1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bigger injectors a good idea for stage 2?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by russwuss, Sep 23, 2013.

  1. badger5
    Offline

    badger5 RIP S3dave Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7,282
    Likes Received:
    673
    check actual fuel pressure @ rail and under load.. it should be 3bar + boost pressure and follow boost. When weak they wont hold 3bar +boost but fall off badly.
    #41
  2. badger5
    Offline

    badger5 RIP S3dave Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7,282
    Likes Received:
    673
    an inline pump is not really the right thing to bung on as substitute for tired in tank
    #42
  3. russwuss
    Online

    russwuss Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    71
    cheers bill, I'll try and find somewhere locally that will test fuel pressure.

    It's definitely under pressure, as I had a face full of fuel when I removed the FPR :)

    cleaned the injectors in an ultra sonic bath & changed the fuel filter.. attached results
    https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B9EEpgd7a-FXX0ZpQ1haMWo0dEE/edit?usp=sharing

    seems to have made a difference.. working at 112% at full load now.
    #43
  4. badger5
    Offline

    badger5 RIP S3dave Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7,282
    Likes Received:
    673
    its not a case of having some pressure.. lol... but that it follows the boost.
    rising rate fuel pressure regulator.. so fuel pressure should track boost If it does'nt its tired
    #44
  5. superkarl
    Online

    superkarl MAN OF STEEL

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7,569
    Likes Received:
    1,082
    Bare in mind that the failure of my engine MIGHT have been low fuel pressure, and if you havent seen what that resulted in then check it out. Its worth checking.
    Only a case of slicing into the fuel feed to the rail with a mechanical pressure gauge.
    #45
  6. russwuss
    Online

    russwuss Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    71
    Thanks Bill.. I shall investigate (whilst wearing goggles :thumbsup:)
    #46
  7. russwuss
    Online

    russwuss Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Messages:
    481
    Likes Received:
    71
    wow really? I didn't realise it was that serious... sorry to hear about the car though bud! I have read some of your thread - every time I look though I get annoyed that I don't have a personalised plate :p

    When you say slicing.... cut into the pipe going to the fuel rail (opposite side to the FPR) put a T piece in then put a pressure gauge on the T piece.. connect it all up and run the car? Sure I've got a tyre pressure gauge somewhere.. and big one with a dial, you reckon that will do?
    #47
  8. superkarl
    Online

    superkarl MAN OF STEEL

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7,569
    Likes Received:
    1,082
    I wouldnt be using a tyre gauge, not often you take i pump to 4 bar lol.
    Will have to be a proper One for the job, to be safe, and one that will record max value.

    In fact digital would be best, routed to the cabin.
    #48

Share This Page