1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bluetooth Module location 2005 Audi A8

Discussion in 'A8/S8 forum' started by Col Clarke, May 14, 2013.

  1. Col Clarke
    Offline

    Col Clarke Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    [May 14, 2013]
    Hello.

    Can anyone please advise on the exact location of the Bluetooth Module in my audi a8. I've recently fitted a Viseeo MOST kit and at the moment the MMI is struggling on which phone set up to use, be it the already installed Audi kit or the Viseeo. The Audi kit is the old style which has the SIM card beneath the handset in the armrest so I cannot connect to this with my phone. Apparently on the new style handset you can connect any phone to the system.

    My thoughts are - if I disconnect the audi kit from the bluetooth module then the MMI with hopefully see the Viseeo and connect every time.? Just out of interest I disconnected fuse number 13 ( phone and mmi) and when I placed it back in the phone prep did connect with no issues to the Viseeo kit. It also worked fine until I switched the engine off.

    The Viseeo kit is attached to the rear of the cd changer via the fibre optic cable.

    Your thoughts please ?

    Thank you in advance

    Colin..
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Nov 22, 2014]

  3. a6_chris
    Offline

    a6_chris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    152
    [May 14, 2013]
    #2
  4. Col Clarke
    Offline

    Col Clarke Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    [May 14, 2013]
    Thanks a6 - Chris. God, it's never easy is it. :). Any thoughts as to why the Viseeo kit sometimes connects and other times it dosnt? It would be nice if there was a fuse I could remove to disable it that way.
    #3
  5. a6_chris
    Offline

    a6_chris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    152
    [May 14, 2013]
    You may find that when you remove the Audi BT module it will work perfectly

    Remove it altogether then you will remove any chance of another problem possibly occurring in the future.
    #4
  6. Col Clarke
    Offline

    Col Clarke Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    [May 14, 2013]
    Will it not work if I have it removed from the vcds. Will the car then not see it to connect.?
    #5
  7. a6_chris
    Offline

    a6_chris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    152
    [May 14, 2013]
    Needs to be removed with vcds and physically as the unit will still be present in the MOST ring.

    Purchase one of those loops I linked above and plug this into the plug that you will remove from the Audi BT moudle, problem solved.
    #6
  8. Col Clarke
    Offline

    Col Clarke Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    [May 14, 2013]
    Okay. So the item from eBay is going to needed regardless? I take it this closes the fibre loop? Be helpful if Viseeo told us this before you buy the gits....
    #7
  9. a6_chris
    Offline

    a6_chris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    152
    [May 14, 2013]
    Yes you will need that and vcds to tell the car the BT has been removed.
    #8
  10. Col Clarke
    Offline

    Col Clarke Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    [May 14, 2013]
    Got ya. Ignore my last question. You've answered it already mate. Thanks .......
    #9
  11. Col Clarke
    Offline

    Col Clarke Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    [May 14, 2013]
    Thanks for your help a6-Chris..... :salute:
    #10
    a6_chris likes this.
  12. a6_chris
    Offline

    a6_chris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    152
  13. Col Clarke
    Offline

    Col Clarke Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    [May 16, 2013]
    Hey a-6 Chris. You there...??
    #12
  14. Col Clarke
    Offline

    Col Clarke Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    [May 24, 2013]
    Hello Chris.

    Quick question mate - I've purchased the optic cable and all is now fitted to my A8. It's working a treat, connects every time. - I have however lost my voice command feature.! Is this normal?

    cheers Chris
    #13
  15. a6_chris
    Offline

    a6_chris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    152
    [May 24, 2013]
    Hi Col,

    Sorry I haven't been in contact, had a load of stuff landed at once!

    Yeah I can only assume thats normal as you've removed the original BT module.

    Is it all working AOK now?
    #14
  16. Col Clarke
    Offline

    Col Clarke Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    [May 24, 2013]
    That's okay mate. Yes all is great now. Sourced the same cable from the UK in the end. But yep, the viseeo kit is working fine..
    Connects everytime, quality is spot on. The car didn't need coding either. :)
    So I take it the BT module and voice command are one in the same? Loved that voice command an all.....the only women that wont tell me where to go when I told it to do something....
    #15

Share This Page