1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Blank keys off Ebay

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by Aldo, Jun 11, 2006.

  1. Aldo
    Offline

    Aldo Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,006
    Likes Received:
    10
    I have posted this on another forum but there seems to be more of a uk member base here so might get more response!

    I have just got myself an A4 Avant 03 plate 2.0.
    It's a lovely car and is as new, anyhow-the car only came with 1 key, so I browsed Ebay other night and won an auction for a blank key new shape(ready to be cut) with 3 button remote (ready to be programmed).

    Has anyone done the same and got the key re programmed by an Audi dealer or can it be done without somehow?
    lastly how much is it approx to get the key re programmed?

    I did ask an Audi dealer and they said just to bin it, probably because I did not buy the key off them!

    Just wondering if anyone else has done the same.
    I did get the key re cut but becase the module inside the key has not been reprogrammed to the imobiliser it just sets the incredibly loud alarm (not) off!!!

    Many thanks in advance.

    Si
    #1
  2. Olly_K
    Offline

    Olly_K Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2000
    Messages:
    2,678
    Likes Received:
    1
    i believe it can only be done by a dealer, as they need to check the immob codes etc with germany or something along those lines. Apparantly they plug it all in a PC in germany validates it all and re-programs it.

    This is only what I've heard.
    #2
  3. Aldo
    Offline

    Aldo Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,006
    Likes Received:
    10
    The Ebay key now unlocks/locks the doors-The key will start the eine but then turns off, It cannot be re programmed as it is on a rolling code or summit.

    Oh well :(
    #3
  4. timboukvw
    Offline

    timboukvw Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    2
    POO PANTS. I'M 90 % SURE THE KEYS HAVE A CHIP THAT YOU CAN PULL OUT AND INTERCHANGE SO IF YOU JUST NEEDED A NEW ONE IT WOULD BE FINE BUT AS YOU HAVEN'T GOT THE OLD SPARE KEY IT CAN'T BE DONE. THOUGHT BOUT BUYING A SPARE TOO AS I ALSO ONLY HAVE ONE KEY. BUT THOUGHT BETTER OF IT.
    #4
  5. Aldo
    Offline

    Aldo Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,006
    Likes Received:
    10
    Yeah there is a chip inside, wouldn't want to try and swap it over though in case it messes it up totally!
    I have noticed the older type 3 button keys are selling for more. saw a listing last night currently at £56, I got mine for £12 incl postage for the brand new shape?!
    #5
  6. confusionhunter
    Offline

    confusionhunter Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2005
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    1
    If you have the Cars immobilser code you can use Vagcom to program the car to accept the key... problem is you either need to go to Audi to getthe immobiliser code or go to a specialist auto locksmith...... Other than that you can use Audi to progran the keys for you. Swapping the chip over would do nothing as you program the car to the key not the other way round..... I posted elsewhere you can get trsnsponder(the chips) from auto-locksmith on ebay quite cheaply, but Audi will still need to program the car/key together unless you have VAGcom and the immobilser code.......
    You follow? If you get Audi to do it you need to give them all your car keys, so if you need more than 2 buy another (even without the remote) and get them to do that too... wont cost any extra.
    #6
  7. barker196
    Offline

    barker196 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can't help you with your question but i too want another key.

    Went to the dealer today armed with my code etc expecting a 5 minute job and £30. Unfortunately they have 3 parts to it which comes to about £100 and are ordered from Germany i believe. Then the car has to go in the workshop for them to programme the thing to it.

    No change from £150! Outrageous.

    On the flip side, has anyone lost their key. What would it cost then? And how would you get the car home while waiting on the 3-4 day manufacture? The how would you get it to Audi? I'm thinking expensive! £150 doesn't seem so bad all of a sudden!
    #7
  8. Aldo
    Offline

    Aldo Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,006
    Likes Received:
    10
    The key I got off Ebay was tenner, 4 quid to get it cut, then the dealership tried to programme it but it wouldn't work, but this is possibly because I got the new shape key instead of the squarer old type which might work on a different code frequency for the immoboliser.
    I noticed the older shaped keys are going for 60 quid ish on Ebay, if I was to buy an older shaped key it would probably work with the re coding, so would only cost about 100 quid to get it done in total. But to save less hassle you may aswell couph up the 150 quid from the dealership and then you can take it back there if you get any problems with it further along down the line.
    #8
  9. samuelt
    Offline

    samuelt Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    0
    I agree with Aldo

    When i got my Audi 5 weeks ago it came with only one key, i purchase a used key from Ebay to obtain the Alarm section, this turned out to be completly pointless as they were unable to reprogram it to match the car!!

    I ended up paying audi £150 for the new key and labour to code it.

    BUT £150 will get you the key next day. The garage ordered a new front half and had the alarm part in stock.

    It would be intresting to see how much it cost for a new VW/Skoda/Seat key or even a Vauxhall on as they are all made by the same company.
    #9
  10. dsmclark40v
    Offline

    dsmclark40v Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    5
    #10
  11. Aldo
    Offline

    Aldo Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,006
    Likes Received:
    10
    Hi, Cheers for the link, I may order the remote programming part like this :

    [​IMG]


    This is what I got off Ebay which is probably a diff frequency?

    [​IMG]
    #11
  12. dsmclark40v
    Offline

    dsmclark40v Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    5
    Well i have a three button remote like the first Picture, but if that doesn't work with my car i might buy the two button remote instead. and so if you wanted to buy my three button one, you could. the frenquency of the remote is 434MHz
    #12
  13. Aldo
    Offline

    Aldo Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,006
    Likes Received:
    10
    Is it new?
    I just wanted a spare tbh, my current fob has seen better days!
    I don't know what the frequency is either?!
    #13
  14. dsmclark40v
    Offline

    dsmclark40v Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    5
    It looks new, there is not a mark on it. i bought it off ebay. find out the part number on yours and i'll have a look at mine when i get home tonight
    #14
  15. dsmclark40v
    Offline

    dsmclark40v Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    5
    well the part number is HL0 8P0 837 231
    #15
  16. Aldo
    Offline

    Aldo Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,006
    Likes Received:
    10
    Is the part number inside the key?
    #16
  17. dsmclark40v
    Offline

    dsmclark40v Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hi sorry it took me so long to get back. Yeah thats the number inside the key. I tried it on mine and it didn't work, so i am going to get the two button one i reakon.
    #17

Share This Page