Bluetooth car kit

I

imported_dazzling

Hi Guys,

I am new to the A4 world have have just bought an 02 plate 3.0 quattro sport. Love the car!

It has Navigation plus but I am wondering what options I have to interconnect a bluetooth car kit to give radio mute etc. I used to install car phone, ICE years ago although if it is too complex would be prepared to pay someone in the Cheshire, Manchester area.

I generally use Nokia mobiles, but may go Sony Ericcson in the future so compatibility is important.

Also my Nav Plus does not seem to have the TV module fitted, any ideas where I can get one and how to fit?

Any advice/help welcome.

Cheers

Dazzling

I think you will find that you have a mute input at the back of the head unit. You can probably feed the output of the car kit into the head unit. BOSE will give you a problem, but you haven't stated that you have that. Lots of people have Parrot kits (including me) and they seem good. SonyEricsson integration seems good (much better than the Panansonic bluetooth attempt).

I have a hard-wired Nokia Cark-126 with my 7250 and it works great. Combined it with a dashmount from dashmount.co.uk for a non drilling solution.

Charges the phone, and most importantly, no-one can tell you are using a hands free kit as the quality is superb.

Bluetooth is an industry standard - so a Sony Ericsson Bluetooth carkit will work with any Bluetooth capable phone.

I have the Sony Ericsson HCB-30 kit and it is good. Contrary to popular belief, you do need to get the extra cable to mute the stereo - well I did anyway.

In reply to clcollins:

1) With bluetooth, your phone always has to be on prior to starting your engine, the car kit only sends out the ‘connect’ signal for a short period upon ignition, if your phone is not ‘bluetooth on’ then you will have to turn it on and stop/start your engine.