1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

best way to put mp's onto sd card

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Brookie-S3, Feb 13, 2008.

  1. Brookie-S3
    Offline

    Brookie-S3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 13, 2008]
    hi guys.
    i finaly got my 2gb sd cards and formatted them to fat32.
    which is the best way to add mp3's to them, if i just drop them onto the sd card i can only get about 6 albums on?

    ie. media player or i tunes.
    plus a good description please. bit new to all this.

    thanks
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 21, 2014]

  3. Issac Hunt
    Offline

    Issac Hunt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 13, 2008]
    Put each album in its own folder on the root of the SD card. You should get more than 6 on it!

    Use something like windows media player to rip your CD's into MP3 - It MUST be in this format.

    You should get approx 20ish CD on each card depending on the bit-rate of the tracks you have.
    #2
  4. N8
    Offline

    N8 Kowalski Details VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,161
    Likes Received:
    688
    [Feb 13, 2008]
    Thanks Isaac, I'll be sorting out all my SD cards soon as well, ready for when the big day arrives on march 1st...
    #3
  5. klauster
    Offline

    klauster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    112
    [Feb 14, 2008]
    if you shop about you can still get 4gig SD cards that work in your car...

    The bitrate is the big thing, I find 192kbps is best quality/size ratio
    #4
  6. Brookie-S3
    Offline

    Brookie-S3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 14, 2008]
    ye i think thats my problem, most of my music is in 320 bit,
    but i have got a lot more albums on now and it works a treat !

    i couldnt find any 4gig standard sd cards
    #5
  7. N8
    Offline

    N8 Kowalski Details VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,161
    Likes Received:
    688
    [Feb 14, 2008]
    But no point in 4GB SD cards klauster as doesn't the RNS-E only read the first 500 files anyway???
    #6
  8. PetrolDave
    Offline

    PetrolDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    82
    [Feb 14, 2008]
    Depends on the bit rate you use and the size of each file.

    I use 320kbps bit rate and I get over 2GB of files onto a 4GB SD card before reaching the file limit.

    It appears the limit is 400 MP3 files, within a total of 512 objects (object = folder + MP3 file + M3U playlist).

    Someone on another forum last week said they couldn't find any 4GB SD cards, so I sent them 10 links that I found on Google in less than 5 minutes.
    #7
  9. N8
    Offline

    N8 Kowalski Details VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,161
    Likes Received:
    688
    [Feb 14, 2008]
    I know, but some people can't help it Dave! Most of my files are 192kpbs and they'll be going in Album folders, so can I expect 20 a card?
    #8
  10. J7-AUDIA3
    Offline

    J7-AUDIA3 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 14, 2008]
    I've tried to find 'Standard' 4GB SD cards and can't find any, maybe I'm slow. Where do you get them from?

    Also need a card reader as my new laptop does not have one, what one is the best?

    :respekt:

    J
    #9
  11. J7-AUDIA3
    Offline

    J7-AUDIA3 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 14, 2008]
    #10
  12. klauster
    Offline

    klauster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    112
    [Feb 14, 2008]
    nope dont fink so
    #11
  13. Brookie-S3
    Offline

    Brookie-S3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
  14. Nutkins
    Offline

    Nutkins Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 14, 2008]
    #13
  15. Brookie-S3
    Offline

    Brookie-S3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 14, 2008]
    no i didnt, lol
    but mine works ok and had no problems, just plug in and it works fine
    #14
  16. Brookie-S3
    Offline

    Brookie-S3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 18, 2008]
    the only problem i have is that i put all into folders, so i had 15 folders as albums
    But i cant choose different folders, the songs are all together, so if i want album 4 on, i have to scroll all the way down ? through 40 songs for example

    is this right ?
    #15
  17. Issac Hunt
    Offline

    Issac Hunt Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,162
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 18, 2008]
    No you shouldnt have to do that. I have each album in its own folder which is placed in the root of the SD card and this works perfectly for me.
    #16
  18. JST_A3
    Offline

    JST_A3 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Feb 18, 2008]
    If you press the 'Return' button this should take you 'up' a level and allow you to select the album. You should then be able to scroll down the tracks in that album to choose the one you want.
    #17
  19. Juniper44
    Offline

    Juniper44 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2007
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 19, 2008]
    Hi, when I formatted my sd card I don't have a root folder come up, its just completely blank when i look at on the pc?!
    #18
  20. PetrolDave
    Offline

    PetrolDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    82
    [Feb 19, 2008]
    That IS the root folder!
    #19
  21. Brookie-S3
    Offline

    Brookie-S3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 29, 2008]
    thanks for all your help, myn now works a treat i didnt realise i had to press return to see the folders...
    #20
  22. PetrolDave
    Offline

    PetrolDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    82
    [Mar 2, 2008]
    The use of the Return button is NOT well documented in the manual!
    #21

Share This Page