1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bluetooth OBD Setup ?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by A3 T, Feb 3, 2013.

  1. A3 T

    A3 T Lord Of The Rings

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,050
    Likes Received:
    14
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. vrbob

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,375
    Likes Received:
    170
    #2 vrbob, Feb 3, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2013
  4. A3 T

    A3 T Lord Of The Rings

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,050
    Likes Received:
    14

    Its just a sales pitch, they are the same.


    I was thinking it was the phone connection at first but i can even get it to work with the laptop using the supplied software. I was then thinking it was that its not compatible with the car but its not working on the any other car :(
     
  5. vrbob

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,375
    Likes Received:
    170
    Maybe yours is just faulty then?
     
  6. A3 T

    A3 T Lord Of The Rings

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,050
    Likes Received:
    14


    Its a bit hard to explain but the phone seems to connect to the adapter but wont read from the car.


    Ill try and make a video ;)
     
  7. A3 T

    A3 T Lord Of The Rings

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,050
    Likes Received:
    14
    I've also come across this video that's got me thinking:



     
    #6 A3 T, Feb 3, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 15, 2014
  8. vrbob

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,375
    Likes Received:
    170
    Well I will happily sit on the fence till you manage to work it all out and then jump in once its all sorted :)

    So good luck dude hope you get it up n running asap!
     
  9. A3 T

    A3 T Lord Of The Rings

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,050
    Likes Received:
    14
    Well so far you seem to be the only one interested.....lol
     
  10. Rick @ Unicorn Motor Dev.

    Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,197
    Likes Received:
    533
    one thing to note is that the iPhone will only work over Wifi, not Bluetooth.
     
  11. Goubo1

    Goubo1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    223
    whats the best app for iPhone ?
     
  12. A3 T

    A3 T Lord Of The Rings

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,050
    Likes Received:
    14


    A standard iphone will only work over wifi ;)

    Here's a video showing how its meant to work:


    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QOZ-YxqC8_g


    But even if that was the case i should still be able to connect using my laptop :think:
     
  13. vrbob

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,375
    Likes Received:
    170
    So has anyone got one of these working with an iphone?
     
  14. shariain

    shariain Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,182
    Likes Received:
    190
    I have a elm 327 wifi one working with my iPhone as far as I'm aware you can't use the Bluetooth version with apple devices only android.
     
  15. vrbob

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,375
    Likes Received:
    170
    Cool thanks for that so can I ask which obd adapter you have and what app are you using on the iphone?
     
  16. shariain

    shariain Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,182
    Likes Received:
    190
    This is the obd adaptor I'm using.

    [​IMG]

    I used rev, dash commander and FUZZYcar but they are all **** to be honest I'm just glad I tried before I bought any of them.
     
  17. vrbob

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,375
    Likes Received:
    170
    V helpful mate thanks for that, so in regards to the apps are any of them free? and are they not good at all?
     
  18. shariain

    shariain Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,182
    Likes Received:
    190
    The apps are very laggy for real time data and not all the parameters are recorded for logging also I have found for the diagnostic side it only looks at the emissions side of things and the engine management light. I know I have 2 faults on my car 1 with the hvac (sp) flap on the passenger side and the other with the passenger door lock and these don't come up on the apps. At best the apps are only good for resetting the engine management light when it comes on as long as you know what the fault is showing.

    This is just my opinion, I have not seen the apps for free I think FUZZYcar is the cheapest then rev then dash commander. Rev has a lite app that is free but it doesn't do the diagnostics.
     
  19. A3 T

    A3 T Lord Of The Rings

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,050
    Likes Received:
    14



    That's where ROQYBT4 comes in, It allows you to use bluetooth on iphones ;)


    But that still wouldn't explain why it still wont work on a laptop.




    Maybe i should try one of those big black adapters like the one you have pictured.



    Do you know if its v1.4 or 1.5 ?
     
  20. A3 T

    A3 T Lord Of The Rings

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,050
    Likes Received:
    14
    Update.....


    I managed to get this to work today.


    What you need to do is set up rogyby with the ignition off then setup dashcommand with the ignition on.


    I still think my adapter is faulty as i keep loosing the bluetooth signal and it doesn't correct itself until i unplug the adapter and plug it back in.


    Another thing is that i know I've got a fault code stored as it shows up with vagcom but dashcommand is telling me i don't have any.


    Does anyone know any other good apps ?
     
  21. vrbob

    vrbob Thats no Moon, Thats a space station!

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,375
    Likes Received:
    170
  22. Advert Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. A3 T

    A3 T Lord Of The Rings

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,050
    Likes Received:
    14



    I bough mine from this seller but the one in your link looks the same:


    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Super-Mini-OBD2-ELM327-V1-5-Bluetooth-Car-Scanner-Android-Torque-Auto-Scan-Tool-/121052535105?clk_rvr_id=447249055543&ssPageName=ADME%3AL%3AOU%3AGB%3A3160&afsrc=1&nma=true&si=p%252FouCTs21z3B10%252BIzJ6RDaWllhY%253D&orig_cvip=true&rt=nc&_trksid=p2047675.l2557


    But like i said it keeps dropping signal so I'm thinking of giving this one a try:

    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Wireless-Bluetooth-Car-ELM327-OBD2-OBDII-Diagnostic-Interface-Scanner-PC-Android-/150830767530?pt=UK_Diagnostic_Tools_Equipment&hash=item231e36ddaa



    And here is a link to the dashcommand app:


    https://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/dashcommand-obd-ii-gauge-dashboards/id321293183?mt=8


    And Rev:

    https://itunes.apple.com/gb/app/rev/id302420711?mt=8





    You'll also need to have your iphone jailbroken so you can install RoqyBT4 :

    http://www.roqy-bluetooth.net/wp/?page_id=155




    If your phones not jailbroken then you'll need a obd wifi adapter (not the bluetooth one that I've linked to) like shariain has pictured.


    Hope this helps ;)
     
  24. A3 T

    A3 T Lord Of The Rings

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,050
    Likes Received:
    14
    I managed to get rev to work (still keeps dropping signal) but that didn't find any fault codes either.


    The fault code i know i have because vagcom picks it up is:



    17705 - Pressure Drop between Turbo and Throttle Valve (check D.V.!)
    P1297 - 35-10 - - - Intermittent



    Could it be that the code is vag specific and this other software only picks up generic fault codes ?
     
  25. shariain

    shariain Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,182
    Likes Received:
    190
    I think they only pick up on emission based fault codes that put the engine management light on.
     
  26. A3 T

    A3 T Lord Of The Rings

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,050
    Likes Received:
    14


    Hmmm.... That's not what they say in their sales pitch.

    You would think dashcommand would do a better job as it's from the same people that make scanxl software.
     
  27. PeteA3

    PeteA3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same issue with the same adapter from ebay. I can connect to the adapter and other cars no problem but not the Audi
    I have dashcommand ... but what is rogyby?
    (BTW My phone is android)
     
  28. Stuart B

    Stuart B Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2015
    Messages:
    807
    Likes Received:
    104
    why don't you use android torque lite?
     
  29. PeteA3

    PeteA3 New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have full version of torque, however I also tried the torque lite in case there was something different. I basically tried all the android OBD apps that work with the elm . My problem is same as original poster. the Bluetooth is working. but the adapter cant seem to find a protocol to talk to the ECU. The adapter works on my other vehicles no worries (however these are all Japan vehicles Nissan Mitsubishi Isuzu. I haven't tried it with my saab 9-3 but I have the battery out and engine apart so cant do that at the moment).

    I plan on pulling the OBD connector on the weekend to see what pins are populated.
    My research leads me to believe I should have a bosch ME 7.5 ECU however I am not sure if the protocol is ISO9142 or KW1281 or something else.

    I have also thought I might try getting the OBDeleven from ebay and get the VAG app. However I would prefer to try and use what I already have.
    Any recommendations on a cheap setup that will let me fix /offset the fuel gauge. as well as the usual basic info would be great.

    Also I worked out that rogyb was an apple app the original poster was using. Thanks
     
  30. Ashy>>

    Ashy>> Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    10
    do these adapters work with diesels at all?
     
  31. Stuart B

    Stuart B Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2015
    Messages:
    807
    Likes Received:
    104
    just buy another ODB 2 device they are only a fiver. the android pro is okay as it has the boost and hp / torque settings. I have had my Bluetooth android torque odb 2 reader for about 3/4 years now and it has worked on 3 phones and every car I have tried apart from an old Mercedes with an ODB1 to ODB2 adapter on. Renault, Fiat, Alfa, Audi, VW, Jag, Volvo

    "do these adapters work with diesels at all?" I cleared my boss's error fault on his VW Passat Diesel.
     
  32. Ashy>>

    Ashy>> Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    10
    I can get my elm327 to pair with my phone but it just will not connect to my 2002 a3 tdi.

    Loosing my mind with the thing
     

Share This Page