1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Blank "Buttons" on Facelift Interior

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Hadders, May 2, 2011.

  1. Hadders
    Offline

    Hadders Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 2, 2011]
    Hi guys,

    Just a quick question. Has anyone ever converted the blank buttons on a facelift interior for custom uses? I'm talking about the ones that are either side of the ESP buttons on the centre console. Obviously at the moment there is no mechanism there, but I wondered if there's a way of converting them? I recall seeing someone had modded theirs with led counters that showed oil temp etc, but I'm more interested in creating a working button :)

    Thinking about hacking apart my Bluetooth kit and replacing the "answer call" button so I can mount it there as the box is a little hideous on the XCarLink and is mounted a little awkwardly as a result.

    Cheers!
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 2, 2014]

  3. Westy
    Offline

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,307
    Likes Received:
    973
    [May 2, 2011]
    Where have you got your x car link currently fitted? I've hidden away the little box and just use the phone to answer instead of the button. I'm a bit screwed if I need to re pair my phone to the car kit though!

    I'd like to make use of the blank buttons too but aren't they just plates at the moment so you might need to actually buy a button from the steamers to put in place of the plate?
    #2
  4. Imteyaz
    Offline

    Imteyaz 6th Gear

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    2
    [May 2, 2011]
    I had a search around ETKA but found nothing - apparently the heated seat buttons can be mounted there but all the heated seat switches I've seen have always been on the heater panel itself so I've no idea what switches / buttons could have been used in place of the blanks - let us know if you do find anything...
    #3
  5. Speedy Steve
    Offline

    Speedy Steve Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,250
    Likes Received:
    8
    [May 2, 2011]
    I have one of them as my a digital boost gauge. not sure how you would go about making it work other than buying an esp switch
    #4
  6. Hadders
    Offline

    Hadders Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 2, 2011]
    The XCarLink main module is mounted behind the stereo with the Bluetooth box mounted at the top of the cubby hole by the drivers' right knee. In all honesty, it's not a bad solution but I just wondered if it would be possible to use those blanks.

    Unfortunately the ESP switch is in the middle and the ones either side of it had curved outer edges so I don't think an ESP switch will do the job. Does anyone know what is actually behind the blanks at the moment? Is it a plate of some kind or is there some mountings?
    #5
  7. Y83OLK
    Offline

    Y83OLK Hulk Smash!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    4
    [May 2, 2011]
    #6
  8. Y83OLK
    Offline

    Y83OLK Hulk Smash!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    4
    [May 2, 2011]
    Last edited: May 2, 2011
    #7
  9. Biggied
    Offline

    Biggied They called him mellow yellow.

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    2
    [May 2, 2011]
    I don't think there was ever any switches either side of the ESP one in UK 8l's even with all the factory extras, not sure about euro ones tho, My understanding of it was that both the cup holder & ESP switch location with the blanks had to be the same size so the cars can be left or right hand drive as the cup holder is for passengers & the ESP switch for the driver?

    Ewan.
    #8
  10. Andrew@A.L.D
    Offline

    Andrew@A.L.D May add NOS to 600+bhp?

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    3,516
    Likes Received:
    361
    [May 2, 2011]
    How about a Knight rider boost button?

    [​IMG]

    Back to the future?

    [​IMG]
    #9
  11. driftymcgee
    Offline

    driftymcgee Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    4
    [May 3, 2011]
    How about these?

    CarStyle4you

    Pretty expensive but he will do custom work too. I got 'Garage Open' in the pushbutton style and 'Engine Start' also in the pushbutton style. Both work a treat
    #10
    Inertiauk likes this.
  12. Hadders
    Offline

    Hadders Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 3, 2011]
    That looks ideal! I'll take a look and see if it'll do the trick :) Cheers mate!
    #11
  13. driftymcgee
    Offline

    driftymcgee Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    4
    [May 3, 2011]

    No worries, took me ages to find them initially, hope they are what you're after
    #12
  14. 5ean
    Offline

    5ean S3 Owner VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    3
    [May 3, 2011]
    They are just covers are they not? Opposed to actual usable buttons?
    #13
  15. DJ_Troopa
    Offline

    DJ_Troopa K1 Driver

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,741
    Likes Received:
    13
    [May 3, 2011]
    I'm confused by that site with custom buttons. I want to replace my traction button with something but what bloomin option do you choose for a button!?
    #14
  16. Hadders
    Offline

    Hadders Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2009
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 3, 2011]
    You are reading the english version of the site right? When you are adding to basket the drop downs at the bottom of the page allow you to select blank buttons, push to make or latching switch. The switching options are an additional €20 and €30 respectively. Makes the buttons quite expensive in the end. I'll be holding off until the money is readily available. £50 for a button that only *might* work is a bit much when things are tight!
    #15
  17. driftymcgee
    Offline

    driftymcgee Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    4
    [May 3, 2011]
    Yeah you choose what option you want. I went for two of the pushbutton types, so that so long as you press the button contact is made in the circuit.

    You can also choose what colour LED backlighting you want, I went for red but changed how they had it setup slightly as the colour was a bit of a mismatch from the existing ESP button.

    Expensive yes, but they are genuine VAG switches and I've had no issues with mine at all. I really just did it for a bit of fun and because I really didn't like just having blank buttons, but was about to put fake covers in there for the hell of it.
    #16

Share This Page