1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bluetooth for RNS-E

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by Paul100, Dec 8, 2011.

  1. Paul100
    Offline

    Paul100 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Dec 8, 2011]
    Hi guys, can anyone tell me if a bluetooth module from an A3 would work in an A4?

    I would have thought it would be the same. I only ask because this one has the prefix 8P0 whereas all the ones I have been looking at start 8P1
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 18, 2014]

  3. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Dec 8, 2011]
    Yes it would, the 8P0 module you have been looking at in the classifieds will work in the A3 8P/TT 8J/A4 B6&B7/R8 /A6 C5 models

    8P1 are the latest modules
    #2
  4. Paul100
    Offline

    Paul100 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Dec 17, 2011]
    Ok got the unit, and pulled my dash apart to fit and have another question now....

    I already have a microphone fitted in the courtesy light unit..

    Anyone have a clue where the other end of this would be hidden? or where Audi usually fit the bluetooth modules? Have had a hunt around but cant find it, or a spurious spare plug (the other end of the mic cable) anywhere (was getting dark though...)
    #3
  5. Paul100
    Offline

    Paul100 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Dec 18, 2011]
    Ok fitted it and worked fine, then stopped working with the message 'phone not connected or device not working'. So took it all apart checked connections etc, and it started working ok. Now put it all back together and not working again................... ARGH!!!

    vcds lite cannot connect to 77 telephone..

    Anyone have any ideas??
    #4
  6. jb0o
    Offline

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator Regional Rep Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,615
    Likes Received:
    104
    [Dec 19, 2011]
    Have you coded the Radio to accept Telephone?

    Where did you find the end of the microphone cable?
    #5
  7. Paul100
    Offline

    Paul100 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Dec 20, 2011]
    I did re-code the radio (well navigation tab in vcds) should there be another part I should code? Seems strange as it was working??

    I didnt find the other end of the mic cable in the end after an hour or so of searching I decided it was quicker to just install the new one a run the cable around (only took 20mins..)
    #6
  8. Paul100
    Offline

    Paul100 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Dec 23, 2011]
    Any ideas????

    Also I have noticed that my car is beeping at me (3 short beeps) whenever a door (or the boot) is opened. Thats only started since the bluetotth install.......
    #7
  9. jb0o
    Offline

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator Regional Rep Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,615
    Likes Received:
    104
    [Dec 23, 2011]
    You also need to code in the CAN Gateway #19 I believe.
    #8
  10. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Dec 23, 2011]
    I'm confused as to which mic you used as you said you have one in place. Have you by any chance used one of the alarm sensors which may be why your car bleeps now.
    #9
  11. Paul100
    Offline

    Paul100 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Dec 24, 2011]
    Oh that's a thought, I assumed it was a Mic as it was installed in the 'mic position'. Is the microwave alarm sensor normally in the courtesy light unit? As I disconnected this and put the new Mic in its place....
    #10
  12. Cruiser89
    Offline

    Cruiser89 Advanced In Car Tech Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    197
    [Dec 24, 2011]
    Yes it is.

    Also if you have BOSE then there will be a mic there that listens to the sound output in your car.

    If your car did not come with Bluetooth installed it would not of had a mic fitted.
    #11
  13. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Dec 24, 2011]
    What type of A4 do you have? The standard A4 mic is oblong and the cab mics from 2007 are round.

    I have a feeling you have been supplied a round mic and have removed the alarm mic to install it.

    hence the beeping
    #12
  14. Paul100
    Offline

    Paul100 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Dec 24, 2011]
    It's an '04 s4 cab. And yes with bose.

    It was oblong, in fact the sticker had the same part number ad the bit I put in, which is why I assumed it was a Mic......

    Better put it back in then..... Doh!
    #13
  15. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Dec 24, 2011]
    Ok, that clears things up, the 04 cabby has two oblong mics, the existing mic is for bose and should be relocated to the other end of the lighting dome. So BOSE Mic on the left, TEL mic on the right.

    Still doesn't answer why your car is beeping unless you dislodged one of the alarm sensors in the dome.
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2011
    #14
  16. Paul100
    Offline

    Paul100 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Dec 27, 2011]
    ok guys all working now.

    Many thanks for your help.

    I re-installed the existing mic (as you said Craig keeping the bt one closest to drivers side) and all is working fine. The beeping has stopped, and the bluetooth now works............. hurrah!!
    #15
  17. Paul100
    Offline

    Paul100 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jan 2, 2012]
    Hmmm it would seem I spoke too soon.....

    This bluetooth seems to have a mind of its own? it worked when I reinstalled the 2nd mic, and once since. But now deosn't seem to be in the mood?

    In fact my phone cant even discover it now let alone connect????

    It doesnt help that I only have vcds lite so can't communicate with the telephone control module (77) to see whats going on in there...

    Any ideas?
    #16

Share This Page