1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bluetooth help

Discussion in 'Audi S4/A4/A4 Cab (B7 Chassis)' started by schmergal, Oct 9, 2012.

  1. schmergal
    Offline

    schmergal Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Oct 9, 2012]
    Hello, could someone run me through how to link my iPhone to the handsfree please, can't find instructions in the manual
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 30, 2014]

  3. Macdoon
    Offline

    Macdoon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,627
    Likes Received:
    304
    [Oct 9, 2012]
    #2
  4. fossie
    Offline

    fossie Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 9, 2012]
    Turn your bluetooth then onto search (or whatever its called), turn ignition on then it should ping up on your phone, think the passcode is 1234
    #3
  5. schmergal
    Offline

    schmergal Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Oct 9, 2012]
    That vid is for a B8 but, mines a B7, does mine even have handsfree as nothing in the manual and phone isn't picking up any Bluetooth..... Does the phone have to be connected to the cradle?
    #4
  6. phil_w
    Offline

    phil_w Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Oct 9, 2012]
    No - phone doesn't have to be in cradle - but you don't get long after turning ignition to complete the search otherwise nothing found...
    #5
  7. schmergal
    Offline

    schmergal Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Oct 9, 2012]
    What's the sequence Phil?
    #6
  8. schmergal
    Offline

    schmergal Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Oct 9, 2012]
    And pin
    #7
  9. bez101
    Online

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,863
    Likes Received:
    519
    [Oct 9, 2012]
    as above turn BT on so its searching
    then turn car on
    thats if you have BT.
    (1234)
    #8
  10. schmergal
    Offline

    schmergal Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Oct 9, 2012]
    Will try that in the morn, cheers bez
    #9
  11. schmergal
    Offline

    schmergal Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Oct 10, 2012]
    Na still not working, help!
    #10
  12. phil_w
    Offline

    phil_w Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Oct 10, 2012]
    I think then you nned to get a diagnostic scan to check if the bluetooth is whinging or anything...
    #11
  13. bez101
    Online

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,863
    Likes Received:
    519
    [Oct 10, 2012]
    have you got the BT fitted ?
    #12
  14. phil_w
    Offline

    phil_w Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Oct 10, 2012]
    Has it got the cradle in the armrest or moulded onto the dash? Doesn't make a difference - just asking
    #13
  15. bez101
    Online

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,863
    Likes Received:
    519
    [Oct 10, 2012]
    ones iv had in armrest had the BT
    the 07 cab i have now had well had it on the dash didnt have BT
    checked with VCDS aswell
    #14
  16. schmergal
    Offline

    schmergal Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Oct 10, 2012]
    Has the cradle in the armrest, has the mode button on the steering wheel which once u press says insert phone on dash, also has another button on wheel which when u press says speak on stereo and voice asks for a few diff commands
    #15
  17. PetrolDave
    Offline

    PetrolDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    82
    [Oct 10, 2012]
    The only Audi phone module that doesn't have BT is the very earliest version from 2004 - so if you have an Audi phone module in an 07 cab then you have BT - period.

    But the BT can be turned off with VCDS - worth checking if that has been done. See Audi A3 (8P) Telephone Preparation - Ross-Tech Wiki - adaptation channel 133.
    #16
  18. ANDYTQ
    Offline

    ANDYTQ Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    971
    Likes Received:
    26
    [Oct 10, 2012]
    Got mfsw with a phone button i think,will i have bluetooth as well ?
    #17
  19. Dannykn9
    Offline

    Dannykn9 "Cruise My Ride" VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,117
    Likes Received:
    53
    [Oct 10, 2012]
    Correct.

    All B7 cabs I have worked on which have the phone cradle in the armrest or on the dash, DO have Bluetooth.
    BUT as Dave said, sometimes these have been deactivated from factory purely because the sound and especially the person at the other end cannot hear properly when the roof is down.

    It just needs to activated with VCDS.

    For example, I fitted cruise to a blokes b7 cab a few weeks ago, and he asked about having BT installed. I took one look in his armrest, saw the cradle plate, done my magic with VCDS and activated it. Bloke was amazed and handed me an extra £20. Everyone's a winner.

    Some company's, well a lot, know this and will keep your B7 cab for a few hours, say they have installed extra parts, then charge you £150!!
    So if you have the cradle plate in place, then you certainly have BT as this an extra to the BT kit.
    #18
  20. schmergal
    Offline

    schmergal Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Oct 10, 2012]
    Cheers Danny, that is exactly the reply I've been waiting on..... mate has it so will go see him 2moro
    #19
  21. Dannykn9
    Offline

    Dannykn9 "Cruise My Ride" VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,117
    Likes Received:
    53
    [Oct 11, 2012]
    Thanks button is bottom left of the post fella ;-)
    Once the Bluetooth is activated then he will be able to use his MFSW, he can hit the mode button to go back and forth between radio and phonebook on the DIS allowing him to select his contact and dial. Or he could even use the speech button on the right and voice control the BT.
    But be warned, when he has the roof down(not that he will in this weather, lol) that the voice control and even calls will not be all that, hence why Audi turned this of from factory.

    Keep us updated on how you get in mate, you can also PM me if you need any help.
    #20
  22. phil_w
    Offline

    phil_w Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Oct 11, 2012]
    Not 100% that OP has a cab? I think this post has got a bit crossed over at times?
    #21
  23. Dannykn9
    Offline

    Dannykn9 "Cruise My Ride" VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,117
    Likes Received:
    53
    [Oct 11, 2012]
    well I am guessing he or his mate has a cab, as he replied that I gave him the answer he is looking for. But I could be wrong!
    But none the less, regardless wether it is a cab or saloon, bottom line is, if there is the phone cradle plate in place, either in the arm rest or on the dash, then there will be BT installed, even if it is not active. As this is an extra add on to the BT. You can have BT without the cradle holder, but you can't have the cradle holder without BT.
    So problem could actually lie with having a faulty BT module as you have already suggested mate.

    He needs to scan module 77 (telephone) and see if it picks up the module.
    #22
  24. bez101
    Online

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,863
    Likes Received:
    519
    [Oct 11, 2012]
    i have VCDS na dknow how to work it
    my 07 cab has NOT got the BT 100% not got ot
    but its got the armrest cradle
    its not got the mic either and on the codes sticker in the boot and service book theres no mention of BT fitted
    but feel free to waste an afternoon call over and scan it
    #23
  25. Dannykn9
    Offline

    Dannykn9 "Cruise My Ride" VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,117
    Likes Received:
    53
    [Oct 11, 2012]
    Don't know what your problem is fella??

    I suppose PetrolDave is wrong to??
    I am going from past experience, I have coded in at least three cabs that had the cradle and all worked fine. And every Audi I have ever worked on, indeed had the BT fitted.

    Maybe you were just unlucky then, and your cradle is just a dummy model? Who knows mate.
    #24
  26. bez101
    Online

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,863
    Likes Received:
    519
    [Oct 11, 2012]
    nope the cradle works fine
    got the mfsw etc but defo no BT or mic
    iv got 1 ready to fit when i find the time tho so all's good.
    #25
  27. Dannykn9
    Offline

    Dannykn9 "Cruise My Ride" VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,117
    Likes Received:
    53
    [Oct 11, 2012]
    Well that is very strange mate.
    Lets hope you don't find a BT module when installing your new one, lol!

    Are you at ADI Saturday, if so, then could I possibly take a look at it?
    #26
  28. bez101
    Online

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,863
    Likes Received:
    519
    [Oct 11, 2012]
    checked the normal hideing places and no module
    cant get away from work for ADI pity tho id love to come.
    #27
  29. Dannykn9
    Offline

    Dannykn9 "Cruise My Ride" VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,117
    Likes Received:
    53
    [Oct 11, 2012]
    Pull a sicky mate, sure loads of others have, lol!
    #28
  30. bez101
    Online

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,863
    Likes Received:
    519
    [Oct 11, 2012]
    id love to but its my own contract
    and if i dont do it i loose the thing and its not easy finding a class 1 driver with hours to spare
    but if you know of any point them in my direction.
    #29
  31. schmergal
    Offline

    schmergal Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Oct 11, 2012]
    Mine ain't a cab, tiz an 07 avant, so mine might not be turned off then? Where the mic gonna be? No sign of it but ur woman understands me when she asks me commands
    #30
  32. Dannykn9
    Offline

    Dannykn9 "Cruise My Ride" VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,117
    Likes Received:
    53
    [Oct 11, 2012]
    The mic will be located in the map light unit, if you pull this down, you should be able to see it.

    If she understands you, then you must have the BT installed as the mic goes direct to the BT module.
    I assume that when you press the speak button, and for example say "help" she will the kindly reply back with a list of possible commands?

    wish my women would speak as kindly as her. These BT women voices are so unrealistic, lol!
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2012
    #31
  33. PetrolDave
    Offline

    PetrolDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    82
    [Oct 11, 2012]
    If it's factory fitted the module is in a plastic box underneath the carpet under the front seat - so it's not exactly easy to spot...
    #32
  34. PetrolDave
    Offline

    PetrolDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    82
    [Oct 11, 2012]
    As a Super Moderator on Audi Forum I've fitted around a dozen phone modules and advised over a hundred people who have fitted it themselves - so I suppose I don't have a clue what I'm talking about:sadlike:
    #33
  35. phil_w
    Offline

    phil_w Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Oct 11, 2012]
    I suppose there's a chance the Bluetooth antenna has failed or popped off . Slim chance I know ..,
    #34
  36. PetrolDave
    Offline

    PetrolDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    82
    [Oct 11, 2012]
    I was thinking that yesterday, but never got round to posting it.

    The first thing is to check for fault codes (some are blocking), then check whether BT is enabled (using VCDS) and if it is then check that the correct pairing process is being used (as the BT is only visible for a few minutes after the ignition is turned on many people think they don't have BT if they try and pair without the ignition on or at the end of a drive).

    If that's all OK then I've seen cases where the BT module has got into a strange state, so then it's worth popping the fuse that powers it.

    Only after all that is it worth trying to physically get to the module (as it's under the seat that's a real PITA).
    #35
  37. bez101
    Online

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,863
    Likes Received:
    519
    [Oct 11, 2012]
    under seat was the first place i checked
    as iv also been doin retrofits for a few year (not my main job)
    i kinda know where they live
    and had a fair few ppl from here have work done by me.
    so not realy a noob at any of this
    #36
  38. PetrolDave
    Offline

    PetrolDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    82
    [Oct 12, 2012]
    So why do you think you don't have Bluetooth then?

    You DO have Bluetooth, it's just that there's a problem with it - which is an entirely different thing.
    #37
  39. bez101
    Online

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,863
    Likes Received:
    519
    [Oct 12, 2012]
    not been funny i dont know if you read above but
    i dont have the BT module under the seat behind the dash etc
    i dont have the mic nothing in VCDS etc
    so yeah i know i have a problem and the problem is its not fitted
    no wireing either going under the seat.
    #38
  40. phil_w
    Offline

    phil_w Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Oct 12, 2012]
    Guys I think this post has got it's wires crossed a bit - schmergl was the original poster and bez was just contributing with his comments so I think we need to draw a line under it?

    :)
    #39
  41. schmergal
    Offline

    schmergal Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Oct 16, 2012]
    Finally got it paired this morning
    #40

Share This Page