1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Bi-xenon autoleveling retrofit

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by TVT, Nov 3, 2008.

  1. TVT
    Offline

    TVT New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 3, 2008]
    Hi all.

    I was hoping someone could help me with some issues regarding the wiring for bi-xenon and autoleveling(halogen to bi-xenon) as there seem to be many knowledgeable people here. :respekt:

    I have the cabling and components from Kufatec. The thing is that the fitting instructions kufatec sent me doesnt match my car to good. 05 sportback.

    To be more spesific:

    (autoleveling)
    where does "light on"(from autoleveling control unit) go? fitting instructions says connector c pin 4 on the boardnett connector. Its supposed to be a yellow wire which doesnt match my car. I asked Kufatec about this, and the said it should be connected to connector A pin 2. After this I started to wonder if the rest of the instructions also are wrong.
    Bi-xenon1 - connector D pin6
    Bi-xenon2 - connector A pin5
    Daylight1 - connector D pin3
    Daylight2 - connector A pin3

    Is any of this correct? :faint:


    Hope you guys can shed som light on this :)

    thanks
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 25, 2014]

  3. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,510
    Likes Received:
    1,274
    [Nov 3, 2008]
    I assume you have vagcom, which version of boardnet have you got part number will do

    So you have halogens, did you have drl's already as I am not sure if 05 halogens had them or not

    I have been checking the schematics & they say connector D&A but from what I've seen it could be B&C but it depends on what you have already, the boardnet version etc etc, will be checking further later.
    #2
  4. TVT
    Offline

    TVT New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 3, 2008]
    This is pretty new for me, so please bear with me. :)

    Drl is daytime running lights? Yes, the dipped beams ignites when I turn the key. In my country we have to drive with lights on in daylight, so most cars come with dipped beams on as standard from the dealers.

    Boardnet H34 / S0301
    8p0 907 279C

    I don't have vagcom. :faint:

    :think:
    #3
  5. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,510
    Likes Received:
    1,274
    [Nov 4, 2008]
    If you intend to do mods like this & I can assure you this wont be your last, then get yourself vagcom, I'm actually looking at becoming a vagcom reseller, so have a read of the vagcom group buy thread which I'm just about to update anyway, while I read through.

    http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/showthread.php?t=62330

    How far have you got with this install, have you fixed the levellers on axles, wired them back to the control, module, etc etc

    There should be 3 wires from the axle senders that go back to the headlight range control module, have you done this so far?
    #4
  6. TVT
    Offline

    TVT New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 4, 2008]
    I was planning on getting the Com. But as my car has can-bus, the equipment was quite expensive. But I guess I will get it sooner or later. :)

    All cables and everything in the car is finnished except actually putting in the xenons and connecting cables to boardnet, fusebox and gateway. Im driving around with a car with cables lying around. :laugh:
    #5
  7. mattandrew
    Offline

    mattandrew Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    978
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Nov 4, 2008]
    #6
  8. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Nov 4, 2008]
    This controller that connects to the levelling motors (via the 4 wires), where is it? Is it a seperate module or is it incorperated into something else?

    is it the one in the picture:

    [​IMG]
    #7
  9. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,510
    Likes Received:
    1,274
    [Nov 4, 2008]
    Its under the steering column area IIRC upto the left of the wheel, I've got the new one for adaptive but just waiting to find some adaptive bixenons, but yes you do connect each 4 wires from the back of the headlights to the controller you recieved from kufatec.

    Today I completed my oem PDC, so no more reversing into cars or anything for that matter(only put on for the missus)
    #8
  10. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Nov 4, 2008]
    Thats what they all say LOL! TBH, I used to laugh at peeps who needed them but since I got my new A3, I cant see a thing behind the car, its so much higher at the back. I fancy the camera for the RNS-E :rolleyes:
    #9
  11. TVT
    Offline

    TVT New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 4, 2008]
    @mattandrew
    I'm affraid what I am looking for is the pin connectors(which ones) to the boardnet from the autoleveling control unit(top left on the picture below)and from baordnet to the bi-xenons(from the adapters).
    Kufatec supplied an adapter from the original contacts in the engine-compartment to the new bi-xenon headlights. However a couple of cables is running back to the boardnet(this is for full beam as far as I know).
    #10
  12. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,510
    Likes Received:
    1,274
    [Nov 4, 2008]
    You'll need vagcom anyway to code things properly & check for faults, not trying to sell you a lead just being honest.

    PM me for the images from elsawin of the wiring schematics as I havnt got time to post them all on here at moment mate sorry as requires uploading to my webserver & linking fair few pages, let me know specifics what you want, I have them in front of me now.
    #11
  13. TVT
    Offline

    TVT New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 6, 2009]
    Well. Finnally have the time to continue installing these xenons :)

    Sensors, looms and the autoleveling control unit has been installed. But so far I have encountered a problem. Where to connect the daylightscables from the kufatec Bi-xenon adapters? The pins refered to in the fitting istructions on the boardnet are already taken(my first post).
    #12
  14. mattandrew
    Offline

    mattandrew Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    978
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Jan 6, 2009]
    if you mean the four wires that run back to the main controller under the steering wheel. like you have said two holes where the wires go already have wires in them, but if you trace these wires back to the old plug that went on to the halagon light these wires are not used in the adapter to the new plug. So you can unlpug these and insert the new wires in.

    Have you got vagcom yet as you will need it to do the coding, once u get the autoleveling setup you will need to use vagcom to put the xenons into adjustment mode in order to set the beam height with the manual adjusters

    You will prob end up with the following like me
    Side lights - small side light on
    Dip beam - xenon lower shutter
    Main beam - xenon lower & higher shutter and DRL
    Main beam flash (no other lights on), only the DRL light.



    Heres my translation of the kuratec instruction for xenon and drl wire

    Installation hints xenon adapter AUDI A3 8P

    The lines of the xenon adapters coming are to be connected as follows with the electrical system controller under the steering wheel:

    Connection of the lines of the driver's side coming
    grey/black marked line (0.35 qmm) - Plug D pin 6 (Bi-xenon change-over)
    grey/black marked lines (1 qmm) - Plug D pin 3 (day headlight)

    Connection of the lines from the front seat passenger side coming
    grey line (1qmm) Plug A pin 3 (day headlight)
    grey line (0.35 qmm) Plug A pin 5 (Bi-xenon change-over)

    Finally the following coding is to be made: On-board expensive equipment (address 09) is to be coded on xenon

    To re-tool it absolutely recommended an automatic shining width adjustment, which in Germany according to StVO even obligation is.


    Let me know how you get on
    #13
  15. TVT
    Offline

    TVT New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 6, 2009]
    Thank you for the answer.

    Yes. I have been working on the car all day, and so far I have got everything running,except daylight and high beam. I was thinking of tracing the wires as you said, but after the high-beam on the xenons didn't work, I was beginning to think that the instructions were wrong. Could it be I have to use other pins? Or is there something in vagcom I have forgotten? I noticed that 8p single frame was an option under function 55, but got an errorcode when I selected it. btw my car is a sportback(single frame)

    And I used vagcom for the first time today :). I have used vagcom to enable xenons(function 55, 000001 i belive it was) Then I adjusted the height, and the warninglight for "adjust headlights" went away. I do see a small flickering in the dipped beams as the engine is running, but I assume this is normal?

    To sum it up. Next on the list is figuring how to enable high-beam, and to check the already taken pin-connectors. :)

    btw, I was wondering what On-board expensive equipment (address 09) is to be coded on xenon, do?
    #14
  16. mattandrew
    Offline

    mattandrew Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    978
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Jan 6, 2009]
    ive pm'd you my number to give me a call mate its easier. If its not convenient ill try and explain via via typing.
    #15
  17. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jan 7, 2009]
    You kept that quiet! Can I ask where you picked up the CAN wires at the back of the car? (As the OEM PDC shows in the DIS) and which sensors did you fit into the bumper?
    #16
  18. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,510
    Likes Received:
    1,274
    [Jan 7, 2009]
    lmao, ye I did didnt I, lol, funny you should mention this cause I was while doing job thinking what are kufatec thinking & now I think even more these people are bit picnic short of a picnic some days cause they prewired my loom wrong so thankgod for elsa, wish I'd made loom myself now tbh, cost less

    but reason why I say this about kufatec is I was thinking while I was doing why didnt they just tell us to piggyback onto the conveneince module as this uses the same bus for all 3 modules in that area which is right next to it just on the flip side of the bracket holding the pdc, tow & convenience modules behind driver rear quarter boot panel, I did this for the detach tow module, works a treat, saved wiring aswell.

    Doesnt do anything like DIS, thats the new facelift park assist plus system that steers for you fella & shows info in DIS, mine is as pre 09 cars purely 4 sensors on rear bumper, control module & the small rear speaker that beeps which you can adjust in vcds for loudness & tone types I believe, basic tbh but very useful, very

    Sensors I used were oem & they are about £70 each, I have 1 leftover used as I got 5 sent to me, if you want it let me know, this will save you some dough, can get others on ebay, they're very reliable & can be painted no worries

    You actually should get a new bumper if fitting as comes with brackets built in that are purely stuck on with double sided padded tape, but that was another £140+ so I did a retro fit which looks exactly like oem, I got some brackets of the A6 cause you cant buy the sensor brackets seperately from audi, its new bumper full stop, so I drilled my holes then fixed sensors on brackets then into bumper with some superglue so they are flush fit, then I epoxied all round the brackets on the rear of bumper because the brackets dont sit completely flat on all 3 legs given bumper moulding, this is why I superglued initially so it held temp in place while I did final fixing with epox, they wont come of now mate unless someone hits rear end, but they look great, I was gonna post the job done when painted, but havnt painted yet so if get chance I'll stick it up on AS
    #17
  19. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jan 7, 2009]
    That's good to know.

    Sorry, didn't mean the super flashy version. I know on the 07 OEM version you can adjust the tone and volume of the beep in the DIS. The retrofit kits I've seen on vagparts are just powered from the reverse wire with no DIS adjustment.

    As you know, retrofit sensors stand proud and the OEM ones sit flush with the bumper. I wasn't too keen on the idea of changing or painting the bumper. Thanks for the info, I'll twiddle my thumbs and wait to see your write up.
    #18
  20. TVT
    Offline

    TVT New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 7, 2009]
    After some browsing I found out how to get the full-beam to work, and I programed the fog-lights to work as daylights :)

    Its a good feeling to finally put everything back together. :)

    Thanks for all your help guys!
    #19
  21. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,510
    Likes Received:
    1,274
    [Jan 7, 2009]
    lol, lazy sod, the retro's can be flushed depending on the kit tbh, I've seen fair few kits that are flush sensors now, but I didnt know later 8p's had the DIS settings, can someone confirm this as this interests me tbh

    but you could paint sensors car colour & fit them without having to change/repaint bumper if careful, elbow grease no pain no gain as they say chap, I will say if I painted the sensors on there own as they are wouldnt need to do bumper anyway if it wasnt for me changing lower valance for sline version, the drill bit did a great job of the holes, not any paint cracking at all, result huh, if you want a pdc module let me know I'll see if mates got one in germany
    #20
  22. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,510
    Likes Received:
    1,274
    [Jan 7, 2009]
    What coding did you set then for main beam mate, I set foglights as drl's but throws error for me so think onboard version needs updating to G 30 byte.
    #21
  23. mattandrew
    Offline

    mattandrew Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    978
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Jan 7, 2009]

    so wht combinations of lights do you get

    here how mine work
    Side lights - small side light on
    Dip beam - xenon lower shutter
    Main beam - xenon lower & higher shutter and DRL
    Main beam flash (no other lights on), only the DRL light.


    Do you get the same

    When you flash your lights with the light switch in the off position which light come on
    #22
  24. TVT
    Offline

    TVT New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 7, 2009]
    NHN. The coding I used for the main beam:
    Long coding
    Byte 00 Bit 1 ON
    Byte 03 Bit 4 OFF
    Byte 17 Bit 1 OFF
    As far as I could see, there was 20 bytes programmed... Don't know if that means anything.

    Matt. When I flash in the off position nothing comes on, maybe the drls would have come on, but I havent connected them. I figured that here in scandinavia its the law to drive with drls, and its cooler I think to use the fog lights as drls. :)

    This is what I got after the coding:
    Side lights - small side light on( is this the turn-signal? If so, yes)
    Dip beam - xenon lower shutter
    Main beam - xenon lower & higher shutter
    Main beam flash, nothing if lightswitch turned off, lower and high beam if on
    #23
  25. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jan 8, 2009]
    Deffo has a DIS setting. I have quite a long to do list, but no time at the moment. I might even look at fitting the front sensors from the facelift too.
    #24

Share This Page