1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bluetooth Phone Bonding - Help!!!!!

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by scotsgogs, Nov 9, 2008.

  1. scotsgogs
    Offline

    scotsgogs New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 9, 2008]
    I have an 06 plate A6 with MMI High and has the integrated phone option in the centre armrest (motorola handset preinstalled).

    I am trying to pair my new Sony Ericsson W890i with the car (so as to automatically pair up with the car when I get in) but am woefully failing in my quest.

    I'm following the owners manual instructions but it just doesn't seem to be successful as i'm not getting any connectivity for my phone through the car.

    Can anyone please provide me with an idiots guide as to how to achieve this (assuming it is possible). Any assistance would be greatfully welcomed.

    Cheers.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 22, 2014]

  3. VRStu
    Offline

    VRStu Just Looking VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Nov 9, 2008]
    Does your phone 'see' the BT when you search for new devices?
    #2
  4. scotsgogs
    Offline

    scotsgogs New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 9, 2008]
    yes, when seaching for new devices on my phone I can find the car ok, I get the option to 'proceed with bonding', input a code (any 4 digits seems to work) and input the corresponding digits into the car via MMI. This all works ok but thereafter I can't see anything that indicates that the phone is 'paired' - is there a way to check this or is there anything else I need to do with either the phone or the car settings (switching off the in-car phone or removing the sim car that's in the armrest holder for example?). Cheers.
    #3
  5. VRStu
    Offline

    VRStu Just Looking VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Nov 9, 2008]
    I thought the codes were normally 1234 for most of the BT setups but it may have been changed.
    #4
  6. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Nov 9, 2008]
    You cannot pair a mobile to that built in motorola system.

    It is basically another mobile phone system, hence the SIM holder.

    So yes, you can "pair" with it, but you cannot connect with it like the standard hands free system found in other Audis with the cradle plate.

    Either use a dual SIM system or replace it with the a bluetooth system.
    #5
  7. scotsgogs
    Offline

    scotsgogs New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 9, 2008]
    thanks guys - bummer!!! Here was thinking it was an all singing system too. Never mind. Cheers.
    #6

Share This Page