?


    Cheers :)
    #27
  28. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,261
    Likes Received:
    1,223
    Yeah cant see why not, either bullet crimp or bit of solder, heatshrink & correct wire sizes will do it fine, then crimp onto the correct locations, only thing you need to do for the mic is buy the mic plug & 2 repair wires which would be few quid, just make sure the wire you use is mostly .35 or .5 given resistance etc, the kufatec loom uses .35 or .5 anyway
    #28
  29. edition
    Offline

    edition Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,428
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cool.

    One more question is that box easy enough to open up so he can get me the module part number?

    Cheers
    #29
  30. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,261
    Likes Received:
    1,223
    Yeah its only plastic I think & clipped shut, but I guess there's no antenna or is it in the box cause I always thought that stuck out from the oem box.
    #30
  31. edition
    Offline

    edition Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,428
    Likes Received:
    0
    Don't know...

    Anybody else....
    #31
  32. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,261
    Likes Received:
    1,223
    So you havnt actually got it as yet, the seller can open the box & tell you cant he.
    #32
  33. edition
    Offline

    edition Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,428
    Likes Received:
    0
    No haven't got it yet just wanting to make sure i'm not buying something that i can buy off the shelf for cheaper!

    He wasn't sure how the box opened and as i haven't seen one in the flesh I didn't want him too break it!
    #33
  34. The911SC
    Offline

    The911SC Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2003
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    1
    That is the loom I bought..
    The unit I have is like this (and it is the F version, not the A that was in my old S4).
    [​IMG]
    #34
  35. maars
    Offline

    maars Full speed ahead

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ahh, makes sense now - thanks!
    #35

Share This Page